The Narendra Modi thread  

6 members have voted

they may atleast make it possible for the BJP to get into pre poll alliance with a local party (most probably TDP) and thereby get a significant number of seats for NDA.
As we talked in the other thread, my opinion is get a big chunk by yourself. The question then is whether Modi or someone else is the right person to lead that.
As we talked in the other thread' date=' my opinion is [b']get a big chunk by yourself. The question then is whether Modi or someone else is the right person to lead that.
but we to see the reality as well and the reality is that BJP simply isn't good enough to win a big chink on its own so it desperately needs allies in some big states.
#FekuExpress was trending ahead of #Namoinhyd - now if you want you can even blame twitter for being pro-Cong :haha:
Yeah and 18K is obviously > 54K! Baki sab maaya hai. Congress walon ki choti choti khushiyan poori team laga rakhi hai Ajay maken, Shashi Tharoor, Deepender Hooda , baki ki details unnes sau tiraiji se le lein
but we to see the reality as well and the reality is that BJP simply isn't good enough to win a big chink on its own so it desperately needs allies in some big states.
Big chunk bole to single largest party by a bit of a margin, not 273. There's flexibility & time to muster the allies once you have a serious lead over INC.
Big chunk bole to single largest party by a bit of a margin' date= not 273. There's flexibility & time to muster the allies once you have a serious lead over INC.
I'm not so sure that BJP without any big allies can do that.
Check the number of tweets against each hashtag #fekuexpress 18000 in 24 hours http://topsy.com/analytics?q1=%23fekuexpress #Namoinhyd 54000 in 24 hours http://topsy.com/analytics?q1=%23namoinhyd You decide how one was trending ahead of the other!
54k>18k
Yeah and 18K is obviously > 54K! Baki sab maaya hai. Congress walon ki choti choti khushiyan poori team laga rakhi hai Ajay maken, Shashi Tharoor, Deepender Hooda , baki ki details unnes sau tiraiji se le lein
You folks do understand that Twitter's algorithms do not just consider pure numbers. If that was the case, something like Justin Bieber would trend everyday. Also, volume means very little in the world of online social media or perhaps now even in the real world.
I'm not so sure that BJP without any big allies can do that.
Yaar single largest party mein alliance kahan se aaya ? Win votes, win seats by yourself. Holding hands together on stage with ABC parties can be done later.
Yaar single largest party mein alliance kahan se aaya ? Win votes' date= win seats by yourself. Holding hands together on stage with ABC parties can be done later.
if the BJP has to win something on its own in Andhra, it needs TDP (or some other coalition partner), if it has to win substantial numbers on its own in Orissa (it won 9 seats in 1999) it needs alliance with BJD, in Bengal it needs alliance with TMC even to win anything more than 1-2, in Tamil Nadu it needs alliance with AIADMK to win anything on its own.....thats why I'm saying that for the BJP, even to win seats in these states on its own, it needs allies otherwise it has no presence in these big states. Then there is Bihar - in 1999 BJP won 23 seats on its own and then there were 15 from pre-poll ally JDU - this time I would be surprised if BJP gets more than 15 (most probably they will end up losing seats instead of gaining). So the BJP needs pre-poll allies even to win big numbers on its won because the states in which it is powerful (Gujarat, MP, Chatisgarh, Rajasthan etc) may not be enough to make BJP the single largest party.
if the BJP has to win something on its own in Andhra' date=' it needs TDP (or some other coalition partner), if it has to win substantial numbers on its own in Orissa (it won 9 seats in 1999) it needs alliance with BJD, in Bengal it needs alliance with TMC even to win anything more than 1-2, in Tamil Nadu it needs alliance with AIADMK to win anything on its own.....thats why I'm saying that for the BJP, even to win seats in these states on its own, it needs allies otherwise it has no presence in these big states. Then there is Bihar - in 1999 BJP won 23 seats on its own and then there were 15 from pre-poll ally JDU - this time I would be surprised if BJP gets more than 15 (most probably they will end up losing seats instead of gaining). So the BJP needs pre-poll allies even to win big numbers on its won because the states in which it is powerful (Gujarat, MP, Chatisgarh, Rajasthan etc) may not be enough to make BJP the single largest party.[/quote'] A statement has to be made by getting seats on your own and establishing some lead in terms of individual parties. I recall Vajpayee's fervent appeal before 2004 elections pleading for a majority and lamenting upon the problems of running a coalition. Maybe I'm hoping against hope, but a genuine & tough campaign needs to be run before going back to the numbers game and accomodating whims & fancies of all the allies.

But how many of these regional parties will enter into pre-poll alliance if Modi isnt BJP leader? Neither TDP nor ADMK wanted an alliance with BJP when Advani was the PM candidate.Same with Patnayak in Orissa. TMC hardly showed any interest in alliance with BJP even before Modi became PM canditate. Only alliance they have lost is BJD.Its not like these parties were queing upto tie up with Advani in 2004. No point comparing with 99 when BJP had Vajpayee. Honestly Advani image isnt far different from Modi when it comes to pre poll alliances

A statement has to be made by getting seats on your own and establishing some lead in terms of individual parties. I recall Vajpayee's fervent appeal before 2004 elections pleading for a majority and lamenting upon the problems of running a coalition. Maybe I'm hoping against hope' date= but a genuine & tough campaign needs to be run before going back to the numbers game and accomodating whims & fancies of all the allies.
it really would be a case of hoping against hope if you're looking for BJP to get substantial numbers on its own.
But how many of these regional parties will enter into pre-poll alliance if Modi isnt BJP leader? Neither TDP nor ADMK wanted an alliance with BJP when Advani was the PM candidate.Same with Patnayak in Orissa. TMC hardly showed any interest in alliance with BJP even before Modi became PM canditate. Only alliance they have lost is BJD.Its not like these parties were queing upto tie up with Advani in 2004. No point comparing with 99 when BJP had Vajpayee. Honestly Advani image isnt far different from Modi when it comes to pre poll alliances
this time the situation is different from 2009 - there is significant amount of public anger against the UPA because of massive corruption, price rise etc and for some reasons (maybe its because of lack of good alternatives or because Modi is the only alternative) Advani seems to have become more acceptable to many allies. I'm not saying that he should have been made the PM candidate - that would have demoralized the workers who wanted Modi BUT they could have made Modi the Poll Campaign Chief and then stated that they would be going into the elections under collective leadership and that Advani is not out of the race. Something like this could have brought more allies but this hard stance of going with Modi and Modi alone will not win any friends for the BJP.
You folks do understand that Twitter's algorithms do not just consider pure numbers. If that was the case' date=' something like Justin Bieber would trend everyday. Also, volume means very little in the world of online social media or perhaps now even in the real world.[/quote'] I am not a SM expert but do understand to an extent how these algorithms work and how they can be manipulated. BTW out of the 18K tweets generated by the Congressis, half of them must have been generated by bots with very interesting names and an anda in their profile :P tweeting the same stuff fed into the program.
if the BJP has to win something on its own in Andhra' date=' it needs TDP (or some other coalition partner), if it has to win substantial numbers on its own in Orissa (it won 9 seats in 1999) it needs alliance with BJD, in Bengal it needs alliance with TMC even to win anything more than 1-2, in Tamil Nadu it needs alliance with AIADMK to win anything on its own.....thats why I'm saying that for the BJP, even to win seats in these states on its own, it needs allies otherwise it has no presence in these big states. Then there is Bihar - in 1999 BJP won 23 seats on its own and then there were 15 from pre-poll ally JDU - this time I would be surprised if BJP gets more than 15 (most probably they will end up losing seats instead of gaining). So the BJP needs pre-poll allies even to win big numbers on its won because the states in which it is powerful (Gujarat, MP, Chatisgarh, Rajasthan etc) may not be enough to make BJP the single largest party.[/quote'] SG why don't you give your prediction for state wise break up in Outy's thread.
SG why don't you give your prediction for state wise break up in Outy's thread.
its too early for predictions. A lot of things will change from now till the elections - I'll definitely make my predictions once elections are near.
Make one right now and then change it later?
right now I can only make a very broad prediction about the result and that would be - as of now the BJP is not in a position to win more than 150 on its own whereas Cong also will decline but may still end up a little higher than the BJP. Thats on the basis of what has happened till now. I expect a lot of things to change in the weeks/months ahead.

^LOL 'Feku' beats 'NaMo' in grand tweet face-off Feku, or fibber, has become the Congress' byword for Modi ever since they first employed the term to nail his alleged exaggerations during a speech made to FICCI in April this year.

THE army of Narendra Modi's followers on Twitter was in for a rude shock on Sunday as it was virtually ambushed by Congress supporters who had a field time attacking the former's speech with such hashtags as "fekuexpress" and "yeswecant". :giggle: Feku, or fibber, has become the Congress' byword for Modi ever since they first employed the term to nail his alleged exaggerations during a speech made to FICCI in April this year. With fekuexpress, the Congress' team sought to cash in on the popularity of Chennai Express, the Shah Rukh-Deepika film that released on Friday, on Twitter. And cash in they did - #fekuexpress was the top trending topic for much of Sunday evening following Modi's speech in Hyderabad. "Yeswecan't" on the other hand was a spoof on "yes we can", the phrase Barack Obama chanted to victory in 2012 and which Modi got the audience to repeat after him as he ended his speech. As has been the case with all of Modi's speeches over the past few months, the one in Hyderabad generated a great deal of heat and dust on Twitter with pro-Modi and anti-Modi users engaging in a fierce battle on the micro-blogging site. The BJP, which has an extremely effective social media cell, began the build-up to Sunday's speech a few days in advance by posting tweets with the hashtags #Modi- InHyd and #NamoInHyd. The Congress' campaign, though, began just ahead of his speech - but still managed to steal the BJP's thunder. The anti-Modi brigade even organised a contest on Twitter, promising prizes for those who accurately guess the "tall claims" Modi would make in his speech.
http://in.news.yahoo.com/-feku--beats--namo--in-grand-tweet-face-off-120338137.html Internet Seculars 1 - Internet Hindus 0 :aetsch: