Holysmoke Posted October 12, 2011 Posted October 12, 2011 Apple is really good, easy to use, intuitive, perfect for someone who doesnt want to bother.. just wants their phone to work, etc. The problem is that it restricts a lot of what you do. For example, you cannot download a file off the browser. Because android is so much more customizable, it suits my needs more here in India. Something like Siri, I am never going to use because there is so much background noise everywhere.. I am not gonna download music off the itunes store (im not sure they sell music/movies/tv shows in the indian store.. only apps i think). It also helps that in terms of hardware android phones are much ahead of the iphone that releases once in a year, with lower hardware specs (iphone 4s = 512 ram only). With the customization in android, you can make it as lean or as bloated as you want it to be.
punjabi_khota Posted October 12, 2011 Posted October 12, 2011 Probably - am due for an upgrade from AT&T anyways from my 3GS. Will wait for a month of cooling down and then make the call. I've only tried Android on other people's phones, so am certainly no authority but found the interface too clunky and not as user friendly. Also, there seemed to be a bit of a lag between choosing an app and for it to start, but that might have been due to the phones I tried it on. The basic design and interface of the iPhone is something which is not just good, but I've probably gotten used to and can't see the motivation to switch over to something else. Now unless someone comes up with a phone where I can just say, "Order 1 Kung Pao Chicken and 1 Spring Roll from P.F. Changs to be delivered to home" and the phone does everything from going to the website, using my login credentials and placing the order with my credit card and address, I am unlikely to make a switch. PFChangs sucks ass.
bulbul Posted October 12, 2011 Author Posted October 12, 2011 Apple is really good, easy to use, intuitive, perfect for someone who doesnt want to bother.. just wants their phone to work, etc. The problem is that it restricts a lot of what you do. For example, you cannot download a file off the browser. Because android is so much more customizable, it suits my needs more here in India. Something like Siri, I am never going to use because there is so much background noise everywhere.. I am not gonna download music off the itunes store (im not sure they sell music/movies/tv shows in the indian store.. only apps i think). It also helps that in terms of hardware android phones are much ahead of the iphone that releases once in a year, with lower hardware specs (iphone 4s = 512 ram only). With the customization in android, you can make it as lean or as bloated as you want it to be. They Sell and TV Shows movies With US Account holders only Read in Web there are work arounds to create a Free US account ...have to try some day :winky:
Rajiv Posted October 12, 2011 Posted October 12, 2011 Apple is really good, easy to use, intuitive, perfect for someone who doesnt want to bother.. just wants their phone to work, etc. The problem is that it restricts a lot of what you do. For example, you cannot download a file off the browser. Because android is so much more customizable, it suits my needs more here in India. Something like Siri, I am never going to use because there is so much background noise everywhere.. I am not gonna download music off the itunes store (im not sure they sell music/movies/tv shows in the indian store.. only apps i think). It also helps that in terms of hardware android phones are much ahead of the iphone that releases once in a year, with lower hardware specs (iphone 4s = 512 ram only). With the customization in android, you can make it as lean or as bloated as you want it to be. Siri - they picked a south indian name :cantstop:
Rajiv Posted October 12, 2011 Posted October 12, 2011 Anyone messed with Windows 7 phone? any 3rd party roms
bulbul Posted October 12, 2011 Author Posted October 12, 2011 @ rajiv, Some black money trabsfered to my acct...can u retreive it...
bulbul Posted October 12, 2011 Author Posted October 12, 2011 I gave u guru dakshina for what Tiffin box and Water bottle :winky: Either i typed wrongly or u misunderstood that reply :two_thumbs_up: still u should have added couple of zero's :winky:
nospam Posted October 12, 2011 Posted October 12, 2011 Even with slower clock speed than Samsung Galaxy S2, Apple iPhone 4s has beaten it in browser+gpu/opengl benchmarks by quite a margin
Rajiv Posted October 13, 2011 Posted October 13, 2011 nospam, even you know that custom roms on droid can shoot up many benchmarks etc but thats really getting into a catfight. I am not sure if an average user can make out a difference of some points in practical use. It basically boils down to how the device serves you and not get with the bandwagon coz its cool to have a device ( iphone or droid ) The ultimate salute goes to apple coz if it wasn't for them, we wouldn't have seen competition which ultimately means more choice. As far as your d** is bigger than mine, it will always go on - very similar to xbox vs ps3
Desi Cartman Posted October 13, 2011 Posted October 13, 2011 What's so special about Siri, Google Voice actions have been around for ages. It can probably do most of the things Siri does, voice actions is something that is not used a lot anyway. Kind of like the last 'innovative' thing Apple did - facetime. Hardly anyone I know that owns a iPhone 4 ever makes use of facetime, they may have tried it out to see what its about, but that's about it. Yaar I use it almost everyday. My mum has an iPod , brother has iphone,ipad etc and I have iPhone so its so easy for us to have a video chat. I used to use skype on iphone before my mum got an iPod but now its so easy. The quality of facetime is so much better than skype , gtalk etc. Its amazing.
nospam Posted October 13, 2011 Posted October 13, 2011 nospam' date=' even you know that [b']custom roms on droid can shoot up many benchmarks etc but thats really getting into a catfight. I am not sure if an average user can make out a difference of some points in practical use. It basically boils down to how the device serves you and not get with the bandwagon coz its cool to have a device ( iphone or droid ) The ultimate salute goes to apple coz if it wasn't for them, we wouldn't have seen competition which ultimately means more choice. As far as your d** is bigger than mine, it will always go on - very similar to xbox vs ps3 2 things, first you are assuming everyone on android uses custom roms, second not every android phone has a custom rom or kernel. Completely agree with this, more competition, win-win for us. I posted the benchmarks to show how gingerbread is not yet optimized for dual core phones... and this is the difference between Android and iOS, unstable o/s v/s fully baked o/s.
Yoda-esque Posted October 13, 2011 Posted October 13, 2011 iOS5 - Anybody got that yet? How is it ? :)
Holysmoke Posted October 13, 2011 Posted October 13, 2011 iOS5 - Anybody got that yet? How is it ? :) pretty good, notifications is a direct copy paste from android. Icloud is good, but there is no "sync" button.. so I have to wait for it to sync when I am idle.. c'mon apple, atleast give me a little control!
Yoda-esque Posted October 13, 2011 Posted October 13, 2011 pretty good, notifications is a direct copy paste from android. Icloud is good, but there is no "sync" button.. so I have to wait for it to sync when I am idle.. c'mon apple, atleast give me a little control! Cool! I'll download it today. So what happens when other apple devices that you want to sync to are shut down?
Holysmoke Posted October 14, 2011 Posted October 14, 2011 Here is a fantastic unbiased review of the iphone 4s http://thisismynext.com/2011/10/11/iphone-4s-review/ He channelizes what ive been trying to say about iOS very well. The new software pieces are very welcome, but there are things about iOS that have begun to feel dated to me. In particular, the OS still feels stuck in this mode of use where you’re constantly jumping in and out of applications blindly, either to get information, or catch them up to the present. That can be frustrating when you’re trying to keep up with something like Twitter. Though the app will alert you that you’ve got new messages to read, it doesn’t download your content until you’ve opened up the program and let it refresh. The same is true for mail, and even messages you receive in IM or IRC apps. And I know I’ve said it a million times, but the fact that Apple still doesn’t provide auto-updating icons on its homescreen seems crazy to me. Yes, we now have a weather widget in Notification Center, but why doesn’t the icon change too? I feel like there’s an entirely new market for developers just waiting to make “widget icons” (think realtime clock faces like those just added to the iPod nano), yet Apple seems reluctant to give users more information on their home screens. That lack of glanceable information coupled with the delay of having to open an app to get information creates a feeling of disconnect for me that I find bothersome. Having been using a Nexus S prior to the iPhone 4S, I couldn’t help but notice the pause — however small — that Apple’s OS puts between you and realtime content. Every time you open an application, even if it’s saved your state, you still feel like you’re moments behind where you’re supposed to be. For the broad user base Apple wants to hit with these products, this will probably never be an issue. But I do think there are places in iOS 5 that still need work.
The Outsider Posted October 14, 2011 Posted October 14, 2011 Even with slower clock speed than Samsung Galaxy S2' date=' Apple iPhone 4s has beaten it in browser+gpu/opengl benchmarks by quite a margin Advertised processor speeds are a big eyewash, IMO. PCs have consistently sold with higher processor speeds than Macs in general, but a Mac would outperform a PC with the same processor speed easily. I think it's got to do with the fact that Apple designs and integrates the hardware and the operating system itself, while others rely on the compatibility of a particular OS to their hardware.
Holysmoke Posted October 14, 2011 Posted October 14, 2011 True. Lets see that benchmark once again when ics comes out this month. Fyi, both the A5 and the exynos are basically the same processor.. The ARM cortex A9. You really cant argue for a 800 mhz chip with 512 ram being faster hardware than a 1.2 ghz chip of the same/similar chip with 1gb ram. Look at the lone honeycomb device there to see what I mean..
punjabi_khota Posted October 14, 2011 Posted October 14, 2011 Advertised processor speeds are a big eyewash' date=' IMO. PCs have consistently sold with higher processor speeds than Macs in general, but a Mac would outperform a PC with the same processor speed easily. I[b'] think it's got to do with the fact that Apple designs and integrates the hardware and the operating system itself, while others rely on the compatibility of a particular OS to their hardware. It is more to do with the fact that clock speeds don't mean anything anymore, given the fact that there are so many different CPU architectures floating around. Comparing AMD and Intel chips via clockspeeds, for example, is a meaningless exercise.