Dignity of Corporate Labor-The reason for Hierarchy in Respect for Jobs among Indians

This is just a personal observation of mine and I don't even know if the phrase I came up with is an appropriate one but this is the trend I have observed in Indians in recent times Employees in software field don't think much about the BPO and call-center employees and usually look down upon them.I don't get it If someone says they are working in a call center,people look at them like third grade citizens I have seen this true story of this girl from my community who was from a very humble background who would do night-shifts in a MNC call centre.After 4-5 years of working there,her family could afford a car,she helped her brother's education and dad's medical bills. Similarly,there is another guy from my family who was a below-average student but had very good English speaking skills.His parents were worried about him but today due to his hard work and dedication he is a AVP of a call-centre of a pretty large corporate.Some people I know have the attitude towards him like yaar call center mein ye bhi AVP ban gaya but the truth is being an AVP of a company in any sector of a large corporate proves that this guy made the best of his oppurtunities and worked his way to the top.The truth is the BPO sector looked beyond his acedemic abilities. There are scores of other examples.There are so many such stories were people from lower middle class families work through this stress to support their families.Working night shifts against our cycle in a high-pressure environment with targets and desi-bosses showing attitude and breathing down your neck deserves more respect than this particular profession actually gets. This is one part of my rant Part 2 2nd profession that gets ridiculed thanks to thousands of fake resumes by our desh-vaasis to procure a software job and eventually migrate to the phoren land.Where as I condemn fake resumes because that is equivalent of being a con-artist,I don't see anything wrong in being an IT coolie as long as it supports a healthy lifestyle for me and my family. This seems to be a chain of respect among Indians depending on your corporate work.This is the respect trend that I generally see among my peers Project Manager or SAP consultant Business Analyst Database Admin or Data Management Analyst Java Programmer or Web Designer Quality Analyst

The moral of the story is - "Don't give a bloody trash about people trying to look down on you". If a person has gone through something like this and is thinking about this, it is an epic waste of time coz Losers cry. Winners got out there and win. PS- A person working at Call Centre has come up the hard way, the admirable way. Maybe thats the way his boss and half the corporates came up as well. Whether they want to admit it and try to be a bit humble is their choice. But for every dolt, there are 10 gentlemen out there.

No offence to you Achilles but that is the very fundament of societal values that we need to stop adopting from the west. There are no losers or winners in life. Every human being is both a loser and a winner. Change the measurement gage and you will learn that whom you call a loser is a winner and vice versa. rest of it, I agree with you
+1..I was inspired to rant by quiet a few factors in the last few days to come up with this rant....I work as a data analyst for a reputed company and the way one of my friend's wife who is the project manager in IT looks down upon the the other quality analysts especially Indians making it seem their job is menial is really sad.Despite the fact that she had to use fake resumes to get herself ahead is altogether a different story but credit where it's due she worked hard to get where she is but the disrespect she has for other desis is apalling. In the other thread about redistributing income the poster Vijay Sharma said he doesn't consider software of BPO jobs as working their *** off.I wanted to respond in the same thread but thought this was a topic altogether.May be i misunderstood him,if so I apologise but interacting with a lot of friends and acquaintances who are corporate professionals and have this attitide saddens me. There are so many other examples.Hence,I wanted to see the opinion on this forum where most of us are overseas professionals,working in MNC's in India or students who eventually will get into the corporate environment

Maniac316, I think you misunderstood my mention of "not working their asses off". Let me put it in more context. In fact a call center employee works his ass off more than a non voice based BPO employee who himself works his ass off more than a regular IT fella. None of these people work their asses off when compared to a construction worker or people who work in factories. I hope you understand it better now...my reference was to the amount of labor that goes in...both physical and intellectual. don't even argue that the kind of IT and BPO work the regular IT and BPO professional does is any greatly cerebral than say a bank employee or a government functionary in the postal department or anything like that. Of course we have not worked our asses off enough to earn in the millions of rupees per annum compared to a constable or a traffic policeman. I hope you understand the context of my statement better now. So why wouldn't anyone wanna part with 10-20k when they can earn at least 5 lacs for doing things that are neither greatly cerebral nor greatly labor intensive. What's the big work they have done to feel they have really "worked their asses off". Get the context and the relativity?

The moral of the story is - "Don't give a bloody trash about people trying to look down on you". If a person has gone through something like this and is thinking about this, it is an epic waste of time coz Losers cry. Winners got out there and win.
My neighbor (in Bengaluru) has a Gorkha "watchman." The dude is ~ 50 yrs old. He left his family (wife and 2 kids) in Kalimpong and worked in Bengaluru to support them for 15 or 20 years. His son (in his 20s) got his degree and got a job at a call centre in Bengaluru. The rest of the family has moved there. They can afford a relatively nice home and a couple of motorbikes. Only insecure fools who are trying to feel better about themselves would put that boy down for working at a call center.

Respect and dignity of labor are two different things. Respect cannot be earned by asking for it. It is hard to change mindsets of people like that. My personal thought is that professional respect is valuable only when it comes from your peers. Everything else is either forced or fake. I don't value 'respect' from people who don't even know what I do, but of course I am polite enough to not say anything about it. Regarding dignity of labor, sure that should be accorded to everyone who puts in hard work, regardless of what they do. So for example of say BPO employee, of course I respect the fact that they are working hard, overnight shifts to sustain themselves. But can I respect their work ? I would be lying if I say yes. In fact, my opinion shouldn't matter because I am not even remotely concerned with their field. The respect a BPO employee should look for is from his peers and immediate juniors/seniors, who are way more appreciative of the difficulties in that profession.

Respect and dignity of labor are two different things. Respect cannot be earned by asking for it. It is hard to change mindsets of people like that. My personal thought is that professional respect is valuable only when it comes from your peers. Everything else is either forced or fake. I don't value 'respect' from people who don't even know what I do, but of course I am polite enough to not say anything about it. Regarding dignity of labor, sure that should be accorded to everyone who puts in hard work, regardless of what they do.
Started Drinking again Bro ?:winky:

People need to feel that they are doing something important in their lives (and advertising it). And there are two ways - by actually doing something important ( actually more important is by being in love with what you do) and other way is to (try) make other's feel that they are worthless, relatively speaking.

Respect and dignity of labor are two different things. Respect cannot be earned by asking for it. It is hard to change mindsets of people like that. My personal thought is that professional respect is valuable only when it comes from your peers. Everything else is either forced or fake. I don't value 'respect' from people who don't even know what I do, but of course I am polite enough to not say anything about it. Regarding dignity of labor, sure that should be accorded to everyone who puts in hard work, regardless of what they do. So for example of say BPO employee, of course I respect the fact that they are working hard, overnight shifts to sustain themselves. But can I respect their work ? I would be lying if I say yes. In fact, my opinion shouldn't matter because I am not even remotely concerned with their field. The respect a BPO employee should look for is from his peers and immediate juniors/seniors, who are way more appreciative of the difficulties in that profession.
+1
No offence to you Achilles but that is the very fundament of societal values that we need to stop adopting from the west. There are no losers or winners in life. Every human being is both a loser and a winner. Change the measurement gage and you will learn that whom you call a loser is a winner and vice versa. rest of it, I agree with you
That is the ultimate aim for any individual. It is what Indian vedas and Maslow have stated. But when a person is getting affected by negativity from someone pulling him/her down, the person can resort to focusing on the work at hand and doing it better than anyone else, paying little or no attention, who is targetting him. The Winner v/s Loser philosophy is extremely helpful, given the phase of life we are at.
+1..I was inspired to rant by quiet a few factors in the last few days to come up with this rant....I work as a data analyst for a reputed company and the way one of my friend's wife who is the project manager in IT looks down upon the the other quality analysts especially Indians making it seem their job is menial is really sad.Despite the fact that she had to use fake resumes to get herself ahead is altogether a different story but credit where it's due she worked hard to get where she is but the disrespect she has for other desis is apalling. In the other thread about redistributing income the poster Vijay Sharma said he doesn't consider software of BPO jobs as working their *** off.I wanted to respond in the same thread but thought this was a topic altogether.May be i misunderstood him,if so I apologise but interacting with a lot of friends and acquaintances who are corporate professionals and have this attitide saddens me. There are so many other examples.Hence,I wanted to see the opinion on this forum where most of us are overseas professionals,working in MNC's in India or students who eventually will get into the corporate environment
It is good to let out what's on your mind. Not many people can do that. Kudos to you.
My neighbor (in Bengaluru) has a Gorkha "watchman." The dude is ~ 50 yrs old. He left his family (wife and 2 kids) in Kalimpong and worked in Bengaluru to support them for 15 or 20 years. His son (in his 20s) got his degree and got a job at a call centre in Bengaluru. The rest of the family has moved there. They can afford a relatively nice home and a couple of motorbikes. Only insecure fools who are trying to feel better about themselves would put that boy down for working at a call center.
I can only imagine the pride on the face of the person when he would be talking about his son. Hope all of us make our parents proud the way this fine young man has.
Not knowing enough about the profession, what reason do you have to disrespect it?
Not knowing enough about the profession' date=' what reason do you have to disrespect it?[/quote'] Prejudice...everyone is guilty of that to a certain extent.