Blue Panther Posted September 12, 2011 Posted September 12, 2011 Whistleblower Rudolph Elmer has said Indian cricketers and film stars hold secret accounts in Swiss banks. While refusing to give out the names of the evaders, Elmer accused the Indian government of not doing enough on the black money front. "There is a need for global commitment and action," Headlines Today news channel quoted Elmer, who was released from jail on July 25, 2011, as saying on Monday. In his first interview after being released from jail, Elmer told the channel that there is a need for global commitment towards tightening noose around tax evaders, who he said are ÃÄriminals? Fearing reprisals, Elmer declined to reveal the names of the "politicians, cricketers and filmstars". He said it's "all about approach", saying if the Indian government was at all serious about bringing back black money it could. "The government is not committed. I think society has to put pressure on the Indian government to act. India is a big country, which is getting stronger by the day. It has the negotiating power," Elmer told Headlines Today. Saying he can't give names because "I'll in serious problem", Elmer told Headlines Today, "I can't give a date, but it will happen sometime". He added the government was not doing enough. Rudolf Elmer is a former employee of Swiss bank Julius Bar, a highly reputed Swiss bank. He shook the world in January this year when he handed over to WikiLeaks a CD containing 2000 names of tax evaders. In that list figured the names of several Indians. http://www.dnaindia.com/india/report_indian-cricketers-filmstars-have-black-money-in-swiss-banks-whistleblower_1586434 Who are these cricketers? any guess?:winky: I can only think of few, but my heart says they would not do this.
bulbul Posted September 12, 2011 Posted September 12, 2011 i remeber this guy giving the CD to Assange... but i have doubts about Headlines today..its a tabloid kind News channel.. Still who knows these people can keep koney in Swiss banks..its Black or White only time tells
Rajiv Posted September 12, 2011 Posted September 12, 2011 WTF, is the big deal. I had a swiss account too.. I was a student there, had checking account..kya yaar
bulbul Posted September 12, 2011 Posted September 12, 2011 WTF' date=' is the big deal. I had a swiss account too.. I was a student there, had checking account..kya yaar[/quote'] But that CD was done by a Banker working in that bank..Now its given to Wikileaks.. do you really think that Banker guy cant differentiate between your account and others account ? Politician,cricketer or stars..it doesnt matter....Black money is a huge issue here in India
Malcolm Merlyn Posted September 12, 2011 Posted September 12, 2011 Twisted the comment,he said i believe all type of Indians,Politicians,corporates,actors cricketers may have accounts in overseas banks....
Rajiv Posted September 12, 2011 Posted September 12, 2011 But that CD was done by a Banker working in that bank..Now its given to Wikileaks.. do you really think that Banker guy cant differentiate between your account and others account ? Politician,cricketer or stars..it doesnt matter....Black money is a huge issue here in India I was joking :((
Vijay.Sharma Posted September 12, 2011 Posted September 12, 2011 But that CD was done by a Banker working in that bank..Now its given to Wikileaks.. do you really think that Banker guy cant differentiate between your account and others account ? Politician,cricketer or stars..it doesnt matter....Black money is a huge issue here in IndiaYeah but is it really black money or is it legitimate earnings stashed away in Switzerland for obvious reasons - better tax benefits? I am losing my respect for wikileaks of late...they have turned to gossip inducing leaks and basically have lost the plot. They are just another tabloid.
bulbul Posted September 13, 2011 Posted September 13, 2011 Yeah but is it really black money or is it legitimate earnings stashed away in Switzerland for obvious reasons - better tax benefits? I am losing my respect for wikileaks of late...they have turned to gossip inducing leaks and basically have lost the plot. They are just another tabloid. Tax evasion may be the thing with Film stars and Cricketers.... trusting Headline today is bit difficult they should have put words into that guys Mouth but if our guys kept money there even for Tax evasion we dont need to defend them
Jersey #10 Posted September 13, 2011 Posted September 13, 2011 o yeah? I have green money in Suntrust bank...
1983-2011 Posted September 13, 2011 Posted September 13, 2011 they probably have got money in swiss accounts like our politicians and actors
bulbul Posted September 13, 2011 Posted September 13, 2011 Azar comes in my mind he may have Dual accounts.... I Read the Interview with Ruldolf elmer again in TOI he is mentioning Tax evasion mainly...and genericalyy told Politicians,Cricketrs and Movie stars..
Vijay.Sharma Posted September 13, 2011 Posted September 13, 2011 Tax evasion may be the thing with Film stars and Cricketers.... trusting Headline today is bit difficult they should have put words into that guys Mouth but if our guys kept money there even for Tax evasion we dont need to defend themListen boss, if you made as much money as them and were in a position to protect your legitimately earned dough, even you would do the same. So cut the moral bashing and bring facts to the story instead of gossip mongering tabloid reports
bulbul Posted September 13, 2011 Posted September 13, 2011 Listen boss' date=' if you made as much money as them and were in a position to protect your legitimately earned dough, even you would do the same. So cut the moral bashing and bring facts to the story instead of gossip mongering tabloid reports[/quote'] Why shouting at me..i didnt accused any one...even in my posts i clearly mentioned source cant be fully believable.. I dont care about this moral bashing nonsense Also i fully pays my Taxes eventhough there is an option for showing fake bills and reduce them..if u cant do that its not my problem just becuase u are too sensitive about such matters doesnt means that others cant discuss that...
Ram Posted September 13, 2011 Posted September 13, 2011 Listen boss' date=' if you made as much money as them and were in a position to protect your legitimately earned dough, even you would do the same. So cut the moral bashing and bring facts to the story instead of gossip mongering tabloid reports[/quote'] Are you actually defending tax evasion?
f.b.m Posted September 13, 2011 Posted September 13, 2011 Listen boss' date=' if you made as much money as them and were in a position to protect your legitimately earned dough, even you would do the same. So cut the moral bashing and bring facts to the story instead of gossip mongering tabloid reports[/quote'] Raawr!!! How can people get away with such blatant acts of ..... holding on to what they earn?
Vijay.Sharma Posted September 13, 2011 Posted September 13, 2011 Why shouting at me..i didnt accused any one...even in my posts i clearly mentioned source cant be fully believable.. I dont care about this moral bashing nonsense Also i fully pays my Taxes eventhough there is an option for showing fake bills and reduce them..if u cant do that its not my problem just becuase u are too sensitive about such matters doesnt means that others cant discuss that...I felt you were making too much of some gossip seeking article - my bad and my apologies, if you weren't :-)
Vijay.Sharma Posted September 13, 2011 Posted September 13, 2011 Are you actually defending tax evasion?How did you deduce that?
bulbul Posted September 13, 2011 Posted September 13, 2011 I felt you were making too much of some gossip seeking article - my bad and my apologies' date=' if you weren't :-)[/quote'] no problem... But as Ram said in his post...it implies you are supporting Tax evasion... Just using words like Hard earned money doesnt mean that sports persons can avoid tax even if they are higher... i have read about Sports persons and Rockstars mainly from UK shifted their home base to countries like Switzerland , Holland etc to avoid taxes.. i guess Micheal schumacher , U2 Are Ll done this to avoid paying high taxes But outrightly avoid tax and satsh away money in tax havens is criminal whoever done it.. Just now read a cqption in Times Now German govt giving names of 100 more Indian citzens to our govt....