vvvslaxman Posted July 13, 2012 Posted July 13, 2012 http://techcrunch.com/2012/07/12/android-and-ios-still-lead-in-smartphone-market-share-but-the-race-for-third-rages-on/ Nielsen released another of their periodic looks at the U.S. smartphone market today, and aside from the revelation that two-thirds of U.S. phone purchasers went for smartphones in Q2 2012, the results are as you would expect. Android still leads the pack in terms of pure penetration as of this past June, it accounts for 51.8% of smartphones in use (up from 50.4% in Q1 2012) with Apple is iOS right behind it at 34%. Dont feel too bad for Apple though, as they still have the highest manufacturer share by far (34% in Q2), with Samsung at a distant second. That those two platforms still hold first and second place shouldnt come as surprise, and their slight gains come at a cost. Nielsen has RIM still clinging to third place despite another quarterly drop, as it now accounts for 8.1% of smartphones in use. Meanwhile, the rest of the competition languishes below 5% as of Q2 2012. RIM looks like a possibility, considering it has managed to hold on to a its tenuous third, though its tough to say how their recent performance will affect this figure going forward. CEO Thorsten Heins noted during the companys somewhat contentious shareholders meeting that their current and forthcoming BlackBerry 7 devices would comprise the companys low and mid-range product tiers until it can push out a full slate of BB10 hardware next year. Still, RIM had best gird itself for a long(er) transition period, as its split focus between platforms may not do it any favors. The process of shifting users from older devices to new ones will take a considerable amount of time, especially as the company focuses on getting existing BlackBerry users to upgrade right now. Of course, Microsofts Windows Phone 8 is set to make its official debut this fall, putting it well ahead of RIMs nascent computing platform. Thats not to say a head start is all that it takes to win in a race like this theres something to be said for how well a company can capture new customers (or upgrade older ones), and Microsoft seems to have had some issues with that. Nielsens data still puts Microsofts aging Windows Mobile platform (3% of the market as of Q2 2012) ahead of the much-newer Windows Phone (1.3%). With any luck, Microsoft has learned a few things and garnered enough developer support to put Windows Phone 8 higher up in the rankings, but only time will tell whether or not either of these companies has the savvy to make real contenders of their forthcoming mobile operating systems. It is that part of the market that seems the most interesting right now, as there is still plenty of room in the market for a third strong mobile ecosystem to emerge while Apple and Google continue to slug it out. The question though is what that third platform will be, and there are no clear indicators to be found in Nielsen is data.
rkt.india Posted July 14, 2012 Posted July 14, 2012 Iphone Main disadvantages MicroSIM card support only No Flash support in the web browser No true multitasking for all applications FaceTime video calls work only over Wi-Fi No file transfer over Bluetooth or USB Mass Storage mode (independent from iTunes) No FM radio No stereo speakers No microSD card slot Non-user-replaceable battery Siri still a beta, location services not enabled outside US Stuck with iTunes for loading content and still it rules.. Galaxy S3 Main disadvantages All-plastic body of dubious aesthetics No dedicated camera key microSIM slot S Voice is hardly as functional as ads might make you believe
Guest Posted July 14, 2012 Posted July 14, 2012 micro Sim is not a disadvantage anymore..u can replace existing sim with microsim [this is what Airtel customer care rep told me] except Nokia and Sony xperia i dont think any other manufactures offers dedicated camera button S voice is useless.... Face time - it will come to 3G in iOS 6... itunes is pathetic..Kies is horrible
Crookbond Posted July 14, 2012 Posted July 14, 2012 Flash support is no longer a disadvantage as Adobe itself will discontinue Flash support for mobile devices. :cantstop:
DomainK Posted July 14, 2012 Posted July 14, 2012 Iphone Main disadvantages MicroSIM card support only No Flash support in the web browser No true multitasking for all applications FaceTime video calls work only over Wi-Fi No file transfer over Bluetooth or USB Mass Storage mode (independent from iTunes) No FM radio No stereo speakers No microSD card slot Non-user-replaceable battery Siri still a beta, location services not enabled outside US Stuck with iTunes for loading content and still it rules.. Galaxy S3 Main disadvantages All-plastic body of dubious aesthetics No dedicated camera key microSIM slot S Voice is hardly as functional as ads might make you believe Some of the disadvantages are serious. Especially the dependence on itunes. However, people are still awed by the brand value Apple generated at the launch of iPhone. They have created a loyal cosnsumer base called iDiots.
Guest Posted July 14, 2012 Posted July 14, 2012 Some of the disadvantages are serious. Especially the dependence on itunes. However' date= people are still awed by the brand value Apple generated at the launch of iPhone. They have created a loyal cosnsumer base called iDiots. with icloud and OTA software upgradtion depnding on itunes reduced for large extent... even Samsung is going the iTunes way by introducing Kies software...
rkt.india Posted July 14, 2012 Posted July 14, 2012 with icloud and OTA software upgradtion depnding on itunes reduced for large extent... even Samsung is going the iTunes way by introducing Kies software... No Flash support in the web browser No true multitasking for all applications No file transfer over Bluetooth or USB Mass Storage mode No FM radio No stereo speakers No microSD card slot These are some serious disadvantages.
Guest Posted July 14, 2012 Posted July 14, 2012 No Flash support in the web browser No true multitasking for all applications No file transfer over Bluetooth or USB Mass Storage mode No FM radio No stereo speakers No microSD card slot These are some serious disadvantages. as mclenly posted Flash is no longer supported in new versions..HTML all the way FM radio is not a big concern for all Stereo speaker - again individual preference - most phone and tablets are still in Mono audio MicroSD & USB connection are 2 of the major issues [but as a iPad owner very rarely felt i am missing these] True multitasking - a concern but managable
DomainK Posted July 14, 2012 Posted July 14, 2012 ^ I would be personally very unhappy with the lack of Bluetooth and USB file transfer facilities. Also I would want FM radio, I am used to it.
rkt.india Posted July 14, 2012 Posted July 14, 2012 Iphone 4S screen is made by LG, 8 mp camera is made by Sony.
rkt.india Posted July 14, 2012 Posted July 14, 2012 as mclenly posted Flash is no longer supported in new versions..HTML all the way FM radio is not a big concern for all Stereo speaker - again individual preference - most phone and tablets are still in Mono audio MicroSD & USB connection are 2 of the major issues [but as a iPad owner very rarely felt i am missing these] True multitasking - a concern but managable Stereo speakers, bluetooth, USB file transfer....very important part of a mobile...
Guest Posted July 14, 2012 Posted July 14, 2012 Stereo speakers' date=' bluetooth, USB file transfer....very important part of a mobile...[/quote'] depends...i never missed these...
Guest Posted July 14, 2012 Posted July 14, 2012 Iphone 4S screen is made by LG' date=' 8 mp camera is made by Sony.[/quote'] screen?
rkt.india Posted July 14, 2012 Posted July 14, 2012 depends...i never missed these... USB file transfer to bahut important hai yaar...but you have Galaxy S3 not Iphone, I guess.
Sachin=GOD Posted July 14, 2012 Posted July 14, 2012 ^ I would be personally very unhappy with the lack of Bluetooth and USB file transfer facilities. Also I would want FM radio' date= I am used to it. ++
Guest Posted July 14, 2012 Posted July 14, 2012 USB file transfer to bahut important hai yaar...but you have Galaxy S3 not Iphone' date=' I guess.[/quote'] dont have iPhone but have iPad...never felt the transfer issues are too important...using everyday for last 16/17 months S3 i bought couple of weeks back..great phone have all these things u emntioned but i am not depending on them.. why i mentioned is its not that big a deal as people made it out..initially i thought same but later realized after reguler use that its not a big drawback...[iPad work as well it worked a year abck,no lag,no crashing,no battery issues etc] but i can see little bit of lag in S3...definitely its a software thing...
rkt.india Posted July 14, 2012 Posted July 14, 2012 dont have iPhone but have iPad...never felt the transfer issues are too important...using everyday for last 16/17 months S3 i bought couple of weeks back..great phone have all these things u emntioned but i am not depending on them.. why i mentioned is its not that big a deal as people made it out..initially i thought same but later realized after reguler use that its not a big drawback...[iPad work as well it worked a year abck,no lag,no crashing,no battery issues etc] but i can see little bit of lag in S3...definitely its a software thing... S3 is too big, isn't it? I guess there is not much difference in both S2 and S3 apart from size and processors capacity and S voice. S2 is better looking too though both are of plastic.
Guest Posted July 14, 2012 Posted July 14, 2012 S3 is too big' date=' isn't it? I guess there is not much difference in both S2 and S3 apart from size and processors capacity and S voice. S2 is better looking too though both are of plastic.[/quote'] i dont feel it big...one of main reason i bought it for the screen, ideal for Internet... as for aesthetics if u hold the phone in hand u dont feel disspointed in pictures it dont look great though its not ony screen..LED notificaion light,better Camera,Better Audio,Better battery etc comapre to S2... as for as S voice and other software additions it can be ported to S2 using custom rom's
rkt.india Posted July 14, 2012 Posted July 14, 2012 i dont feel it big...one of main reason i bought it for the screen, ideal for Internet... as for aesthetics if u hold the phone in hand u dont feel disspointed in pictures it dont look great though its not ony screen..LED notificaion light,better Camera,Better Audio,Better battery etc comapre to S2... as for as S voice and other software additions it can be ported to S2 using custom rom's I have seen it in real and I found it a bit big. it is very slim though screen is stupendous, PenTile matrix, could have been even better without PenTile, half an inch increased from S2. It has HD screen in comparison to S2. S2 has super AMOLED plus though.