Vivek Express-Dibrugarh in Assam to Kanyakumari in Tamil Naidu[4286 km in 83 hours]

WTF .. they gone insane ? instead of doing something to prevent accidents, and spending on gadgets needed for the same .They busy running new trains .

Do Indian trains get anywhere near as packed as the metro? My Dad went to Delhi last year and said the metro was ridiculous. Nearly lost his glasses when trying to board :haha:

On crowd in Metros - its still better than this [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0MepDaRRBP0]metro on japan... Get INSIDE!! - YouTube[/ame] And to see there real crowd, go to Delhi Railway station and get in some local/passenger train.

LAME. These are better, faster too. Snapped this picture this morning. The one on the right is going to Hiroshima, the same place where the United States dropped the atomic bomb in WW2. Believe it. sam2515i.jpg

:hatsoff: Indian Railways :isalute: They transport so many people and so much freight between cities that its a logistical masterpiece. I'd go to the extent of saying that its a big unifier. I once travelled Mumbai Delhi and return in Rajdhani and August Kranti. Great experience. They pamper you as if you are royalty. Served us good soup, great chocolates and sumptuous meals. If you have that much time to spare, its better than First Class inter city air travel.
Hindi movies, cricket and Railways are considered unifiers. It is kind of an unspoken rule that has always been thus.
Wow a whopping 50 kmph. It could beat a moped
It is not for you dude :doh: Look at where its starting from. Who would want to go from Assam to Kanyakumari to fix an impending deal? This is clearly for the people who are moving for jobs, or coming home, and can wait for a couple of days to get there. By the way if speed is your interest one can always take a plane ticket, they are not very expensive these days anways.
WTF .. they gone insane ? instead of doing something to prevent accidents, and spending on gadgets needed for the same .They busy running new trains
The population of the country has grown much over the years. The usual trains are no longer able to support the demands. Inspite of many trains being started every year one still has to get his reservations in time to get a seat. That coupled with economic development means even the first class, a/c etc are all booked up. There is a definite need for increasing trains.
15hours se zada nahi. usmey hi buri halat hoti hai
15 hours is enough for buri halat? Jeez is that true for you or your entire generation? Thats just enough time to go from Bihar to Delhi. What would happen if you ever wanted to go further East? Take planes or do not travel at all??? If you want to experience India, there is nothing better than Railways. I have sent many of my American and British friends on Indian sojourn via trains when they are limited in time. Get down in Delhi, take train to Calcutta and see the heartland. Nobody ever complained about slow speed, perhaps because they were in exploration mould, but kinda weird to see Indians posting pictures of Japan and crying about extra time. My best travel has been from Calcutta to Trivandrum via Railways in late 90s. Every few hours the train would move into a new state, Bengal, Orissa, AP and so on...and every few hours if you put your face out the train window you will experience a different smell in air. You can actually detect you are in a different state just by food cooked, or the oil used. Bengalis use mustard oil, Kerelites use coconut oil. Not being patronizing or anything but give Indian Railways a break, they do an awesome job. And develop a love for things that make India...well India. xxx
Indian railways suck. See how difficult it is to get a reservation -- I tried to book two bloody months in advance and I couldn't even get a seat. Gave up and booked flight instead.
Good. We were spared of a thread oN ICF wondering why Indian Railways does not provide mineral water in the gusalkhaana when French trains do. My family makes trips to Delhi every 2 months, they book tickets and get on very well. It is not perfect but works far better than the likes of you give credit for.

I just spent three months travellin India by Indian Railways. Saw a fair bit of the country side and yea, it's really beautiful but the novelty wears off if you have to sit 10 - 15 hours to get from one place to the other.