The Narendra Modi thread  

6 members have voted

Meanwhile the VHP continues to whip up communal frenzy in UP with the Chauraasi Kos yatra under the aashirwaad of Amit Shah and Modi.
:nono: Feckularism >>>>> secularism
and Akhilesh gives reservation to 20% minorities... Secularism my foot.
Typical red herring post smacking of intellectual bankruptcy. :nice:
come on yaar, Impersonating Amitabh Bachchan in his support for Modi is an act of fekularism. VHP doing Chauraasi Kos yatra allegedly under the aashirwaad of Amit Shah and Modi is an act of appeasing Hindu(internet and non-internet). Internet Hindu and fekularism are anyways used in similar context by you guys. So replying to your posts DM says: Feckularism >>>>> secularism Now Diga mentions an act of secularism(20% minority reservation) to suggest that secularism>>>>>>Fekularism . and you feel the need to call it a red herring and intellectual bankruptcy, a post which is completely in context and makes good sense. Please have a sense of respect for other posters.

The Narendra Modi thread

and Akhilesh gives reservation to 20% minorities... Secularism my foot.
Quote me where I say Akhilesh is "secular" or shut the red herring shop.
All these 3 news (VHP yatra, 20% minority reservation, Amitabh impersonation) are very recent (all have come in last 24 hrs), we are not talking about individual personalities/parties. We are talking about acts of fekularism and secularism happening in the country at this moment and saying which is worse.
then dont look everything through the prism of secularism/feckularism.. dont you think every party has a dirty tricks dept for garnering votes? If you feel my red herring posts are irritating, then your hypocrisy & calling everything as "feckular" or "internet-hindu" too is irritating
then dont look everything through the prism of secularism/feckularism.. dont you think every party has a dirty tricks dept for garnering votes? If you feel my red herring posts are irritating' date=' then your hypocrisy & calling everything as "feckular" or "internet-hindu" too is irritating[/quote'] Once you start name calling please expect to be returned the favor from time to time. Sometime the only way to get across the point is such barbs. FYI - I never called everything "fekular". I think I have made that remark a grand total of 4 time sin ICF history. If you find that irritating, I hope you find calling everything as "secular/sickular" as irritating too. If not, yes it is hypocrisy. Take some time to think over it. I don't post with the secular baaja on hazaar threads - take it up with the guys who're doing so. In fact, I don't see even 1 word of condemnation but when I retort you guys get twisted. And yes - I condemn every chewtiya ; government or non-government doesn't matter.
All these 3 news (VHP yatra' date=' 20% minority reservation, Amitabh impersonation) are very recent (all have come in last 24 hrs), we are not talking about individual personalities/parties. We are talking about acts of fekularism and secularism happening in the country at this moment and saying which is worse.[/quote'] Fair enough - but both are worse for me. We aren't a secular country but the opposite of secularism is not communalism which some people try to imply.
Fair enough - but both are worse for me. We aren't a secular country but the opposite of secularism is not communalism which some people try to imply.
For me, in this country and in this thread: Secularism = Minority appeasement The situation(of ecomony, HDI etc) that India finds itself in, is due to the so-called secularism, and this combined with what happens day-to-day in the garb of secularism is the worst that can happen to India. Your opinion may be different and I have absolutely zero problems with that. I am only saying, please do not disrespect fellow posters by calling them intellectually bankrupt (through their posts), it spoils the posting environment for everybody specially when done by an old-time poster who may even be a mod/admin. Please treat fellow posters with love and respect. I say this even when diga most likely wouldn't give a f*** about whether that person considers diga's posts as intellectually bankrupt or making profound sense.
do I care if there are some people masquerading as intellectuals and sitting in a 25acre-1gbps network neighbourhood or in some out of the place dakota land and posting crap?
I can say the same for the folks who perpetrate BS in the same of "my culture, my sanskriti, my language" as well. If you go back and read, I have not mentioned anything to diga! I have treated him with respect even when he replied with a red herring.
do I care if there are some people masquerading as intellectuals and sitting in a 25acre-1gbps network neighbourhood or in some out of the place dakota land and posting crap?
You mean to say - anyone who does not agree with your opinion is cr@p? I did not call question your intellectual capacity but I think you find it ok to question mine. Good enough but please note once I respond in the same tone do not get yourself twisted all over again. When you're ready to dish it out (secular barbs), be ready to get back some (fekular barbs) as well. PS - The comment in the Dabholkar thread was not for you. You may have realized that by now.
I can say the same for the folks who perpetrate BS in the same of "my culture, my sanskriti, my language" as well. If you go back and read, I have not mentioned anything to diga! I have treated him with respect even when he replied with a red herring.
Arre yaar, it wasn't your post that prompted my appeal. Also, what your referring to as red herring is not that, infact its a pretty sensible reply. And if we don't agree on that, its fine.
Arre yaar' date=' it wasn't your post that prompted my appeal. Also, what your referring to as red herring is not that, infact its a pretty sensible reply. And if we don't agree on that, its fine.[/quote'] See - I am not claiming that may not be wrong; I have been wrong earlier and will be in the future. Diga may have reasons to post what he did but then I have never mentioned Akhilesh as "secular" - I don't see how it was relevant to my post. Your "secular" comments may be valid but you need to direct it to the right people. Just because someone does not agree on Modi being a PM candidate does not make him secular. That's a narrow view to have in this world.
See - I am not claiming that may not be wrong; I have been wrong earlier and will be in the future. Diga may have reasons to post what he did but then I have never mentioned Akhilesh as "secular" - I don't see how it was relevant to my post. Your "secular" comments may be valid but you need to direct it to the right people. Just because someone does not agree on Modi being a PM candidate does not make him secular. That's a narrow view to have in this world.
Just as you aren't a "secular", vast majority of people who support modi for PM are not fenku, many of them aren't even religious( so can't be called internet hindu), many are critical of modi on diff. Isuues. But that's not my issue. My appeal is on the question of respect for each other and the environment that we'd like to have on this forum.

The Narendra Modi thread

Just as you aren't a "secular", vast majority of people who support modi for PM are not fenku, many of them aren't even religious( so can't be called internet hindu), many are critical of modi on diff. Isuues. But that's not my issue. My appeal is on the question of respect for each other and the environment that we'd like to have on this forum.
Right - so we shouldn't call the secular barb at every post in opposition of the government. You're spot on about the environment but it takes two to tango. I'm more than willing to contribute. I ignore things a lot of time as well. Some times I give it back - so it's all a bit of banter.

Last I checked no one claimed to be "fekular". On the other hand Congress, SP, Mayawati etc proudly claim to be "secular" and custodians of "secularism". So there is qualitative difference in "fekular" and "secular". The first is a direct pejorative, the latter a form of sarcasm.

Last I also checked, no one claimed to be "secular" here ; most people who used the word are against communalism. It was a pure barb and the baaja is on every thread. During that baaja, no one wants to go into semantics while it is promptly retorted people go into dictionary meanings. You can all SP, Maywati with any term - no one except a couple give a living feck about it but when you try to derail every fecking thread out there with the same "secular! secular! secular!" baraat be prepared to be returned the favor.

Chalo, if people have a problem with fekular let's stick to Internet Hindus - you use the internet and are a Hindu, so you are an Internet Hindu. Or fundoos? You believe in fundamentals, so you are a fundoo. Or kacchadhaaris? You wear kacchas, so you are a kacchadhaari. Disclaimer: The logic in this post was sponsored by a Hindu Nationalist.

Last I checked no one claimed to be "fekular". On the other hand Congress, SP, Mayawati etc proudly claim to be "secular" and custodians of "secularism". So there is qualitative difference in "fekular" and "secular". The first is a direct pejorative, the latter a form of sarcasm.
Bilkul, the word 'secularism'/'secular' will continue to be used for the reason you give even though real secularism in India has been abused as minority appeasement more times than not. Someone doesn't wanting to be called a 'secular' is also understandable. But Secular/Fekular is one level, calling fellow posters "intellectually bankrupt" is rude behavior, not becoming of an old-timer and/or a mod/admin, doesn't foster healthy debate and spoils the forum's environment.
I did not call the poster intellectually bankrupt, but his post smacking of intellectual bankruptcy. Please brush up on your reading comprehension skills. Now I expect you to whine about this honest advise as well.