Holysmoke Posted December 7, 2011 Posted December 7, 2011 http://www.dnaindia.com/mumbai/report_raj-thackeray-warns-against-stalling-flyover-over-celebrity-objection_1622353 For once, I support Raj Thackeray!:nervous: The Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) Tuesday locked horns with the state government over the much-delayed flyover in the posh Pedder Road area of south Mumbai owing to stiff opposition by celebrities like singers Lata Mangeshkar, Asha Bhosle and others living there. MNS chief Raj Thackeray warned that unless the government constructs a flyover on Pedder Road, his party would not permitconstruction of any other flyover in the city or the state. "The government said it would take into account the views of the local people before constructing the Pedder Road flyover. The project has been held up only due to the opposition by the Mangeshkar family," Thackeray told mediapersons Tuesday evening. "Why should the government consult the locals of Pedder Road before constructing the flyover? Did they consult the commoners while constructing other flyovers all over Mumbai? Why this special treatment for the Mangeshkar family only?" Thackeray added. His stance came following the state government's plans to drop the flyover at Pedder Road and instead compensate by constructing two flyovers nearby - one at Haji Ali junction and the other at Cadbury Company junction. A high-level delegation, including top office bearers, MNS women's wing, five legislators and others met Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan Tuesday and urged him to go ahead with the flyover project, said party spokesman Nitin Sardesai. "The CM said that he was out of station last week and would look into the matter and get back to us," Sardesai said. The 4.5 km-long Pedder Road flyover has been stuck at the proposal stage for over 10 years after opposition from the Pedder Road Residents Association (PRRA). Among other things, the PRRA said that it would lead to increased noise and air pollution, and some individuals also apprehended that it would affect their privacy and block their view of the Arabian Sea on the western side. :hysterical: Stupid pedder roaders, if you want sea view, move to breach candy:finger: "What is so special about the residents of Peddar Road that their disapproval to the project should be taken into account, asked Thackeray. Land has been acquired and people displaced for all kinds of infrastructure projects, including skywalks that nobody uses. :haha: Chavan denied the flyover was being junked, as did state officials. No decision has been taken on scrapping the flyover yet. Public hearings are on, he told the MNS delegation. At the last hearing in July, representatives of the Peddar Road Residents Association were shouted down by a mob which stormed the meeting and chanted slogans for the flyover. Lata's family wasn't available for comment today, nor was association representative Veena Singhal.Apparently, Lata had threatened that if this flyover is built, i will stop singing.. and Asha was like.. I am moving to Dubai. :wall:
Tiger80 Posted December 7, 2011 Posted December 7, 2011 MP Navjot Sidhu creates scene at toll plaza -------
Stuge Posted December 7, 2011 Posted December 7, 2011 Apparently, Lata had threatened that if this flyover is built, i will stop singing.. and Asha was like.. I am moving to Dubai. :wall: this is nuts .if they want to move dubai or anyother fahlana country they can move ,but they cannot ransom like this .
Aaku Posted December 7, 2011 Posted December 7, 2011 Haaaan goood:two_thumbs_up: badi hi bewakooofi thi by lata !! Go Raj !! :cheer:
Sir john Posted December 7, 2011 Posted December 7, 2011 Jai maharastra 3 saal pehle main mumbai nahi gaya thaa exam dene.its cost me 9000.:facepalm:
beetle Posted December 7, 2011 Posted December 7, 2011 I never thought I would ever agree with this ass...but:hatsoff: to him.Lata Mangeshkar and Asha Bhonsle are acting no better than that blackmailer Mamata B.
G_B_ Posted December 7, 2011 Posted December 7, 2011 they should not build the pedder road flyover. its bad planning and a waste of money
nikred Posted December 7, 2011 Posted December 7, 2011 they should not build the pedder road flyover. its bad planning and a waste of money Are you a pedder roader? :P
G_B_ Posted December 7, 2011 Posted December 7, 2011 Are you a pedder roader? :P no but i do know that the Pedder road flyover is being pushed as a cheap alternative to the western freeway project. Alongside some equally crappy coastal roads. I mean come on, even if this thing is built, they would have to limit the speed to 20km per hour due to bottlenecks at ends. Your not talking about a series of flyovers along Ambedkar road which lead on to each other to avoid the traffic.
The Outsider Posted December 7, 2011 Posted December 7, 2011 :hysterical::hysterical: So, the tool is going to protest by blocking all flyovers and bridges rather than starting a movement to build something constructive!
akshayxyz Posted December 7, 2011 Posted December 7, 2011 I think one of the key agenda of Thackeray family is, pick any celebrity in the news, and pass some controversial/extreme opinion on the matter. ...no I am not supporting Lataji /Ashaji.
G_B_ Posted December 7, 2011 Posted December 7, 2011 to be fair to Raj he has been critical about all the infra developments of the city. The north indian media too have asked him too often why he has not attacked a marathi person (lata) for blocking development. now he has responded. More than a flyover what mumbai needs more than ever is a metro or mass transport. But in context , of a western freeway which is bandra worli sea link (completed) -----> Worli Haji ali sea link (in early stages) -----> undergroundTunnel to priyadarsahni park -----> Marine Drive expansion------> Nariman Points/Fort. Mark my words, if the GOM decide to built peddar road flyover then you can kiss the Worli Haji ali link and western freeway goodbye. They will use the flyover as justification that they are doing something. There are also other forces at play, there is the Breach Candy lobby which is lobbying extremely hard for the peddar road flyover. Cause they want to block the Haji Ali -Worli link which blocks their sea views and is not even a cable styled bridge which looks good at night.(BWSL)