ChanaLal Posted May 6, 2012 Posted May 6, 2012 Delhi Daredevils fast bowler Morne Morkel said Saturday that their pace attack has blossomed under the guidance of coach Eric Simmons. "Simmons is not just a coach. He was one of the best bowling coaches and had a great time with the Indian team. :hysterical: Lemme think, one SA praising another SA, who happens to be his boss. But to say "He was one of the best bowling coaches and had a great time with the Indian team" is frankly the funniest thing I have ever read. Just because DD are doing well Simmons is suddenly the saviour? :giggle: It's just too funny
rkt.india Posted May 6, 2012 Posted May 6, 2012 It is not because Simmons but because TA Shekhar who has certainly done good job with DD bowlers this season. Simmons was there last time time as well when their bowlers were thrashed. Shekhar is executing some good methodical practice such practicing yorkers in the nets. Even commentators were praising after seeing this.
jairamesh Posted May 6, 2012 Posted May 6, 2012 Simmons is just another overrated and overpaid leeching mothafecker
saneindian Posted May 6, 2012 Posted May 6, 2012 It is not because Simmons but because TA Shekhar who has certainly done good job with DD bowlers this season. Simmons was there last time time as well when their bowlers were thrashed. Shekhar is executing some good methodical practice such practicing yorkers in the nets. Even commentators were praising after seeing this. RKT not too long ago weren't you the one saying TA Sekar isn't a fast bowler's coach, that he promotes trundlers and asks the pacers to cut down on pace focusing on line and length.
rkt.india Posted May 6, 2012 Posted May 6, 2012 RKT not too long ago weren't you the one saying TA Sekar isn't a fast bowler's coach' date=' that he promotes trundlers and asks the pacers to cut down on pace focusing on line and length.[/quote'] I can be wrong. Meri kahi har baat 16 aane sach ho aisa jaruri nahi. I had said what I had observed through his videos and his interviews, but perceptions change too. I am not rigid in that regard. It was Shekhar who had found likes of Aaron and Shukla through trials. TA Shekhar has done some good work with Irfan as well. I have seen improvements. TA Shekhar is quite good with regards to technical aspect of fast bowling. He may not teach them how to increase their pace, but can certainly work on their technical problems if he gets time to work with them as these issues are not solved overnight and takes time.
saneindian Posted May 6, 2012 Posted May 6, 2012 Good to know RKT. Said it earlier, will say it again, TA Sekar should be our bowling coach. Give him all the money in the world, poach him from his Ops head role at DD and let him work with our young bowlers.
rkt.india Posted May 6, 2012 Posted May 6, 2012 Good to know RKT. Said it earlier, will say it again, TA Sekar should be our bowling coach. Give him all the money in the world, poach him from his Ops head role at DD and let him work with our young bowlers. I would rather want him to work with young upcoming bowlers to work on their basics to refine them because if he is with Indian team he wont get much time to work. One can't work with bowlers on a tour or mid series. Coaching needs free time. We need better bowling coaches in our fast bowling academy where they can dedicate enough time to work on bowlers.
Dravid_TheWall Posted May 6, 2012 Posted May 6, 2012 It is not because Simmons but because TA Shekhar who has certainly done good job with DD bowlers this season. Simmons was there last time time as well when their bowlers were thrashed. Shekhar is executing some good methodical practice such practicing yorkers in the nets. Even commentators were praising after seeing this. You don't think other bowling coaches highlight importance of yorkers? I think people always flock to a winning team and think their coaches are magical. Shekhar is nothing special, Buchannan coached an unbeatable Aussie team. John Wright, Greg Chappell I rate highly. Greg may have poor man management so no one should hire him but tactically he knows what it takes.
Crookbond Posted May 6, 2012 Posted May 6, 2012 If I'm not mistaken TA Sekar was with the Mumbai Indians for the past 2 years.
phaedrus Posted May 6, 2012 Posted May 6, 2012 wasnt Saker with Delhi for all the years except the last?
rkt.india Posted May 7, 2012 Posted May 7, 2012 You don't think other bowling coaches highlight importance of yorkers? I think people always flock to a winning team and think their coaches are magical. Shekhar is nothing special, Buchannan coached an unbeatable Aussie team. John Wright, Greg Chappell I rate highly. Greg may have poor man management so no one should hire him but tactically he knows what it takes. Shekhar is a bowling coach, wright, chappal, buchanan are not.
rkt.india Posted May 7, 2012 Posted May 7, 2012 wasnt Saker with Delhi for all the years except the last? He was with Delhi first, then went to mumbai for two years and now back with delhi.
Clarke Posted May 7, 2012 Posted May 7, 2012 Pace 'attack' :haha: I would assume an attack's role is to sort of destroy the opposition. Do these guys plan on bowling out the other side or something with 4 slips and no mid off/on during their strenuous 2 over spells :--D
Needforspeed Posted May 7, 2012 Posted May 7, 2012 The Delhi attack did nothing much wrong last year either. It was their batting which was just a one man show of Sehwag, with Venugopal Rao chipping in occasionally. Its the batting which has really made a difference this year. And Irfan improved during the domestic season and therefore he is bowling better in the IPL.