The Dark Horse Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 Bolo Karnataka Mata Ki Jai.. Indian pace attack should see: Vinay Kumar' date=' Mithun and S Aravind![/quote'] We may as well have 11 batsmen instead of that :D
Magneto Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 too many personal attacks going on here.... mods please step in. You ppl should stop acting like our western neighbours..... No point in playing the blame game. Bottom line is that our squad has been finalized and now its just about the starting XI doing their best and getting us that elusive series win down under. The key to winning that series still remains unchanged: - The big guns have to fire with the bat and subdue the rising young aussie quicks while rendering Lyon as a non-factor (that puts a lot of pressure on the pacers) - Zaheer absolutely HAS to play at least 3 tests for us to have any chance whatsover - Dhoni has to out do Clarke on the field (not sure if he can with the bat) and maybe even win a few tosses... better yet, he should send sehwag out for the toss. :hysterical: And then Sehwag would send Gambhir out to captain while he'll be sitting in the dressing room tired :--(
Magneto Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 While I completely agree that both Mithun and Vinay should not be in the Test squad for Aus I don't think your generalization that south is destroying Indian cricket is either warranted or factual. Ashwin, Ojha, Lax, Rahul are all from the south and none of these fellows have actually "destroyed" Indian cricket. It wasn;t long ago that we also had India's greatest Test match winner from the south...if u disagree with the greatest Test match winner thingy then at least he is the greatest bowler India produced. What is the need to brand the entire of south India that way? It's not just you but I think almost all of us at ICF are pissed off at the inclusion of Vinay Kumar and Mithun in the squad but it is no reason to go on making such stupid generalizations. Southern Bharatvarsha (south of the Vindhyas) has given us our best batsmen and best bowlers ever. If you remove Maharashtra even then the south has given us 7 of our 10 best bowlers ever and 4 of our top 10 batsmen....that is quite some contribution But the world champion team had only one Southie - Sreesanth :hehe:
King Tendulkar Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 While I completely agree that both Mithun and Vinay should not be in the Test squad for Aus I don't think your generalization that south is destroying Indian cricket is either warranted or factual. Ashwin, Ojha, Lax, Rahul are all from the south and none of these fellows have actually "destroyed" Indian cricket. It wasn;t long ago that we also had India's greatest Test match winner from the south...if u disagree with the greatest Test match winner thingy then at least he is the greatest bowler India produced. What is the need to brand the entire of south India that way? It's not just you but I think almost all of us at ICF are pissed off at the inclusion of Vinay Kumar and Mithun in the squad but it is no reason to go on making such stupid generalizations. Southern Bharatvarsha (south of the Vindhyas) has given us our best batsmen and best bowlers ever. If you remove Maharashtra even then the south has given us 7 of our 10 best bowlers ever and 4 of our top 10 batsmen....that is quite some contribution I was only kidding. Jeez everyone is so easy to wind up. Southies are not destroying indian cricket. But I do detect some quota picks going on, when there are marginal calls to be made, then the quota is definitley kicking in. Lets not forget cheeka has pushed his son in to indian teams when not worthy, so his dodgy way of doing things is clear to see.
master22 Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 While I completely agree that both Mithun and Vinay should not be in the Test squad for Aus I don't think your generalization that south is destroying Indian cricket is either warranted or factual. Ashwin, Ojha, Lax, Rahul are all from the south and none of these fellows have actually "destroyed" Indian cricket. It wasn;t long ago that we also had India's greatest Test match winner from the south...if u disagree with the greatest Test match winner thingy then at least he is the greatest bowler India produced. What is the need to brand the entire of south India that way? It's not just you but I think almost all of us at ICF are pissed off at the inclusion of Vinay Kumar and Mithun in the squad but it is no reason to go on making such stupid generalizations. Southern Bharatvarsha (south of the Vindhyas) has given us our best batsmen and best bowlers ever. If you remove Maharashtra even then the south has given us 7 of our 10 best bowlers ever and 4 of our top 10 batsmen....that is quite some contribution +1 .Also some of these armchair critics go about gloating that mithun was selected because of jumbo without any proof.How can you even think of doubting a guy like him!!!
bulbul Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 I was only kidding. Jeez everyone is so easy to wind up. Southies are not destroying indian cricket. But I do detect some quota picks going on, when there are marginal calls to be made, then the quota is definitley kicking in. Lets not forget cheeka has pushed his son in to indian teams when not worthy, so his dodgy way of doing things is clear to see. +1.. some people so easily winded up when there is a comment against our most Unsuccessful spinner in last 3/4 years :two_thumbs_up:
King Tendulkar Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 +1.. some people so easily winded up when there is a comment against our most Unsuccessful spinner in last 3/4 years :two_thumbs_up: Bloody hell another with reverse dravid the wall syndrome:giggle:
Number Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 lol . its not about South , they have given us Srinath and Kumble , an atg Rahul Dravid . Ashwin , Mukund are the talented players and will always have support. Uthappa should be selected in place of joker patel. But Vinay , Mithun don't really deserve the spot and are getting it due to politics. And that's where selection committee gets criticized.
Vijay.Sharma Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 But the world champion team had only one Southie - Sreesanth :hehe:Stop trolling
bulbul Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 Bloody hell another with reverse dravid the wall syndrome:giggle: its very very easy to wind u up...u even climb wall :giggle:
Magneto Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 Stop trolling Fact 101. You would know that if you had seen the finals.
MCcricket Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 Only good news is that , it looks like a minor strain, he will be fit soon, only problem being Mithun in the squad then we have VK, shouldve picked Gony, Dinda, Nechim.
Vijay.Sharma Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 I was only kidding. Jeez everyone is so easy to wind up. Southies are not destroying indian cricket. But I do detect some quota picks going on, when there are marginal calls to be made, then the quota is definitley kicking in. Lets not forget cheeka has pushed his son in to indian teams when not worthy, so his dodgy way of doing things is clear to see.I think the worst selector of them all when it comes to forwarding the south agenda, actually karnataka agenda, was the great batsman GR Vuswanath. The guy selected people like Somasunder, Dodda Ganesh, etc. He was so biased that I really lost a bit of respect for him in the mid 90s when he was selector. It hurt me a lot that the guy who partnered Sachin as an opener was someone of the caliber of Somasunder. I mean come on kuch toh izzat rakhneka? Sachin ke saath opening ke liye bhej raha hai aur woh bhi mid 90s mein, at least send someone who can be 1% of the Buddha...nahi, apne ko khali apne karnataka ke chokre log ko team mein gusaneka hai!
Vijay.Sharma Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 Only good news is that ' date=' it looks like a minor strain, he will be fit soon, only problem being Mithun in the squad then we have VK, shouldve picked Gony, Dinda, Nechim.[/quote']My choice would've been Irfan. Looks like they are reserving Irfan for when Zak will break down in the Melbourne test
deathmonger Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 I think the worst selector of them all when it comes to forwarding the south agenda, actually karnataka agenda, was the great batsman GR Vuswanath. The guy selected people like Somasunder, Dodda Ganesh, etc. He was so biased that I really lost a bit of respect for him in the mid 90s when he was selector. It hurt me a lot that the guy who partnered Sachin as an opener was someone of the caliber of Somasunder. I mean come on kuch toh izzat rakhneka? Sachin ke saath opening ke liye bhej raha hai aur woh bhi mid 90s mein, at least send someone who can be 1% of the Buddha...nahi, apne ko khali apne karnataka ke chokre log ko team mein gusaneka hai! thankfully we got ganguly, viru and gambo after that.
King Tendulkar Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 its very very easy to wind u up...u even climb wall :giggle: ok:hysterical:
MCcricket Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 My choice would've been Irfan. Looks like they are reserving Irfan for when Zak will break down in the Melbourne test I have seen Irfan bowl in first couple Ranji games,his swing is back , bowled well, but pace was down, not good enough to threaten int batsmen at this time
Number Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 thankfully we got ganguly' date=' viru and gambo after that.[/quote'] :agree: Ganguly went against this regional quota politics and got match winners and players with potential in the team. Zak , Bhajji , Yuvraj , Kaif , Nehra , Sehwag and even Dhoni. He was backed by JM Dalmiya though. Having a highly corrupt and politics ridden system running down there will always be need of strong Captain like ganguly in Indian Cricket else we'll keep visiting golden era of 90s again and again.
bulbul Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 :agree: Ganguly went against this regional quota politics and got match winners and players with potential in the team. Zak , Bhajji , Yuvraj , Kaif , Nehra , Sehwag and even Dhoni. He was backed by JM Dalmiya though. Having a highly corrupt and politics ridden system running down there will always be need of strong Captain like ganguly in Indian Cricket else we'll keep visiting golden era of 90s again and again. :giggle:
Sachin=GOD Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 :giggle: you signature is wrong. It should be "219 or 200* " :poink: