maniac Posted September 23, 2011 Posted September 23, 2011 He had very poor technique and couldnt score runs to save his life in foreign conditions. If the ball swung around or bounce a bit more' date=' he was a goner.[/quote'] How many Overseas tests has he played for you to make that judgement I have seen him literally murdering Warne and Simon Doull respectively in a couple of matches in the 90's...On his day was a matchwinner but guess he has himself to blame for his self-destruction
Crookbond Posted September 23, 2011 Posted September 23, 2011 How many Overseas tests has he played for you to make that judgement I have seen him literally murdering Warne and Simon Doull respectively in a couple of matches in the 90's...On his day was a matchwinner but guess he has himself to blame for his self-destruction Actually, he did make a comeback of sorts around 1998 during Australia's tour of India. He injured himself (I guess twisted his ankle) when he was fielding as a 12th man in an inconsequential game probably. He was picked for the next tri-series in Sharjah consisting of Australia, India an New Zealand (Sachin "Sandstorm" innings series) but couldn't go due to injury. He wasn't picked henceforth.
Crookbond Posted September 23, 2011 Posted September 23, 2011 When Kambli enchanted the Wankhede Source http://www.espncricinfo.com/india/content/story/240957.html My first double-hundred was really memorable for various reasons. Playing on my home ground, encouraged by the vociferous crowds, against a well-balanced England bowling side, I was enjoying every moment of my innings. Once England spared me early on in my knock - on 57, I stepped out to a flighted delivery from John Emburey and didn't connect properly, but Phil Defreitas at long-off failed to latch on to a simple chance - I didn't look back for a long time. Still being a raw player, there were many rush-of-blood moments. Keith Fletcher, the England coach, was getting desperate at the partnerships that India were steadily building and was charging in and out of the dressing room and making patrols around the ropes, instructing his bowlers to bowl at a particular length and line. I had been observing him for a while and decided to take him on - every time the bowler would try the Fletcher-way, I would dispatch him to the ropes. The crowds would go manic and applaud every shot like I had scored a century. That would egg me on to play the next shot. Amidst this excitement, it was a heady feeling to score my first hundred in my third Test. Later that evening Sunil Gavaskar came to me and offered words of caution: "You are shuffling too much across and exposing your leg stump which the England bowlers will try and attack, so mind that." Words of wisdom, and I would never forget them. I went on to complete my double-century and what a moment it was with the thousands in the ground chanting "Kambli, Kambli". England seniors, Graham Gooch and Mike Gatting, whom I used to watch as a kid, came and patted me on the back, which sent a chill down my spine as these were some of the heroes I had seen so much and read about and one day wanted to emulate. I got out on 224, not knowing that I was so close to Gavaskar's 236, then the highest score by an Indian. And the man himself congratulated me on my feat and taking me aside, he took off his wristwatch to give to me as a gift. I have treasured that, and kept it safely till date.
maniac Posted September 24, 2011 Posted September 24, 2011 Actually' date=' he did make a comeback of sorts around 1998 during Australia's tour of India. He injured himself (I guess twisted his ankle) when he was fielding as a 12th man in an inconsequential game probably. He was picked for the next tri-series in Sharjah consisting of Australia, India an New Zealand (Sachin "Sandstorm" innings series) but couldn't go due to injury. He wasn't picked henceforth.[/quote'] http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/player/30009.html?class=1;home_or_away=2;template=results;type=allround Just played 1 match outside the subcontinent in tests
Sidhoni Posted September 24, 2011 Posted September 24, 2011 I thought he did that long ago Poor guy...
Cricket Tragic Posted September 24, 2011 Posted September 24, 2011 Actually' date=' he did make a comeback of sorts around 1998 during Australia's tour of India. He injured himself (I guess twisted his ankle) when he was fielding as a 12th man in an inconsequential game probably. He was picked for the next tri-series in Sharjah consisting of Australia, India an New Zealand (Sachin "Sandstorm" innings series) but couldn't go due to injury. He wasn't picked henceforth.[/quote'] No, he played under Sourav Ganguly as well. ICC Knockout, the 54 all out, Ricardo Powell's series....
jf1gp_1 Posted September 24, 2011 Posted September 24, 2011 The word talent is way overrated. However, kambli was someone with immense talent who threw it away through poor attitude, laziness, ill disciplne and lack of focus etc. He could have had great carrer but was not bothered to do the work and was focused on partying and good times. Do not doubt he had serious ability though not sure about that but a little hardwork and kambli would have been a permanent in those 90s team which had one shot players like robin singh
achilles Posted September 25, 2011 Posted September 25, 2011 You served us well when you could. :hatsoff: Vinod Kambli. Its funny that people don't think twice before pissing over someone even in his retirement thread, instead of showing him some respect.
Crookbond Posted September 25, 2011 Posted September 25, 2011 No, he played under Sourav Ganguly as well. ICC Knockout, the 54 all out, Ricardo Powell's series.... I just cross checked and his last Innings was indeed the ignominious 52 all out. But, was this the ICC Knockout? I guess not.
King Posted September 25, 2011 Posted September 25, 2011 I didn't realize he was playing this recently in domestic cricket. Still baffles me he was not in contention for a very long time and he played his last test match when he was 24. Blame also lies with BCCI and the support staff during the 90s. They should have in no uncertain terms said to Kambli unless he sorted himself out he will lose out on playing for India. I think a player like Kambli would have served India better if he was playing now rather than in the 90s. If Virat Kohlis, Yuvi and Raina can play test cricket I can't see how Kambli couldnt have.
gaurav92 Posted September 26, 2011 Posted September 26, 2011 ^Calm down Suraj Bhai. What difference does it make ? Aise bhi koi team ke liye nahi khelta tha, kabhi na kabhi toh sanyaas lena hi tha :giggle:
b555 Posted September 26, 2011 Posted September 26, 2011 http://www.thehindu.com/sport/cricket/article2479759.ece Coming generations would always wonder why a player with a test average of 54 was given so less opportunities in test cricket :haha::haha: http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/content/player/30009.html he got hit by a bouncer and never again played test cricket not the mistake of bcci