Rajiv Posted November 3, 2011 Posted November 3, 2011 I mostly enjoy music while driving Morning: CNN, Local Radio After work: Depends on the day and some threads on ICF - can go into retro mode and listen to 80's, 90's hindi but mostly chill trance Its been ages I heard ghazals but I can't imagine enjoying w/o friends, ambient lighting and scotch
Alchemist Posted November 3, 2011 Posted November 3, 2011 Local Radio in the mornings. In the evenings, if I get time, youtube a song and then follow the leads. Sometimes you see that some songs are inspired from others, or you see a totally different song on the side. You keep on following that lead.
bulbul Posted November 3, 2011 Posted November 3, 2011 morning fro the time of waking up to going to office bus arpound 1 hour.. In Bus atleast 45 mins.. At night 2 hours.. Weekends 6+ hours each day.. All In iPad coonected to a Speaker.. All sorts of songs - completely addicted now a days..
maniac Posted November 3, 2011 Posted November 3, 2011 Podcast from BBC every morning. Pandora music especially the classic rock channel during work. cricinfo podcast or Saavn Music app for hindi songs or more Pandora but this time Latest hits in the evening. On long drives NPR radio is very entertaining or just plugin my ipod and put in on random with 90gb worth of Hindi,English,Telugu,Tamil songs fully loaded on to it.
maniac Posted November 3, 2011 Posted November 3, 2011 I never got the concept of podcast Well the reason I prefer Podcasts are free anyways,because I don't like to read articles,topics,discussions on my small phone-screen and strain myself. add to that my 3g network is so slow that it just gets frustrating waiting for the page to load,So I would rather download a podcast on my phone at home or at a starbucks :) and just listen in to it. Some good podcasts I listen to are Pat Condell(Can get boring after a while),Cricinfo podcasts like Bowl at Boycs,Switch hit cricket,Expert comments,Time out with Harsha and BBC Newspod,CNN Money. Some really good stuff is available that you don't have to stream or read and can enjoy at your own convinience and delete once you are done. The best part is they are free.
akshayxyz Posted November 3, 2011 Posted November 3, 2011 I think podcast/audio-books has lot more potential than currently being utilized. Most likely due to the 'content discovery' problem as evident from above comment.
maniac Posted November 3, 2011 Posted November 3, 2011 I mean what is it' date=' u download it? live?[/quote'] No they are not live,they are basically recorded files that you can download from itunes under podcasts. It is more or less like a recorded radio programme.For eg;In some studio they record a discussion and then upload it to itunes(not sure of this specific process) for the users to download. In some cases For eg; some ESPN podcasts,they have a show where they have live callers calling in and have a discussion and once the show is done,they upload it to Itunes which you can listen to. If you are using an Iphone or Ipad All you need to do is go to podcasts section in the itunes store and search for any podcast and then you can go ahead and download it and it will show up in the Podcast section of your Ipod application on your phone or Ipad. Or else you can download it onto your Itunes library on your Comp and load it into your Ipod
Yoda-esque Posted November 3, 2011 Posted November 3, 2011 Is there a podcast for the India-Pak WC Semi ? :winky:
maniac Posted November 3, 2011 Posted November 3, 2011 I think podcast/audio-books has lot more potential than currently being utilized. Most likely due to the 'content discovery' problem as evident from above comment. Well I don't like audio books.I prefer reading a book because I don't think reading a story will have the same impact as listening to a story.Similarly,even if it is an audio book training you on a certain aspect,I would like to read it and interpret it to apply it rather than listening and trying to interpret it. As far as Podcasts go,most of them are discussions,interviews,current affairs,expert opinions.It is always good to hear a heated discussion or opinions or ven news directly from the people saying it rather than reading it.Since,the last 3 years since I got my first Iphone,I am really into podcasts.There is amazing content available.
Holysmoke Posted November 3, 2011 Posted November 3, 2011 I listen to radio all the time im in my car. Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk
akshayxyz Posted November 3, 2011 Posted November 3, 2011 Well I don't like audio books.I prefer reading a book because I don't think reading a story will have the same impact as listening to a story.Similarly,even if it is an audio book training you on a certain aspect,I would like to read it and interpret it to apply it rather than listening and trying to interpret it. As far as Podcasts go,most of them are discussions,interviews,current affairs,expert opinions.It is always good to hear a heated discussion or opinions or ven news directly from the people saying it rather than reading it.Since,the last 3 years since I got my first Iphone,I am really into podcasts.There is amazing content available. I do not view them as a replacement for reading books. But they have a very good usecase for people who have to drive 2 hours a day, most of which is spent on traffic lights/jams.
maniac Posted November 3, 2011 Posted November 3, 2011 @Rajiv,I am surprised you haven't thought about going the podcast route with the icf website.Most theme-based websites are doing this now.Here is another example of how this works For eg;there are these journalists+Site owners who host a website for people who are interested in following MMA and Boxing.These guys registered a telephone line on Blogtalk radio where fans all over N.America and Skype users all over the world can call in and participate in discussion on various topics ranging from opinions,rumors and questions pertaining to MMA.Once the phone lines are closed,the audio file is uploaded onto Itunes for Iphone users and Non-Iphone users can download it from the blogtalk radio feed. Being an occasional MMA enthuisast,I sometimes download the podcast to listen in to the discussion they had.This is just equivalent to lurking on ICF forums and trying to catchup on whats going on in cricket or contributing what you know or heard in the cricketing world.
Lurker Posted November 3, 2011 Posted November 3, 2011 On my way to work I typically listen to talk radio. Everything from Adam Corrolla to Jim Phillips to Howard Stern goes. Will listen to songs but not too often. In the morning before gym I prefer some peppy numbers, fast paced that could range from pop to rap to techno to hindi music. These days, for about a month, I have suddenly (re)discovered love for music from Viju Shah. Thats typically the kinda I song I like, in mornings, beats with some synthesizer, techno music...kinda like Pet Shop Boys if you will. And although Viju Shah seems one track, most of his songs were for Rajiv Rai, he did hit the groove as far as I am concerned. Long drivers, or evenings, I prefer old school Hindi songs, mostly from 70s, 80s and 90s but it goes before and after. Nothing better than listening to soft Hindi songs sat on the terrace on a late night, or driving on a rainy night with bit of storm and lightning. And the music is all old-school..as in on CD and not iPod. I wanna reach out to the cover and read up on who wrote the songs, who created the music and who crooned to sway us all years after it all came together. :winky:
maniac Posted November 3, 2011 Posted November 3, 2011 On my way to work I typically listen to talk radio. Everything from Adam Corrolla to Jim Phillips to Howard Stern goes. Will listen to songs but not too often. In the morning before gym I prefer some peppy numbers, fast paced that could range from pop to rap to techno to hindi music. These days, for about a month, I have suddenly (re)discovered love for music from Viju Shah. Thats typically the kinda I song I like, in mornings, beats with some synthesizer, techno music...kinda like Pet Shop Boys if you will. And although Viju Shah seems one track, most of his songs were for Rajiv Rai, he did hit the groove as far as I am concerned. Long drivers, or evenings, I prefer old school Hindi songs, mostly from 70s, 80s and 90s but it goes before and after. Nothing better than listening to soft Hindi songs sat on the terrace on a late night, or driving on a rainy night with bit of storm and lightning. And the music is all old-school..as in on CD and not iPod. I wanna reach out to the cover and read up on who wrote the songs, who created the music and who crooned to sway us all years after it all came together. :winky: :omg: No judging :icflove:
Rajiv Posted November 3, 2011 Author Posted November 3, 2011 On my way to work I typically listen to talk radio. Everything from Adam Corrolla to Jim Phillips to Howard Stern goes. Will listen to songs but not too often. In the morning before gym I prefer some peppy numbers, fast paced that could range from pop to rap to techno to hindi music. These days, for about a month, I have suddenly (re)discovered love for music from Viju Shah. Thats typically the kinda I song I like, in mornings, beats with some synthesizer, techno music...kinda like Pet Shop Boys if you will. And although Viju Shah seems one track, most of his songs were for Rajiv Rai, he did hit the groove as far as I am concerned. Long drivers, or evenings, I prefer old school Hindi songs, mostly from 70s, 80s and 90s but it goes before and after. Nothing better than listening to soft Hindi songs sat on the terrace on a late night, or driving on a rainy night with bit of storm and lightning. And the music is all old-school..as in on CD and not iPod. I wanna reach out to the cover and read up on who wrote the songs, who created the music and who crooned to sway us all years after it all came together. :winky: Tharki OMG - Me too, I am hearing Pet Shop boys and awesome old remixes on You tube. My buddies cousin sala worked with Viju Shah for cheez badi hain mast mast - and he came over a nigh out - man I couldn't hear the end of viju shah this viju shah that and how he entered some filmy party by saying he is sanjay dutts brother. Saat Samundar paar is awesome too I want to listen to KK again Have you heard this one Ya-IvCjasEA
Yoda-esque Posted November 3, 2011 Posted November 3, 2011 Lurker Bhaisaab-Aapke sheyr /Shaiyiri aur roomani khayaalaaton se aap desi Don Juan DeMarco lag rahe hai :hatsoff: Lagta hai office mein bhi aap kurta pehenke jaate honge
Rajiv Posted November 3, 2011 Author Posted November 3, 2011 ^Bhaisaab-Aapke sheyr /Shaiyiri aur roomani khayaalaaton se aap desi Don Juan DeMarco lag rahe hai :hatsoff: Lagta hai office mein bhi aap kurta pehenke jaate honge Ram Prasad Dashrat Prasad Sharma
Yoda-esque Posted November 3, 2011 Posted November 3, 2011 Ram Prasad Dashrat Prasad Sharma Sir,Kurta shareer ke upraadha bhaag ke lajja nivaran ke liye hota hai