randomGuy Posted September 7, 2013 Posted September 7, 2013 We can disagree on things' date=' but how is it fair to brand someone a Congressi and attack him based on all of Congress' policies including Rajiv Gandhi and what not despite repeated proclamations that I don't support them?[/quote'] Sure, we can disagree. But most of the times, you yourself are not courteous in disagreement , calling people intellectually bankrupt (via their posts) among other things. Wasn't that an extremely gracious way to stop the interview? Thapar had a single point agenda for the interview.
The Outsider Posted September 7, 2013 Posted September 7, 2013 Sure, we can disagree. But most of the times, you yourself are not courteous in disagreement , calling people intellectually bankrupt (via their posts) among other things. I am not asking for courtesy, though by and large I am courteous to other posters. Sure, I've made unprovoked caustic posts to others at times but that is hardly a norm. What I am asking for is a certain degree of honesty in discussion - when I've repeatedly and explicitly made it clear that I am not a Congressi, what does branding me as one achieve except to lump together the misdeeds of the Congress with me? Isn't that intellectual dishonesty? Wasn't that an extremely gracious way to stop the interview? Thapar had a single point agenda for the interview. No, it wasn't a gracious way to stop the interview and we would be laughing our collective guts off if Rahul or Sonia Gandhi had started crying and left an interview. Heck we even laugh at Rahul Gandhi for some pretty innocuous comments inspired by his political naivete rather than any ill intent. How do we even know what Thapar's agenda was for the interview when it went on for a grand total of 5 out of 45-60 minutes? :dontknow:
randomGuy Posted September 7, 2013 Posted September 7, 2013 I am not asking for courtesy' date=' though by and large I am courteous to other posters. Sure, I've made unprovoked caustic posts to others at times but that is hardly a norm. What I am asking for is a certain degree of honesty in discussion - when I've repeatedly and explicitly made it clear that I am not a Congressi, what does branding me as one achieve except to lump together the misdeeds of the Congress with me? Isn't that intellectual dishonesty?[/quote'] You know what? If your own standards are applied, I am sure many of your posts would smack of dishonesty, bias, intellectual bankruptcy and lack of etiquette to many over here. The other day, you posted an alleged Modi-act on 'Kamaal Farouqi expulsion' news. Would you say that was in context and not a red-herring? I have said that we should post with respect for our fellow posters especially the old-timers (good natured jokes, sarcasm n all allowed). Otherwise it spoils the forum experience for everyone not just the subject of abuses. Because he was stuck on one question.
The Outsider Posted September 7, 2013 Posted September 7, 2013 You know what? If your own standards are applied, I am sure many of your posts would smack of dishonesty, bias, intellectual bankruptcy and lack of etiquette to many over here. That's your opinion and prerogative. If you point me to specific posts I can either accept them as being outside of a normal discussion norm or provide a justification for them. The other day, you posted an alleged Modi-act on 'Kamaal Farouqi expulsion' news. Would you say that was in context and not a red-herring? Of course it was out of context and a red herring, but it was directed specifically towards Clarke and a reposte to the following post: http://indiancricketfans.com/showpost.php?p=2585732&postcount=4 But as usual, you find my post as being a red herring, but continue to ignore the initiation for it because it comes from a fellow Modi supporter? :dontknow: I have said that we should post with respect for our fellow posters especially the old-timers (good natured jokes, sarcasm n all allowed). Otherwise it spoils the forum experience for everyone not just the subject of abuses. As I said, do point out when you think I am going out of line and I will try to rectify or justify. Because he was stuck on one question. Because it was not being answered. :alberteinstein:
randomGuy Posted September 7, 2013 Posted September 7, 2013 Of course it was out of context and a red herring, but it was directed specifically towards Clarke and a reposte to the following post: http://indiancricketfans.com/showpost.php?p=2585732&postcount=4 But as usual, you find my post as being a red herring, but continue to ignore the initiation for it because it comes from a fellow Modi supporter? :dontknow: The post you quote is from another thread. Read this page. Your red-herring was countered by Manmohan's appointment example. As I said, do point out when you think I am going out of line and I will try to rectify or justify. We are all the same. I am sure you also realize it at some level of the conscious. :) Because it was not being answered. :alberteinstein: Modi repeatedly asked Thapar to move on to other questions.
saneindian Posted September 7, 2013 Posted September 7, 2013 ... .... My pecking order for the upcoming elections is very clear and stated: 1. NDA without Modi as PM 2. UPA without Rahul as PM 3. UPA with Rahul as PM 4. Third Front or whatever Khichdi 5. NDA with Modi as PM .... ..... EDIT: The really funny part is that the only votes I've cast for Lok Sabha elections in my life have been for Vajpayee from the Lucknow seat and yet get branded as a Congressi. 5 4 3 2 1 is the probabilistic ranking of these 5 events :--D As for the bolded part, Vajpyee himself was called as Congress agent in Jan Sangh /BJP, to aap par aisi tohmat lag gayi to kaun si badi baat. Ham to MMS ko vote dene ka baad bhi Modi fanboy kahe jaate hain Waise when the choice is between Vajpayee vs Raj babbar/ Muzzafar Ali / Ram Jethmalani :facepalm: to aapke paas koi chaara bhi tha kya . Only one worthy of a vote against ABV was Dr. Karn Singh :P
The Outsider Posted September 7, 2013 Posted September 7, 2013 The post you quote is from another thread. Read this page. Your red-herring was countered by Manmohan's anointment example. Yeah, I know it was from another thread - the intention was still the same. We are all the same. I am sure you also realize it at some level of the conscious. :) Too philosophical for me at 8:30 AM on Saturday. Modi repeatedly asked Thapar to move on to other questions. So? Thapar was well within his journalistic rights, ethics, and norms to press on a question he felt was not satisfactorily addressed.
Sachin=GOD Posted September 7, 2013 Posted September 7, 2013 5 4 3 2 1 is the probabilistic ranking of these 5 events :--D As for the bolded part, Vajpyee himself was called as Congress agent in Jan Sangh /BJP, to aap par aisi tohmat lag gayi to kaun si badi baat. Ham to MMS ko vote dene ka baad bhi Modi fanboy kahe jaate hain Waise when the choice is between Vajpayee vs Raj babbar/ Muzzafar Ali / Ram Jethmalani :facepalm: to aapke paas koi chaara bhi tha kya . Only one worthy of a vote against ABV was Dr. Karn Singh :P not really :--D if we are simply talking about probability of the parties/coalitions coming to power based on the current scenario then I'd say this: 1. UPA (in all probability without Pappu as PM) 2. NDA without Modi 3. NDA with Modi 4. Khichdi.
randomGuy Posted September 7, 2013 Posted September 7, 2013 Yeah' date=' I know it was from another thread - the intention was still the same.[/quote'] Should have replied on that very thread. People are not supposed to know the context. What I mean is - you do not really need any pointing out. Andar ki awaz sunne ki zaroorat hai bas. How many times? Modi vella hai kya??
randomGuy Posted September 7, 2013 Posted September 7, 2013 5 4 3 2 1 is the probabilistic ranking of these 5 events :--D As for the bolded part, Vajpyee himself was called as Congress agent in Jan Sangh /BJP, to aap par aisi tohmat lag gayi to kaun si badi baat. Ham to MMS ko vote dene ka baad bhi Modi fanboy kahe jaate hain Waise when the choice is between Vajpayee vs Raj babbar/ Muzzafar Ali / Ram Jethmalani :facepalm: to aapke paas koi chaara bhi tha kya . Only one worthy of a vote against ABV was Dr. Karn Singh :P 1 5 2 4 3 is the outcome chances imo. 1. NDA without Modi as PM 5. NDA with Modi as PM 2. UPA without Rahul as PM 4. Third Front or whatever Khichdi 3. UPA with Rahul as PM
The Outsider Posted September 7, 2013 Posted September 7, 2013 5 4 3 2 1 is the probabilistic ranking of these 5 events :--D Who knows? All polls are showing all kinds of predictions. India is anyways a Psephologist's nightmare and with the Modi factor, Congress' abysmal performance factor, and the rapidly changing dynamics in the key states of UP and Bihar it's just a guessing game at this point, IMO. As for the bolded part, Vajpyee himself was called as Congress agent in Jan Sangh /BJP, to aap par aisi tohmat lag gayi to kaun si badi baat. Ham to MMS ko vote dene ka baad bhi Modi fanboy kahe jaate hain Arre, but you are a proclaimed Modi and BJP supporter. Yahan gala phat gaya cheekh cheekh ke ki bhai Congressi nahin hoon, yet I get lumped with all evils of Congress. Call me a Modi hater and I would have no issues. Waise when the choice is between Vajpayee vs Raj babbar/ Muzzafar Ali / Ram Jethmalani :facepalm: to aapke paas koi chaara bhi tha kya . Only one worthy of a vote against ABV was Dr. Karn Singh :P But, I could have voted for the opposition's de facto PM candidate(at the time I cast those votes) - Sonia Gandhi/Congress if I was a Congressi. Should have replied on that very thread. People are not supposed to know the context. In hindsight should have replied in the other thread, will try to rectify. What I mean is - you do not really need any pointing out. Andar ki awaz sunne ki zaroorat hai bas. Still too philosophical - perhaps the wine bottle from last night is still playing tricks. How many times? Modi vella hai kya?? We can keep on arguing about this till the cows come home about whether Modi was right or wrong, but there is one fact and one opinion I have: Fact: 1. Karan Thapar violated no journalistic norm in that interview. Opinion: 1. I found it extremely funny looking at tears dwelling in Modi's eyes with desperate words "Dostana Dostana Karan Bhai". Now about the fact, can you show me some proof from Mass Journalism courses from around the world implying Thapar violated any journalistic norm? About the opinion, I found it funny. There are many things about Congress leaders which people, at times me as well find funny. Why is it to be taken so seriously. If you find it funny, laugh along with me, if you don't ignore my smilies.
randomGuy Posted September 7, 2013 Posted September 7, 2013 Still too philosophical - perhaps the wine bottle from last night is still playing tricks. We can keep on arguing about this till the cows come home about whether Modi was right or wrong, but there is one fact and one opinion I have: Fact: 1. Karan Thapar violated no journalistic norm in that interview. Opinion: 1. I found it extremely funny looking at tears dwelling in Modi's eyes with desperate words "Dostana Dostana Karan Bhai". Now about the fact, can you show me some proof from Mass Journalism courses from around the world implying Thapar violated any journalistic norm? About the opinion, I found it funny. There are many things about Congress leaders which people, at times me as well find funny. Why is it to be taken so seriously. If you find it funny, laugh along with me, if you don't ignore my smilies. Thapar abused the journalistic norm and Modi used his prerogative very graciously. I certainly dint find tears in Modi but found sadness, frustration and side-by-side self-control at reacting towards Thapar's conduct. aur haan, Andar ki awaz sunne ki zaroorat hum sabhi ko hai, not just you. :)
Crookbond Posted September 7, 2013 Posted September 7, 2013 Thapar abused the journalistic norm and Modi used his prerogative very graciously. I certainly dint find tears in Modi but found sadness, frustration and side-by-side self-control at reacting towards Thapar's conduct. aur haan, Andar ki awaz sunne ki zaroorat hum sabhi ko hai, not just you. :) Which one?
The Outsider Posted September 7, 2013 Posted September 7, 2013 Thapar abused the journalistic norm and Modi used his prerogative very graciously. I certainly dint find tears in Modi but found sadness, frustration and side-by-side self-control at reacting towards Thapar's conduct. I wont argue about how you and I interpret Modi's reactions because that is a matter of opinion, but can you tell me what journalistic norm did Thapar violate and give some proper citations for it. aur haan, Andar ki awaz sunne ki zaroorat hum sabhi ko hai, not just you. :) Sabko? I thought I was the evil one? :((
Clarke Posted September 7, 2013 Posted September 7, 2013 These allegations against Modi and the Gujarat government did not pop up over the last 3 months since he was made the campaign chief. They've been around for years and we've been discussing them for years on ICF. Well take a wild guess why that pops up now but Raja Bhaiya is no big deal. No, it's pretty fecking convenient for you to label anyone who questions or criticizes Modi as a fecking Congressi, despite the fact that the person explicitly denies being one and is on record stating that he is sick of the corruption that this Congress government has been a harbinger of over the last 4 years. You are bereft of ideas about how to discuss Modi with someone who says he would vote for the BJP under a Sushsma Swaraj leadership, so it's easy to brand him as a Congressi and then attack him with all the shortfalls of the Congress government. The campaign you run against him is pretty much Congressi. On random topics like Uttarakhand, you manage to make a satan out of him and then mention names here and there of other names to appear neutral. Modi appeals to millions of educated folks and sends jitters into the Gandhi legion, so here we have Congressi fanboys targetting him day and night. Talking of Sushma Swaraj now is like Diggy Raja coming out in support of Advani once Modi took the lead, yeah that sounds very neutral. Support Congress on: 1. Minority appeasement: Can you refer me to a discussion where I've done that? You indulge into that kind of behavior personally by bringng up religion of a poster. That is ALL i need to read to spot one. 2. China encroachments: Can you refer me to a discussion where I've done that? My stance is clear - we don't have the economic, diplomatic, or military might to take on China so the best solution to their transgressions is codifying the LAC and not leave it in a state of abeyance for Aksai Chin, which if you read history was never part of India except on British maps. How is this stance dependent on Congress? Coming out for Nehru when I referred to his failures of 1962. Only a Congressi does that. 3. Pakistan killing our soldiers: I am ***** scared of the rabid dog in the neighborhood and want us to fence and tighten our borders, send covert operatives to take out key targets there, and apply diplomatic pressure rather than indulge in explicit fighting for the fear of the rabid dog using the nuclear option. How is this stance dependent on the Congress? Strictly against teaching them a lesson while they behead our soldiers; hallmark of Congressis bar Indira. 4. Wasteful expenditures: I don't see providing affordable food and fair prices for land as wasteful expenditure. How is this stance dependent on the Congress? The economy in trouble with huge deficits and here we have new dole being thrown to win votes. Foreign & domestic investment at a low and out comes a land bill that makes things worse but wins rural votes. Who loves all this ? I think most here know the answer. DM did not post the article, diga did. And what is wrong in mocking and laughing at some statements of politicians? Congress leaders are routinely made fun of on this forum and when I find it funny I join in as well. But try making fun of Modi on his chewtiyatic definition of Hindu Nationalism or his running away and crying in the Karan Thapar interview and you find yourself defending yourself against all kinds of attacks from the legion of Modi fanboyzz. I never justified his Thapar interview. You on the other hand support Congress stooges from NDTV when they interrogate foreign politicians for inviting a successful CM. Its you who's the fanboy. I don't have any issues or complex in adopting a contrary stance to the majority of the educated class. I don't solace myself in numbers, because I am not fighting an election, but I did not go Congressi. My pecking order for the upcoming elections is very clear and stated: 1. NDA without Modi as PM 2. UPA without Rahul as PM 3. UPA with Rahul as PM 4. Third Front or whatever Khichdi 5. NDA with Modi as PM So I would appreciate it if you could keep future discussions in the above realm till I make an explicit change in my stance, instead of conveniently lumping me with Congress when you are devoid of any points to advance a discussion. EDIT: The really funny part is that the only votes I've cast for Lok Sabha elections in my life have been for Vajpayee from the Lucknow seat and yet get branded as a Congressi. Haha, great! You managed to throw in some NDA at the top. Maybe you joined the INC club recently, if one is to believe you.
The Outsider Posted September 7, 2013 Posted September 7, 2013 Well take a wild guess why that pops up now but Raja Bhaiya is no big deal. Why aren't there charges against Nitish, Naveen, and Shivraj? As I said in the other thread Raja Bhaiyya was doing exactly the same thing when he was a BJP minister, and getting away with it because he has huge clout in his kshetra. The campaign you run against him is pretty much Congressi. On random topics like Uttarakhand, you manage to make a satan out of him and then mention names here and there of other names to appear neutral. Modi appeals to millions of educated folks and sends jitters into the Gandhi legion, so here we have Congressi fanboys targetting him day and night. Talking of Sushma Swaraj now is like Diggy Raja coming out in support of Advani once Modi took the lead, yeah that sounds very neutral. By all counts on actual poll evidence Congress appeals to more millions of folks over multiple elections and years. Getting degrees doesn't make you educated, when you spout things like murder is irrelevant garbage or something to that effect. Huh? You can look at the timeline of my posts to see I would prefer a Sushma Swaraj led NDA over Congress before Modi was made the campaign chief. You indulge into that kind of behavior personally by bringng up religion of a poster. That is ALL i need to read to spot one. And though I thought I was wrong, your proved me right in a few days by insinuating Muslims vote on the basis of terrorist sympathetic statements. Coming out for Nehru when I referred to his failures of 1962. Only a Congressi does that. Let's talk facts rather than rhetoric, shall we? The Aksai Chin region was marked in Indian maps inherited from the British as Indian and in Chinese maps as being part of Tibet, which they took over. Whoever set up the first camps there and built roads took the region - simple. Strictly against teaching them a lesson while they behead our soldiers; hallmark of Congressis bar Indira. Hallmark of Congress? What's the hallmark of BJP - escorting terrorists to freedom with the foreign minister, even when the hijacked plane was grounded in Indian territory for an hour? The economy in trouble with huge deficits and here we have new dole being thrown to win votes. Foreign & domestic investment at a low and out comes a land bill that makes things worse but wins rural votes. Who loves all this ? I think most here know the answer. Yeah, right! An additional 30,000 crore rupees which is already accounted for in the deficit is to blame! I never justified his Thapar interview. You on the other hand support Congress stooges from NDTV when they interrogate foreign politicians for inviting a successful CM. Its you who's the fanboy. Why shouldn't I call out foreign politicians on their lies? Haha, great! You managed to throw in some NDA at the top. Maybe you joined the INC club recently, if one is to believe you. I didn't "manage" to throw in NDA at the top - that has been my stance even before Modi was made the campaign chief. You can verify it from my posts in this very section, where I am a very active contributor, perhaps a bit too much for my liking. Now it's entirely your prerogative that you want to continue in indulging of the intellectual dishonesty of equating a Modi hater to a Congress supporter.
Crookbond Posted September 7, 2013 Posted September 7, 2013 Post the exact transcript of Thapar's question. How is that abuse of journalism? Mind you - Modi ran away after Thapar requests Modi to be remorseful.
The Outsider Posted September 7, 2013 Posted September 7, 2013 Which journalistic norm does that violate? Thapar is not calling Modi a mass murderer - he is stating a fact that people call Modi a mass murderer at his face.
randomGuy Posted September 7, 2013 Posted September 7, 2013 Post the exact transcript of Thapar's question. How is that abuse of journalism? Mind you - Modi ran away after Thapar requests Modi to be remorseful after which he runs away. "Rajeev Gandhi foundation found Gujarat to be the best administered state and India today has twice declared you the best CM, and yet despite that people to your face still call you a mass-murderer." LoL He was entitled to end the interview at that very moment if you ask me.