saneindian Posted January 30, 2012 Posted January 30, 2012 Suresh Raina, who has been branded a limited-over specialist but wants to add significantly to his 15 Test caps, does not want to talk about what went down, and what went wrong in the Test series that India lost 0-4 in Australia. Raina says the limited-overs leg of India's tour will be different, and there is a josh [passion] to do well. The limited-overs leg begins with a series of two Twenty20s against Australia, the first of which will be played in Sydney's Stadium Australia on Wednesday. Raina, who was not part of the Test squad, was asked to describe the mood in the dressing-room. "The motivation is good," he said. "The new boys [who have joined the team for the limited-overs leg] saw the matches. We haven't done well in the Tests, but there is a passion inside to do well. Andar kuch karne ki tamanna hai [There's a desire inside to achieve something]. "We have worked hard. The new boys have been playing a lot of first-class cricket and we have done well in internationals too. It will be a good challenge for the youngsters and we are ready." Raina promised a better performance from the side. "Definitely. The one-dayers and Twenty20 games will go differently to how the Tests went. Hopefully we will give you positive results. In the World Cup we beat Australia in the quarter-final and hopefully we will do well against Australia again." The week before India arrived in Sydney was a wet one and, though it was hot when India went out to train on Monday, the practice pitches at Stadium Australia, nestled in a corner under the roof, were still damp. All the Indians really managed on Monday was a long fielding session. Raina said fielding would be important over the next month and a half, over which India will compete with Australia and Sri Lanka in the Commonwealth Bank Series. "Fielding is going to be a big factor. We have to take brilliant catches, affect brilliant run-outs. We have to bat till the end and we have good allrounders. They can hit the ball as well as take wickets. We have good variation bowlers like Irfan [Pathan], Vinay [Kumar] and PK [Praveen Kumar]. They have been bowling really well. Hopefully you'll see good performances from them." Raina was part of the squad that won the Commonwealth Bank Series in Australia four years ago, but didn't play a single game. He said he has been working hard in preparation for his first international matches in Australia. "I went to the NCA [National Cricket Academy in Bangalore], then practised in Bombay. I am working on my wrist position and have been practising on bouncy wickets." With the seniors under pressure, it is inevitable that Raina will get his third chance in Tests at some stage. Raina said it was important for him to show the world he can play Tests. "I have done well in the West Indies. I played three or four games in the domestic season, got a double hundred, and I am working on my batting. I can play Test cricket and I know that. I didn't do well in the England series, but I know I can play more and more Test matches. I do believe in my hard work, and whenever I get a chance I will prove myself again." http://www.espncricinfo.com/australia-v-india-2011/content/current/story/551556.html A dejected test squad will welcome the fresh younger legs who will have lots of energy and no baggae of what happened in the test series. Hope to see the likes of Kohli, Rohit, Raina, Tiwary, PK, Irfan do well starting with the t20 on 1st Feb.
Needforspeed Posted January 30, 2012 Posted January 30, 2012 Karke dikhao to maanenge. Bak Bak bandh karo Raina aur jo karna hain, maidan mein karo.
Nova Posted January 30, 2012 Posted January 30, 2012 Good to see the positivity. Bring it on.. it should be fun.
vayuu1 Posted January 30, 2012 Posted January 30, 2012 Andar kuch karne ki tamanna hai( after the series and after facing oz bowlers) andar kar di ....tatti:haha::hysterical:
Old guy Posted January 30, 2012 Posted January 30, 2012 plz win this for us guys..i dont even follow t 20 and odis much bu i will watch them like test matches hope u guys can win few games:two_thumbs_up:
Number Posted January 30, 2012 Posted January 30, 2012 Gonna be a big series for Raina. I am expecting him to be in the first XI but from there on his performance will be under scrutiny as Jadeja and Tiwary will be there contending for that position. Rohit has a good chance to cement his place in ODIs. If Yuvi was there he didn't have got a chance.
Needforspeed Posted January 30, 2012 Posted January 30, 2012 I think we should play Rahul Sharma. May surprise the Aussies and the Lankans. Useful with his height as the Aussie pitches have good bounce. Maybe play Ashwin, Jadeja and Rahul and two pacers-Zaheer & Praveen/Irfan.
Old guy Posted January 30, 2012 Posted January 30, 2012 I think we should play Rahul Sharma. May surprise the Aussies and the Lankans. Useful with his height as the Aussie pitches have good bounce. Maybe play Ashwin' date=' Jadeja and Rahul and two pacers-Zaheer & Praveen/Irfan.[/quote'] i still dont know much about him but i think ashwin is good enough even in tests he got more wickets then ishant and opposition lyon itsh ard for spinners in australia even kumble who picked many wickets had average of almost 40
Sid Posted January 30, 2012 Posted January 30, 2012 I have full faith in our ODI batting line up.We only need our bowlers to bowl well and we will win this tournament.That mofo Slinga Kumar needs to be kept out of limited overs side.I hope Irfan gets the nod ahead of VK for the matches,if or when one out of Yadav or Zak gets rested during the course of the tournament.. Probably both VK and Irfan will play in the tontee-tontees BUT HOPEFULLY SLINGA KUMAR WONT PLAY THE ODIs.
Dravid_TheWall Posted January 30, 2012 Posted January 30, 2012 I am excited about this series. Raina is a hardworking free player. Don't forget the pitches will be slightly flatter. Only way we will not do well is if our bowlers screw up which is a high possibility. I am not worried about the batting in ODI's. Likes of Irfan, VK are either going to do reasonably well with their variations or get slogged to death! Should have chosen Nehra in squad at least, he is fit.
Needforspeed Posted January 30, 2012 Posted January 30, 2012 I have full faith in our ODI batting line up.We only need our bowlers to bowl well and we will win this tournament.That mofo Slinga Kumar needs to be kept out of limited overs side.I hope Irfan gets the nod ahead of VK for the matches,if or when one out of Yadav or Zak gets rested during the course of the tournament.. Probably both VK and Irfan will play in the tontee-tontees BUT HOPEFULLY SLINGA KUMAR WONT PLAY THE ODIs. +1 But the problem is somehow Dhobi seems to have fallen in love with Slinga Kumar. I too hope they play either Irfan or Rahul Sharma (depending on the pitch conditions) instead of slinga kumar even when Zaheer /Yadav are rested or Yadav loses his rhythm.
adi B Posted January 30, 2012 Posted January 30, 2012 kindly enlighten what "something" means raina ji