CoverDrive Posted July 19, 2012 Posted July 19, 2012 I do not support this for a variety of reasons. normally i would keep cricket separate from state affairs but this is a serious issue. My blood boils on thinking about what our people had to endure at the hands of terrorist who were silently or actively supported by Pak establishment (listen to the phone conversations the terrorists had with their handlers and you will not stop yourself from hating these people). Pakistan would no doubt deny it but almost all indians and importantly the government is convinced of this. In this climate why would you want our govt. to support this faced pak establishment in anything. I love cricket but in this case it has to take a back seat. South Africa was banned for years for the policies its govt. followed and I see no reasons why Indians should not have the same feelings about Pakistan. I am all for peace but we cannot remain fools and we have to set tough conditions for Pakistan to hand over terrorists like Dawood and Hafiz Saeed and many more before we even think about engaging in any sort of relationship with them.
Needforspeed Posted July 19, 2012 Posted July 19, 2012 http://www.rediff.com/news/slide-show/slide-show-1-column-cricket-with-pakistan-have-we-forgotten-26-11/20120718.htm Cricket with Pakistan? Have we forgotten 26/11? A Ganesh Nadar In December, when the Pakistani team takes to the field in India to play what is known as the gentleman's game, the nation would have barely finished mourning the loss of 166 lives in the bloody carnage unleashed by terrorists in Mumbai on November 26, 2008. Would you call the Pakistanis involved in the attack gentlemen? We have one Pakistani in jail to prove that they were sent by from across our western border. India has repeatedly said that "State actors" in Pakistan were behind 26/11, so it was not as if on one November morning a clutch of Pakistanis by themselves decided to take the high seas to come to India and launch a deadly attack. We have in custody an Indian trained in Pakistan (who is also part of the 26/11 conspiracy), who gives the names of Pakistan's Inter Services Intelligence officials as his trainers. And what are we going to do about it? We are going to play cricket with that other nation from where the terrorists came. Do you know that constable Tukaram Omble, who sacrificed his life to save his comrades, city and nation to nab Kasab alive, has left behind a widow and three children? What will his children do when they see India playing Pakistan on television? Will they not be heart-broken? Do we have any shame or any semblance of humanity to condemn a nation which was behind the killing of 166 people and thus damaged beyond repair their families who are still to come to terms with their loss? Instead of condemning Pakistan, we are going to play cricket with them! Do you know that the bloodstains at CST took a week to finally wear off? Do you know that the bullet holes in Leopold Cafe have not been repaired in memory of the people who were gunned down there? Do you know that at Chabad house, the Israeli priest was tortured before being killed? His child is still being looked after by an Indian maid. Will you tell the child that we have forgiven and forgotten all and are going to play cricket with the nation that was behind the killing of your parents? A taxi exploded at Vile Parle on 26/11 night. Do you know that the cab driver left behind a young pregnant widow and three sons then? The fourth son has never seen his father while the other three barely remember him. Will you care to explain to the young widow, who hails from a small village in Uttar Pradesh, why we are going to play cricket? Will you tell the children that we are going to teach a lesson to the Pakistanis who tutored Ajmal Kasab to plant a bomb in their father's taxi by beating them in cricket? The Pakistanis must be laughing at us. They must be saying, "Yeh kya buzdil hain, saalon ko maaro, bomb karo, laath maaro, phir bhi cricket khelna chahte hai... (See these cowards, beat them, bomb them, kick them... and yet they want to play cricket.)" Dr Manmohan Singh, Sikhs are said to be like lions. Be the lion of Punjab, the lion of our country. For once, dear sir, I beg of you please, I can hear the shrieks of the dead souls, can't you?
Sarkar Posted July 19, 2012 Posted July 19, 2012 Manmohan Singh and Bishen Singh Bedi would be more worried if the attacks took place in Punjab than Mumbai lions of India yea right the spineless prime minister India ever had.
Sarkar Posted July 19, 2012 Posted July 19, 2012 Former India captain Bishan Singh Bedi expressed similar sentiments yesterday after the BCCI announced that a limited overs series will be held in December and stressed: “It is important that cricket and politics are separated. It is very sad that politicians from both sides kept the country divided in 1947. “Cricket is a binding factor and more than anything else, the present generation and the generations to come deserve to witness the excitement of India playing Pakistan on a cricket field. We shouldn’t deprive them of that. A lot many Pakistanis would have not seen Sachin Tendulkar in another couple of years’ time for no fault of theirs.” The 2008 terror attacks in Mumbai forced the suspension of bilateral cricket. “I have all the sympathy for whatever happened in 26/11 for Mumbaites. But as a cricketer, I have limitations. There is nothing I can do about it honestly. That is for the ministers, politicians and home ministers in Pakistan to sort out,” said Bedi. Never-ending issues Bedi went back in time — even before Partition. “Vijay Merchant was deprived of not seeing Sir Donald Bradman. He wanted Bradman to come and have dinner with him. Although Bradman was at the Port in Bombay, he didn’t come out because he had some medical problem. I am going way back, but in all fairness, these issues like Kashmir and terrorism will carry on. They are never-ending. Now, these issues were not created by the cricketers were they? So let the politicians solve their issues and let cricketers give vent to their prowess and talent. Both nations will look forward to this.” Bedi was captain when both countries resumed cricket ties for the first time in 1978 after a 17-year gap. India lost that series in Pakistan and it didn’t conclude without controversy. In the third one-day international at Sahiwal, Bedi conceded the match after his batsmen were pelted with persistent short balls. Replying to Pakistan’s 205 in a 40-over match, India were 183 for 2 in the 38th over. Bedi was in no mood to dwell on that tour. “That was a different situation altogether. Ours was a goodwill tour to Pakistan. I was really looking forward to it until I went there and whatever happened happened… I don’t wish to recollect that tour. This is a different moment,” said Bedi. Political parties oppose resumption Political parties, Congress and Shiv Sena opposed the resumption of Indo-Pak cricket ties. “There should not be any difference between what people feel and what the BCCI decides,” said Maharashtra Congress chief Manikrao Thakre. Shiv Sena leader Ramdas Kadam said: “We should consider only after Pakistan clears its policy on international terrorism.” — Agencies Pak welcomes cricket revival Former Pakistani cricketers and the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) welcomed the revival of sub-continental cricketing ties. Pakistan great Zaheer Abbas said: “People in Pakistan are very happy. The best way to forget all our problems is to play and watch sports. They are all eagerly waiting for the contest.” Former captain Aamer Sohail said: “It is great news that the ice between the two boards has melted.” PCB chief Zaka Ashraf in Lahore said: “The decision is great and we welcome it. Millions of cricket fans have their wishes fulfilled.” http://www.mid-day.com/sports/2012/jul/170712-Politics-and-cricket-must-stay-separated-Bedi.htm
Laaloo Posted July 19, 2012 Posted July 19, 2012 Every patroitic thread is getting closed That's why make sure u dont instigate people in this thread. Keep it clean.
Cricket Tragic Posted July 19, 2012 Posted July 19, 2012 Every patroitic thread is getting closed :cantstop:
Sarkar Posted July 19, 2012 Posted July 19, 2012 Sarkar' date=' I like your avatar :agree:[/quote'] Sher ko pinjare band karna muskhil nahin naa mum kin .
Laaloo Posted July 19, 2012 Posted July 19, 2012 Sher ko pinjare band karna muskhil nahin naa mum kin .
Sarkar Posted July 19, 2012 Posted July 19, 2012 @ Laloo Mera Avtaar dekho Kitna venegance hai us mein
Laaloo Posted July 19, 2012 Posted July 19, 2012 @ Laloo Mera Avtaar dekho Kitna venegance hai us mein kuch vengeance nahin hai lagta hai ki sher apne bacche ke saath khel raha hai khule maidan mein :P
Sarkar Posted July 19, 2012 Posted July 19, 2012 @ laloo door se samundar bahut shaant dikta hai agar paas jaogi us samundar ka tide kitna tez aata hai tujhe pata chalega.
Laaloo Posted July 19, 2012 Posted July 19, 2012 Mere piche piche divya bharati aayegi? (P.S. I know she's dead) 2vqiWgEZZwo
ravishingravi Posted July 19, 2012 Posted July 19, 2012 I say Yes, only because I think people overestimate the importance of cricket. It is circus esp. with our current set of players. It is commerce.
Ultimate_Game Posted July 19, 2012 Posted July 19, 2012 How come you can't see voting on the poll, i.e. who voted for which option?
Laaloo Posted July 19, 2012 Posted July 19, 2012 How come you can't see voting on the poll' date=' i.e. who voted for which option?[/quote'] because the OP made a private poll and not a public one
Ultimate_Game Posted July 19, 2012 Posted July 19, 2012 because the OP made a private poll and not a public one Didn't know there was such an option. By the way is the default setting private or public coz when I create a poll I never change any of the default settings?
Cricket Tragic Posted July 19, 2012 Posted July 19, 2012 Didn't know there was such an option. By the way is the default setting private or public coz when I create a poll I never change any of the default settings? Default setting is private. Most people just forget/can't be bothered making it public.
Ultimate_Game Posted July 19, 2012 Posted July 19, 2012 Default setting is private. Most people just forget/can't be bothered making it public. Thanks! I used to do the same as well :)