carnish Posted April 12, 2013 Posted April 12, 2013 Hey Guys, I will be in Delhi for 4 days and I want to visit all tourist places in the city. Please help me by telling me which are the places nearby that I can cover on a particular day so that I wont have to travel too much and waste my time and money. The places I want to visit are Rajghat, Gandhi Darshan, Gandhi Smriti, Rastrapathi Bhawan, Sansad Bhavan, India Gate, Lodhi Gardens, Akshardham Temple, Lotus Temple, Chattarpur Temple, Delhi Haat, Tibet House, Dolls Museum , Rail Museum, Iskcon Mandir, Red Fort, Rose Gardens, Laxmi Narayan Mandir, Mughal Gardens, National Museum, Independence Movement Museum, Qutub Minar, Jain Mandir, Humayun's Tomb, Gauri Shankar Mandir, Jama Masjid, Gurudwara Bangla Sahib, Connaught Place, Jantar Mantar, Tughlaqabad Fort, Purana Quila, Safdarjung's Tomb. I will hire a car and hence will save some time and hence hope I can make it to all of these places in the four days on my hand. Please Help.
vayuu1 Posted April 12, 2013 Posted April 12, 2013 I think it's better if u use metro coz traffic in Delhi can really be .P.I.T.A
King Tendulkar Posted April 12, 2013 Posted April 12, 2013 I think it's better if u use metro coz traffic in Delhi can really be .P.I.T.A Its going to be hot. Metro is ok. But if not know way around... AC Car is best. Lots of these places are not that near metros
carnish Posted April 12, 2013 Author Posted April 12, 2013 I am staying with a friend. But he has his office and hence, I will be travelling alone except for on a Sunday, when he will come with me. But he too is actually new to Delhi and lives somewhere in Karol Bagh. He doesn't know about many places and hence I am here asking you guys to help me. I want to visit all the places i listed in the OP and I need you to tell me which places are near to which so that I can group them for visiting in one day. I in all will have only 4 days and hope to see all of it. BTW, I will be taking an AC Private Car which I will rent as travelling by Metro in the heat would be a bad option, I guess.
Pagalpanti Posted April 12, 2013 Posted April 12, 2013 I used pvt car the last time which was a big mistake, just too much travel time. Metro is the best way to travel around delhi because distances between tourists spots is just too big and if you gotta cover them in 4 days, it will be tough.
Crookbond Posted April 12, 2013 Posted April 12, 2013 Carnish, If you need any help please PM me - I can give you my number. Enjoy your tour! Must visit places - Akshardham (this will take a whole day though), Jama Masjid/Chandni Chowk/Red Fort, Qutub Minar.
Crookbond Posted April 12, 2013 Posted April 12, 2013 Agra will take you 1 day and Akshardham will take you 1 day. Agra you should use a private care. Please check here to visit near by places to Agra - http://wikitravel.org/en/Agra Akshardham you should use a metro - there will be a direct (I suppose?) train from Karol Bagh to Akshardham station. The rest 2 days you should do for Chandni Chowk, Red Fort, Jama Masjid, Qutub Minar. In case you are are a connoisseur of non-vegetarian food please visit Karim's - http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g304551-d815173-Reviews-Karim_s-New_Delhi_National_Capital_Territory_of_Delhi.html
King Tendulkar Posted April 12, 2013 Posted April 12, 2013 Red Fort is quite shabby these days. Poorly maintained, dirty , rubbish etc. I wouldnt bother going in, take pics from outside Qutub minar is well kept and worth seeing. Around 40 mins drive from central delhi.
carnish Posted April 12, 2013 Author Posted April 12, 2013 Thanks Everyone. My Plans are set now. Have cut down on a many places which I intend to see on my next visit. 1 Day trip to Agra and 1 Full Day at Akshardham as suggested by DM. Will Visit Rajghat, Rajpath, Lodhi Gardens, Rose Gardens, Qutub Minar, Jama Masjid, Lotus Temple, Chattarpur Temple, Tibet House and Dolls Musuem. Will try to fit in Rail Museum and Crafts Museum if I get time.
Clarke Posted April 12, 2013 Posted April 12, 2013 I am from Delhi, go back to where you came from :finger:
Desi Cartman Posted April 12, 2013 Posted April 12, 2013 Basically there isnt much to see but few things which you might are : South delhi - Quatab minar , Lotus temple Other places - Red fort , Akshardham temple (never been there but heard its good) 1 or 2 days trip to Agra is worth it and make sure you drink plenty of water as some people get heat strokes when they are visiting forts.
punjabi_khota Posted April 12, 2013 Posted April 12, 2013 Try mygola.com for this. They will help you plan.