Trichromatic Posted November 15, 2011 Posted November 15, 2011 Ahead of the Assembly elections, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati on Tuesday announced bringing a resolution in the House for carving out four new states in the Winter Session beginning November 21. Addressing a press conference here, she said that the Cabinet has approved a resolution for creation of Purvanchal, Bundelkhand, Awadh Pradesh and Paschim Pradesh. Seeking to throw the ball into the CentreÃÔ court, where the Congress heads the UPA coalition, the Chief Minister maintained that as per Schedule 3 of the Constitution, the Centre has to take a decision with regard to renaming, reorganisation or creation of new States. http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/article2629650.ece?homepage=true
Stuge Posted November 15, 2011 Posted November 15, 2011 its already been discussed over here and Ganesh was mocked too .
bulbul Posted November 15, 2011 Posted November 15, 2011 Great move ahead of Assembly elections. :winky: 2 should have been fine...4 i am not sure.. let us wait for Con party announcement...they certailnly will provide sops for poor people now
BeautifulGame Posted November 15, 2011 Posted November 15, 2011 UP is too large to be managed as a single state.Splitting into 2 states would be sensible IMO
fineleg Posted November 16, 2011 Posted November 16, 2011 More (corrupt) Chief Ministers in India :yay:
ViruRulez Posted November 18, 2011 Posted November 18, 2011 Will her power increase or lessen with 4 states. Does she think BSP will rule in all of them. But overall a good move and I am surprised at the level of intellect Mayawati is expressing in recent years. She is emerging as one of the progressive thinking politicians in India. Only if caste politics and corruption was removed, she could become a very good politician. And development in UP has also progressed a lot faster under her rule compared to the past. Interesting. Only sad part is that every national political party is trying to screw her just when she is trying to do something for development and speaking sanely. But I predict her win again in UP and I do not normally predict wrong.
Sachin=GOD Posted November 18, 2011 Posted November 18, 2011 Although the proposal in itself is not bad, nothing will happen for many, many months and in the meantime Mayawati will gain some more votes in the upcoming election because of this.
Sachin=GOD Posted November 18, 2011 Posted November 18, 2011 Will her power increase or lessen with 4 states. Does she think BSP will rule in all of them. But overall a good move and I am surprised at the level of intellect Mayawati is expressing in recent years. She is emerging as one of the progressive thinking politicians in India. Only if caste politics and corruption was removed' date= she could become a very good politician. And development in UP has also progressed a lot faster under her rule compared to the past. Interesting. Only sad part is that every national political party is trying to screw her just when she is trying to do something for development and speaking sanely. don't agree with any of that. She is always trying to play political games and almost all the major decisions/announcements are done keeping in mind the advantages that they can give to the party and she has wasted HUGE amounts on statues/parks/memorials etc. Corruption is reaching new heights in UP these days and the worst part is that people believe that they can get away with anything as long as they are associated with the BSP, so even the small politicians/traders/cops etc who have the blessing of behenji or any of the top ministers in the Govt are acting as if they are above the law. As far as development in UP goes - the only 2 cities where development is taking place are Lucknow and Noida. Forget about the villages etc, go to cities like Allahabad, Kanpur, Agra etc and you will see that most of them are in a worse state than they were 5-6 years ago. Very frequent (and long) power cuts and extremely bad sanitation facilities have become a hallmark of these cities. None of the political parties are trying to screw her - they are just trying to show the people how opportunistic she is. But I predict her win again in UP and I do not normally predict wrong. Mark my words - there is going to be a hung assembly in UP this time. No party is even remotely in a position to form the Govt on its own.
ViruRulez Posted November 20, 2011 Posted November 20, 2011 don't agree with any of that. She is always trying to play political games and almost all the major decisions/announcements are done keeping in mind the advantages that they can give to the party and she has wasted HUGE amounts on statues/parks/memorials etc. Corruption is reaching new heights in UP these days and the worst part is that people believe that they can get away with anything as long as they are associated with the BSP, so even the small politicians/traders/cops etc who have the blessing of behenji or any of the top ministers in the Govt are acting as if they are above the law. As far as development in UP goes - the only 2 cities where development is taking place are Lucknow and Noida. Forget about the villages etc, go to cities like Allahabad, Kanpur, Agra etc and you will see that most of them are in a worse state than they were 5-6 years ago. Very frequent (and long) power cuts and extremely bad sanitation facilities have become a hallmark of these cities. None of the political parties are trying to screw her - they are just trying to show the people how opportunistic she is. Mark my words - there is going to be a hung assembly in UP this time. No party is even remotely in a position to form the Govt on its own. I have never been closely associated with UP but then it was even crappier during Mulayam time from what I know. Ghaziabad is also developing very fast and is one of India's fastest growing cities and is the next real estate hub. Power cuts etc. cannot be blamed on govts. alone. India has a massive deficiency of electricity and people do not allow govt. to build dams or other electricity generation resources. So, what can the govts. do? Regarding her being opportunistic, who else is not opportunistic. Mulayam and Amar Singh are known for their opportunistic behaviors, Congress is acting as pure opportunists in UP and BJP is not far behind. Every party is opportunist but she is at least trying to do something. Yesterday itself I saw a news that Gadkari has promised 50 lakh jobs in UP if they are voted to power. ***ing illiterate moron does not even understand that 50 lakhs is half a crore jobs and even Nitish or Modi cannot generate that much jobs in the whole of India suddenly leave apart in a single state. That is a white lie. Similarly, Rahul Gandhi keeps on promising the earth to the people of UP and the UP Congress president Bahuguna or something says Mayawati should be raped etc. :giggle: Come on, this is the height of lowering down. And then we have Mulayam who says computers should be removed from all offices in UP and computer education stopped to generate more jobs. :haha: Now, who is the worst moron. LOL. At least, Mayawati is emerging better than the rest and thinking about development even if to some extent. My predictions are normally nearly 100% correct as you might see in my previous political predictions in the past. And I still feel she will nearly have a single majority with SP coming second. Congress and BJP might instead lose their hold a bit if you take my words compared to the Lok Sabha elections. Even if she does not have single majority but she would still have highest number of seats amongst any party there if my predictions and observations are correct.
Sachin=GOD Posted November 20, 2011 Posted November 20, 2011 I have never been closely associated with UP but then it was even crappier during Mulayam time from what I know. Ghaziabad is also developing very fast and is one of India's fastest growing cities and is the next real estate hub. Power cuts etc. cannot be blamed on govts. alone. India has a massive deficiency of electricity and people do not allow govt. to build dams or other electricity generation resources. So, what can the govts. do? Regarding her being opportunistic, who else is not opportunistic. Mulayam and Amar Singh are known for their opportunistic behaviors, Congress is acting as pure opportunists in UP and BJP is not far behind. Every party is opportunist but she is at least trying to do something. Yesterday itself I saw a news that Gadkari has promised 50 lakh jobs in UP if they are voted to power. ***ing illiterate moron does not even understand that 50 lakhs is half a crore jobs and even Nitish or Modi cannot generate that much jobs in the whole of India suddenly leave apart in a single state. That is a white lie. Similarly, Rahul Gandhi keeps on promising the earth to the people of UP and the UP Congress president Bahuguna or something says Mayawati should be raped etc. :giggle: Come on, this is the height of lowering down. And then we have Mulayam who says computers should be removed from all offices in UP and computer education stopped to generate more jobs. :haha: Now, who is the worst moron. LOL. At least, Mayawati is emerging better than the rest and thinking about development even if to some extent. My predictions are normally nearly 100% correct as you might see in my previous political predictions in the past. And I still feel she will nearly have a single majority with SP coming second. Congress and BJP might instead lose their hold a bit if you take my words compared to the Lok Sabha elections. Even if she does not have single majority but she would still have highest number of seats amongst any party there if my predictions and observations are correct. well, all of these people just said such things while Mayawati actually did something much worse than this - when the Right to Education was introduced, it was decided that the central Govt and State Govts would share the expenditure to be incurred on its implementation in the respective states. Mayawati has refused to implement RTE in UP because of lack of funds - this is the same Chief Minister who has funds for huge statues/memorials/parks etc worth thousands of crores but does not have money to fund education for children - Link Some other wonderful things done by her: Lnk I feel that no party currently is in a position to come even anywhere near the full majority. BSP and SP would be very close in the number of seats with BSP having just a few more than SP while BJP and Congress will both certainly improve their tally from last time. And we would see a coalition Govt.
ganeshran Posted November 20, 2011 Posted November 20, 2011 IMO, Mayawati is not serious about this four states issue. What she is trying to do is to warn congress that she will fuel an agitation and give the center a long headache like Telangana if they try to strengthen their presence in UP. For all of Rahul Gandhi's incompetence, Maya is very wary of his presence
Sachin=GOD Posted November 20, 2011 Posted November 20, 2011 IMO' date=' [b']Mayawati is not serious about this four states issue. What she is trying to do is to warn congress that she will fuel an agitation and give the center a long headache like Telangana if they try to strengthen their presence in UP. For all of Rahul Gandhi's incompetence, Maya is very wary of his presence Its just another way of getting more votes. There are many people with considerable influence who have been calling for the division of UP into smaller states for many years and now that she has supported them, some of their votes will definitely be transferred to her in the election. She is shrewd enough to know that there is absolutely no chance of any kind of division happening before the election - these things take lots of time and a State Reorganization Commission has to be formed which looks into the various aspects and in a state as big as UP, this whole exercise will take a long time and then it will reach the Lok Sabha where it will face many, many hurdles.
Sachin=GOD Posted November 23, 2011 Posted November 23, 2011 whatever her intentions, I must say that bringing out this plan of UP's division at this time is a political masterstroke by Mayawati and has suddenly increased her chances for next year's elections and has stumped all her rivals.