Its the decision to bowl first...

Ram

I'd ask you to suggest the names. Selectors will do what they are doing. If you don't like it, then suggest a full remedy.
Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma to replace Ganguly and Tendulkar to start with. RD still has some life left .... and is versatile (i.e can bat anywhere). SRT is only happy when he opens. Ganguly is a waste of space and is there due to the Effigy makers. If we have to loose I would rather lsose with youngsters. Atleast they havce an upside!
The much reviled waste of space is averaging 56, over 17 games, since his comeback.

Guys n Gals, SRT and SG have to go from the ODIs. We need to try yengsters (not youngsters, but YENGsters as per our great Javagal Srinath aka Javelin-ji), Rohit Sharma and I would suggest Manoj Tiwary after he comes back. Forget these Maharathis for ODIs. RD has some life, but even he I suggest should be replaced by a more agile batsman. Abhi Jhunjhunwala too should be watched for, but hope the ICL thingy does not cause confusion.

The much reviled waste of space is averaging 56' date=' over 17 games, since his comeback.[/quote'] whats the point of having that average when you cant win a game for your team and 56 at a strike rate of
The much reviled waste of space is averaging 56' date=' over 17 games, since his comeback.[/quote'] Assuming you are talking ODI's ... Can u also tell me what his strike rate has been? Better yet, what his strike rate has been in those games wrt to others in the team? See (and I will post an article by Prem Panicker on this too), as the age catches up with these maharathis thats what goes first. They can still grit it out but they dont have the same ability to accerate. In the WC, SG gritted out 61 but ate up 129 balls. With our bowling u cant win with 200 on the board! Even against Bermuda he was the slowest of the lot (his 80 was in what 111 balls?). Even on his return series against WI in India he scored but was consistently the slowest being out striked by the likes Of Dosaman and even Dravid!
Guest BossBhai

-- Removed on request of the user --

CP have you met ====> and her/its cronies ? :P Since you are still alive Iam assuming you havent :D
Kya miyan kiski baat kar rahe ho? Aur humko jo maar sake Gangulians main dum nahin Ganguly ka bhaanda fodne main , hum kisi se kam nahin!
Guest BossBhai

This is unlike any normal Gangulian you may have encountered in the past .... but fikar not you ... it is banned from here.
I can imagine CP's expression is like that of Obelix when Asterix tells him that the big boar is not around anymore.Cmon get those ==> on board for some Obelix like bashing :D Nothing like Gangulian wars :-) Obelix's eyes light up on seeing a boar or better a ROMAN!!!
Guest BossBhai

you will have to trust us on this one finey ..... it took nothing short of a Kalki-esque avatar to save our collective butts .... this is one pest you dont want within 100 miles :giggle:
Ok bheem bhai. But, many of us have had epic battles with FB, and we have successfully prevailed over the very personal abuses he will throw at DG members :regular_smile: But will trust you on ==> BTW - why that symbol ==> for Anu_D?
Assuming you are talking ODI's ... Can u also tell me what his strike rate has been? Better yet, what his strike rate has been in those games wrt to others in the team? See (and I will post an article by Prem Panicker on this too), as the age catches up with these maharathis thats what goes first. They can still grit it out but they dont have the same ability to accerate. In the WC, SG gritted out 61 but ate up 129 balls. With our bowling u cant win with 200 on the board! Even against Bermuda he was the slowest of the lot (his 80 was in what 111 balls?). Even on his return series against WI in India he scored but was consistently the slowest being out striked by the likes Of Dosaman and even Dravid!
His SR has been 73. Exactly same as his career strike rate. Atleast we've got SOMEONE who is scoring runs and consistently at that.
Guest BossBhai

His SR has been 73. Exactly same as his career strike rate. Atleast we've got SOMEONE who is scoring runs and consistently at that.
His career started in 1996... prospered in late 90's very early 00's .... In those days in ODI's a par score was 240-250. Anything over 250 got into the realm of safe. Today in ODI's par score is 280-290. Teams repeatedly and successfully chase down 300+ scores. The game has become a lot more aggressive. Where a SR of 73 was good in the past, today (specially playing on some very patta wickets) AND opening the innings it is indeed rather poor. You really need an opener to have a SR in the 90's. So 73 by todays standards is rather poor. By today's openers standards it is absymal!
I agree that 73 is below par but what do you do when you don't have anyone else performing in a lineup as consistently as the batsman who is giving you an average of 56 runs every game? You simply cannot drop your most consistent bat. Either find people who give you 45 at 80+ consistently or let him play.