master22 Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 I think the worst selector of them all when it comes to forwarding the south agenda, actually karnataka agenda, was the great batsman GR Vuswanath. The guy selected people like Somasunder, Dodda Ganesh, etc. He was so biased that I really lost a bit of respect for him in the mid 90s when he was selector. It hurt me a lot that the guy who partnered Sachin as an opener was someone of the caliber of Somasunder. I mean come on kuch toh izzat rakhneka? Sachin ke saath opening ke liye bhej raha hai aur woh bhi mid 90s mein, at least send someone who can be 1% of the Buddha...nahi, apne ko khali apne karnataka ke chokre log ko team mein gusaneka hai! I think it was in his tenure that ganguly,dravid,laxman got selected so he was not all that bad:hmmm:
Magneto Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 :agree: Ganguly went against this regional quota politics and got match winners and players with potential in the team. Zak , Bhajji , Yuvraj , Kaif , Nehra , Sehwag and even Dhoni. He was backed by JM Dalmiya though. Having a highly corrupt and politics ridden system running down there will always be need of strong Captain like ganguly in Indian Cricket else we'll keep visiting golden era of 90s again and again. But Ganguly's selection happened at the beginning due to quota system only :giggle:
deathmonger Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 :giggle: kaif was a decent cricketer. kaif, agarkar etc - yeoman service to indian cricket.
Number Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 But Ganguly's selection happened at the beginning due to quota system only :giggle: :haha::haha:
bulbul Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 you signature is wrong. It should be "219 or 200* " :poink: updated....thanks for correcting :winky:
master22 Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 :agree: Ganguly went against this regional quota politics and got match winners and players with potential in the team. Zak , Bhajji , Yuvraj , Kaif , Nehra , Sehwag and even Dhoni. He was backed by JM Dalmiya though. Having a highly corrupt and politics ridden system running down there will always be need of strong Captain like ganguly in Indian Cricket else we'll keep visiting golden era of 90s again and again. Do you remember ganguly of 2005-06 time.He got dropped from the team after years of mediocrity and then dint do anything in the domestic season but yet got into the team through his connections,so he is no saint himself!
Magneto Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 He did score ONE century at the Ranji Trophy. :secret:
Number Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 Do you remember ganguly of 2005-06 time.He got dropped from the team after years of mediocrity and then dint do anything in the domestic season but yet got into the team through his connections' date='so he is no saint himself![/quote'] Again a case of selectors at fault and Captain didn't complain about it. My point is not about Ganguly being a devta type insaan himself , but as a captain he demanded and stood for the right players with potential.
VRV Singh Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 It is more an indictment on Indian bowling depth than anything else. It's a minor point now that Karnataka's dynamic duo are both in, but picking a bowling machine trundler ahead of VK as PK's replacement, and then picking VK after, is laughably dimwitted. I hope he has jumped the queue ahead of Mithun anyway. WTF though, are Indian bowlers made of cheese?
master22 Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 He did score ONE century at the Ranji Trophy. :secret: But dont you agree with me?
Magneto Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 Because the captain knew that that non-performing guy in Ranji can do a lot lot better than many of those Ranji accumulators, and that is the reason that No.6 spot is still lying vacant after Ganguly left.
Vilander Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 nah man Hazzelwood will come in he is 140 plus easily. Probably the fastest of the lot. copeland too is not a trundler. not too sure, Copeland is medium pace.
div Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 Again a case of selectors at fault and Captain didn't complain about it. My point is not about Ganguly being a devta type insaan himself , but as a captain he demanded and stood for the right players with potential. Deep Dasgupta :--D
Magneto Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 But dont you agree with me? You are right about that. In fact, Ganguly has never performed in Ranji or at a domestic level. Also, when he made his Test debut, he had an average of 36 at the FC level. But you'll have to realise that he's one of the guys who performs better against quality teams than against ordinary teams. Some motivational issues maybe. Ditto with Sehwag. When he made a comeback in the Australia series, he had done nothing at the Ranji trophy and still got selected and proved his mettle in Australia. Ganguly did prove his mettle at South Africa too and was our highest scorer.
Vilander Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 This is outrageous quota stuff. ****ing southies destroying indian cricket. RP Singh is way better test bowler then Vinay chump KARNATAKA not southies !!:hmmm:
Number Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 Deep Dasgupta :--D They tried almost every WK-Batsman those days. MSK prasad, Vijay Dahiya , Ajay Ratra , Saba Karim , Sameer dighe .. none of them were really good. Finally Parthiv Patel came , started scoring 19 runs each innings regularly .. selectors stopped after that for a while.
Vijay.Sharma Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 OK enough of b!tching about the guys who got in. All of us agree they don't deserve to get in. Who would you have picked ahead of these two though? My picks - Irfan hell I cant think of the second bowler! Munaf aint seem to be active, RP is gone for good, Unadkat Dhawal Kulkarni, etc are no better than Vinay Kumar or Mithun. I guess I'll go with Mithun
div Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 They tried almost every WK-Batsman those days. MSK prasad' date=' Vijay Dahiya , Ajay Ratra , Saba Karim , Sameer dighe .. none of them were really good. Finally Parthiv Patel came , started scoring 19 runs each innings regularly .. selectors stopped after that for a while.[/quote'] Dasgupta was worst of them all,even Akmal is better than him.
Sachin=GOD Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 They tried almost every WK-Batsman those days. MSK prasad' date=' Vijay Dahiya , Ajay Ratra , Saba Karim , Sameer dighe .. none of them were really good. Finally Parthiv Patel came , [b']started scoring 19 runs each innings regularly .. selectors stopped after that for a while. :giggle: Dasgupta was worst of them all' date='even Akmal is better than him.[/quote'] Yeah. In a match against WI he dropped Carl Hooper when he was on 0 and he went on to make 233. Also it seemed as if he had poor eyesight :facepalm:
Vilander Posted December 9, 2011 Posted December 9, 2011 GONY DINDA NECHIM ....i am so pissed rightnow no problem with VK but Mithun that shameless pathetic trundler of 120ks who relies on his pace...:banghead: