Sad - Asian Champion Indian hockey team rejects meagre prize moneys

If the individual is representing himself and not his country, then his prize has a lower level of emotional value for the general public than a team event winning a competition while represnting the country. In high profile events like Olympics or Commonwealth, even individual athletes represent their country and consequently are rewarded more.
That is called open tourneys/professional sports. In other international tournaments - individual or not, you are representing your country. For any sportsman - pride/winning (should) comes first. Money is important for survival, but you can't excel at sports (there might be few exceptions), if money is the only motivating factor.
There was a study done at a US university few years back on what motivates people to perform and excel. they found that financial incentive has no connection with the level of performance of athletes - something which would vindicate your stand.
I have to say - I knew this based on my readings/experiences/interactions.
However, they also found that though presence of more money isnt necessarily a motivator, the lack of financial reward is certainly a demotivator. In other words, you have to pay people enough to take the issue of money off the table - even for the ones who perform for passion alone. 25K is certainly a demotivator
I know, I am taking idealistic stance - when I say it should not matter. However - that is the only way player can continue excelling at their sports of choice. If money is bothering - then there is no option but to look out for options. They chose the sports for the love of it, it should be that way. If its in their luck, money will follow. Not long ago, in cricket also we used to have charity games, for the benefit of some 'extinct' ex-player. In the OP's case, perhaps HI does not have sufficient funds.. they have a choice to make, what is the best use of the funds - prize money, or in other ways to promote the sports... What happens most likely is - as simple as abuse of the power, filling the pockets shamelessly - even that can be attributed to the socioeconomic state of the country/sports.

Stop comparing hockey to cricket: Sunil Shetty A former brand ambassador for Indian hockey, Sunil Shetty extends his sympathy for the desi sporting team The Indian hockey team - the winner of the Asian Champions Trophy - is upset over the cash prize of Rs 25,000 given by Hockey India to each of the players. Recently, at a felicitation ceremony, team captain Rajpal Singh refused to accept the award because it was very small considering the team's achievement. Actor Sunil Shetty speaks to BT about it. "Hockey is our national game and I wholeheartedly support the Indian team's decision to not accept the prize money. We say India is shining, but what has been offered to the winners is piddle-s**t! Rs 25,000 doesn't even amount to $500, and for a sportsman to get such a measly reward is shameful! It says a lot about our country and the state of sports in India. They have done the right thing by returning it. Few know that a good pair of hockey shoes costs between Rs 10-15,000. Most players practice without them as they can't afford to buy good ones. With a prize money of Rs 25,000, what all professional equipment can they afford? If we want to create awareness about hockey and draw the youth towards the game, we have to give them the right infrastructure and financial security." Do it the right way "By suddenly giving Rs 1 crore to each hockey player is not going to get you a good hockey team. Introduce hockey in schools and get corporates to come forward and do their bit. No corporate wants to sponsor a hockey tournament or give the players a job. You need to pay well and train well in order to build a national team. Moreover, there is zero infrastructure for hockey players in India. And lastly, let's stop comparing hockey to cricket. Cricket is a much larger sport and you can't compare the two. It's a shame how we treat sportsmen who plays other sports in India. Change needs to come in all sports, and not just hockey because we won today. The players deserve more. Much more." http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/bollywood/newsinterviews/Stop-comparing-hockey-to-cricket-Sunil-Shetty/articleshow/9993107.cms :hmmm: