DomainK Posted September 9, 2012 Posted September 9, 2012 GOI is bringing in a proposal to force all husbands to pay monthly salaries to their housewives (who do not have any personal income). http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/homemakers-to-get-salaries-according-to-new-govt-proposal/1/216645.html Even though the WCD is very excited by this, I totally fail to see how exactly it is going to lift the housewife's position in the society. AFAIK currently whatever the husband earns, wife has an equal right on it. All the property acquired by either husband or wife during the course of a marriage is considered community property, which means that both are considered equal owners. However, this proposal is going to give the wife the status of a salaried employee. This proposal actually makes the wife's status subservient to the husband. Besides, is the government looking to tax the same income twice? Is it an effin joke?
yoda Posted September 9, 2012 Posted September 9, 2012 Yes, best way to empower women is to make them employees of their own husbands. :giggle:
Desi Cartman Posted September 9, 2012 Posted September 9, 2012 Will they have to pay tax ? Who pays for the kids upbringing ? Can they get a raise ? Do they get bonuses for A+ performance? Can they have sex with their employer ? Oh man, I can keep going :hysterical:
Ram Posted September 9, 2012 Posted September 9, 2012 These people are about a 100 years late to catch on to the concept - I believe there is already a term in most Indian households for women (or in some cases, men) being paid a monthly 'stipend' for the services they offer - House maid/domestic help. And what about men then? Do they also not work hard, go to work every day and earn a salary that sustains the household? I think there's an extremely strong case for the men paying themselves also. :dontknow: Are these people from the Women and Child development ministry even effin serious? We have a 1000 real problems to solve and here they are coming up with what can best be termed as comic relief? Who are these people? :mad:
Tiger80 Posted September 9, 2012 Posted September 9, 2012 The question is what will income tax do? If husband earn 1 Lakh per month and he give wife 50,000 ,then will this income be taxable as 50,000 to both or husband will be the only taxpayer
Crookbond Posted September 9, 2012 Posted September 9, 2012 What if the woman earns and the man does not? :hmmm:
Stuge Posted September 9, 2012 Posted September 9, 2012 have they gone mad :facepalm:.. taxing the same income again and again ..
Lurker Posted September 10, 2012 Posted September 10, 2012 Will they have to pay tax ? Who pays for the kids upbringing ? Can they get a raise ? Do they get bonuses for A+ performance? Can they have sex with their employer ? Oh man, I can keep going :hysterical: That really was your first question, wasnt it
Desi Cartman Posted September 10, 2012 Posted September 10, 2012 That really was your first question' date=' wasnt it [/quote'] Yes :secret: I mean really it was, I had to come up with few other points to make it look like its one of the questions :giggity:
jusarrived Posted September 10, 2012 Posted September 10, 2012 Cool , fire the maid and the cook ...and pay that amount to wives .
Lurker Posted September 10, 2012 Posted September 10, 2012 Yes :secret: I mean really it was, I had to come up with few other points to make it look like its one of the questions Oh I absolutely knew that. Was funny to see you trying to make it legitimate-like with genuine questions :cantstop: Now can you have employee-employer have sex at the work place? :secret:
bangladeshifan Posted September 10, 2012 Posted September 10, 2012 Oh I absolutely knew that. Was funny to see you trying to make it legitimate-like with genuine questions :cantstop: Now can you have employee-employer have sex at the work place? :secret: i dont mind paying my wife then :D
DomainK Posted September 11, 2012 Author Posted September 11, 2012 i dont mind paying my wife then :D Paying for sex, it's illegal you know.:winky: So basically the husband gets no sex.
gaurav92 Posted September 11, 2012 Posted September 11, 2012 WTF ! :facepalm: Double taxation on the same income
Mariyam Posted September 11, 2012 Posted September 11, 2012 This obviously has both pros and cons. GOI is bringing in a proposal to force all husbands to pay monthly salaries to their housewives (who do not have any personal income). http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/homemakers-to-get-salaries-according-to-new-govt-proposal/1/216645.html Even though the WCD is very excited by this, I totally fail to see how exactly it is going to lift the housewife's position in the society. AFAIK currently whatever the husband earns, wife has an equal right on it. All the property acquired by either husband or wife during the course of a marriage is considered community property, which means that both are considered equal owners. What equal right does the wife have on her husbands earnings? What if the husband refuses to give his wife a portion of that money? Can the wife approach a court claiming her fundamental right in the marriage was denied? Community property? What do you mean by that? Both are equal owners only in the titular sense. I think only the legal owner can lease or sell the said property. However, this proposal is going to give the wife the status of a salaried employee. This proposal actually makes the wife's status subservient to the husband. Besides, is the government looking to tax the same income twice? Is it an effin joke? I don't think the same income would be taxed twice. Women have a higher minimum tax income and the husbands shouldn't be dumb enough to exceed that limit for the year. :cantstop: This scheme may not be that bad. It would probably make a difference in rural areas, where the wife isn't educated and is completely dependent on her husband.
Aaku Posted September 11, 2012 Posted September 11, 2012 Yes :secret: I mean really it was, I had to come up with few other points to make it look like its one of the questions :giggity: :giggle:
Tiger80 Posted September 11, 2012 Posted September 11, 2012 I don't think the same income would be taxed twice. Women have a higher minimum tax income and the husbands shouldn't be dumb enough to exceed that limit for the year. Now the rate of income tax is same This scheme may not be that bad. It would probably make a difference in rural areas, where the wife isn't educated and is completely dependent on her husband. Do you really think that women in rural area will approach court? Court in India is seen as last resort and that too when matter is very serious .Hardly anybody will approach the court for this matter
Mariyam Posted September 11, 2012 Posted September 11, 2012 Now the rate of income tax is same :yay: Gender equality. DK will be very happy to know of this. :P Do you really think that women in rural area will approach court? Court in India is seen as last resort and that too when matter is very serious .Hardly anybody will approach the court for this matter You are right on this count. They wouldn't approach the court unless they are aware that such a provision exists.
Tiger80 Posted September 11, 2012 Posted September 11, 2012 You are right on this count. They wouldn't approach the court unless they are aware that such a provision exists. No even if women know they wouldn,t approach the court unless the situation is very serious like husband spending all money on alcohol etc or husband is some filthy rich guy from which they can extract large amount when their relation is not good.We have so many doomestic voilence provisions and with lot of TV serials educating women about their legal rights yet domestic voilence is still very much their and women hardly report it or go to court. Bhagwan Police station , court aur hospital kaa muh to dushman ko bhi naa dikhai (guess the film)