chainsmoker1985 Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 Ok, I tried my luck in playing Cricket when I was younger but it didn't go through well. Now, looking for some courses, something related to Cricket. Basically, am from traveling business line but honestly looking for some career in Cricket Coz I know, this is something which I can stick to for my whole life. I tried to find out some courses on internet, may be there should be some kind of courses like coaching or umpiring or something else related to cricket in our NCA in Bangalore or in Australia or in England. I just need guidance. If someone knows about, what I am looking for, pl share the info with me. :two_thumbs_up: Again making it clear: Looking for some courses related to Cricket like coaching, umpiring or pitch curator or sports cameraman, scorer, something like that, I don't know, I am just shooting in the dark.....
chainsmoker1985 Posted February 15, 2012 Author Posted February 15, 2012 ^ tu banjaa cheer-leader... muje nahi banana :P
Magneto Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 Ok, I tried my luck in playing Cricket when I was younger but it didn't go through well. Now, looking for some courses, something related to Cricket. Basically, am from traveling business line but honestly looking for some career in Cricket Coz I know, this is something which I can stick to for my whole life. I tried to find out some courses on internet, may be there should be some kind of courses like coaching or umpiring or something else related to cricket in our NCA in Bangalore or in Australia or in England. I just need guidance. If someone knows about, what I am looking for, pl share the info with me. :two_thumbs_up: Again making it clear: Looking for some courses related to Cricket like coaching, umpiring or pitch curator or sports cameraman, scorer, something like that, I don't know, I am just shooting in the dark..... http://www.nsnis.org/diploma.htm Interested? Or this? http://www.cricketupdates.org/want-to-become-a-cricket-coach.html Or this? http://www.indiastudychannel.com/resources/45788-Career-Cricket-Umpiring.aspx Are you interested in massaging our hairy, pot-bellied cricketers?
Stuge Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 Umpire hehe [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=STmFBNB_W58]Ramiz's Lounge - Episode 06 - YouTube[/ame]
chainsmoker1985 Posted February 15, 2012 Author Posted February 15, 2012 http://www.nsnis.org/diploma.htm Interested? Or this? http://www.cricketupdates.org/want-to-become-a-cricket-coach.html Or this? http://www.indiastudychannel.com/resources/45788-Career-Cricket-Umpiring.aspx Are you interested in massaging our hairy, pot-bellied cricketers? The second option looks good yar. But, whats with, you have to have played some cricket at some level to be involved in Cricket. This rule sucks, maybe for guys like me :--D Tell me some more information like this. Thanks anyways, baki to sale majaak udaane me hi lage huye hain :P
chainsmoker1985 Posted February 15, 2012 Author Posted February 15, 2012 Umpire hehe Ramiz's Lounge - Episode 06 - YouTube Hehehe, have a look at Asad Rauf, he looks high :cantstop:
CSK Fan Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 Come to cricinfo as a developer :winky: Do you guys have freelance writing jobs?
Pak_Fan_4_Eva Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 I'm a natural when it comes to judging lbw's and run outs. Any umpiring job there for me?:nervous:
chainsmoker1985 Posted February 15, 2012 Author Posted February 15, 2012 Come to cricinfo as a developer :winky: Tell me in detail and what are the requirements and qualification
chainsmoker1985 Posted February 15, 2012 Author Posted February 15, 2012 I'm a natural when it comes to judging lbw's and run outs. Any umpiring job there for me?:nervous: Me too. My assessments most of the times are 100% correct and I am also very good at making cricketing predictions :--D
vamos_rafa Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 Do you guys have freelance writing jobs? No no freelancing here. However a few people employed here are doing freelancing jobs outside.
vamos_rafa Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 Tell me in detail and what are the requirements and qualification Well you can either be a B.Tech to be a developer. Or, you can also join as an MBA in the marketing department. Also, you can join as an editor for which there's no specific qualification needed.
chainsmoker1985 Posted February 15, 2012 Author Posted February 15, 2012 Well you can either be a B.Tech to be a developer. Or' date=' you can also join as an MBA in the marketing department. Also, you can join as an editor for which there's no specific qualification needed.[/quote'] I am hardly graduate, that too with grace marks :(( Yes, have done some professional courses of IATA, but that has nothing to do with Cricket.
Old guy Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 i think for most things u need to play cricket at some level like ranji..atleast a season then u can easily become umpire start playing now :--D i honestly dont know anything abt non cricketers :(( would ve loved job like that too :P
Magneto Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 The second option looks good yar. But, whats with, you have to have played some cricket at some level to be involved in Cricket. This rule sucks, maybe for guys like me :--D Tell me some more information like this. Thanks anyways, baki to sale majaak udaane me hi lage huye hain :P a) If you want to take up coaching seriously and want to do well in your career, you need to have some professional cricketing experience; at least at an U-19 state level, or at a first division club league level. Otherwise, you'll just be coaching local club teams all your life and will soon get dejected about it. b) As the link I posted stated, you may want to check out your state cricket board and talk to people in the umpiring association. Also check out about the pitch curator/statistician jobs when you get there. But again, only few make the grade at the national level and you may not be happy spending a lifetime umpiring league matches. c) If you want to be a sports cameraman - There are no sports videography courses available anywhere in the country. However, you can do a one year- course in videography from some reputed institute in the country, join a sports channel and continue from there. But to get into a reputed institute, you need to have some experience in photography (preferably with an SLR camera) and have a decent portfolio. You also need to understand things like framing, composition, lensing etc (and master it later) if you want to be a top-notch cameraman. It's not as easy job and it might take years to grow. Why not give a shot at being a cricket journalist? Do a post-grad mass comm course from some reputed institute, and join a Tv channel/newspaper as a trainee and try and make it to the sports desk. A college senior of mine was extremely passionate about cricket, but never played the game. He however went to a phoren university and did a Phd on cricket, and now he's one of the most well-known cricket writers in the country and a regular face on television sharing his pearls of wisdom on cricket every evening. Yours sincerely, Your career counsellor
Swing_n_Speed Posted February 15, 2012 Posted February 15, 2012 Fitness is a huge part of competitive cricket. Become a physiotherapist (becoming one is not a big deal. Back in Canada the average age of students for one particular course was 35 yrs.) Physiotherapy, or a trainer with a degree in sports science. - Nutritionist - Event Management/Marketing. I'm sure the biggest department in the BCCI must be marketing. Unfortunately the aristocratic BCCI only want's betis of Netas or sons of billionaire tycoons in this department. Event Management includes setting up tourney across states across of levels, universities, clubs, corporate. With the amount of travelling cricketers do these days logistics is a huge part of event management. - Pitch Curator - Don't become a sports journo ever. There are way too many of them and standing out in the crowd would be impossible. Unless u have legs like Mandira. (PS good looking she may have been but she was also quite intelligent) - Do stuff others won't do. That's the trick. - Pyrotechnics- my dream job. Cricket today has become a spectacle. Matches are all about the non cricket as much as they are about the cricket. Firework shows and laser work shows etc etc. This is where there is most scope is. -In the future many more players will probably be contracted to sport management agencies like the one Mahesh Bhupathi runs. Lots of career scope here. Imagine the net worth boost of sport agencies post the IPL, the Football league and now talks of a race league. Dnt forget hockey league. All these players need someone to look after their interests. Great Topic more brainstorming needed. Surely there are a lot many many jobs associated with cricket which does not include playing cricket.