Sreesanth, Chandilla and Ankit Chavan arrested for spot fixing in IPL

I'm not sure why so many people are surprised. After RP Singh's no ball and Pollard's dropped catches, it would have been very obvious. There were so many comments in the match threads on doubtful bowling. Look at the CBI in the hands of congress. The government uses CBI to threaten SP and BSP into supporting them. This case might have had origins where someone wants to settle scores against Sreesanth. It's also a way for Delhi police to divert all the bashing that they got for handling the rape cases. Many of the suspicions mentioned in this link are dodgy. http://www.khelnama.com/130516/cricket/features/whypl-dodgy-ten-ipl/9138 To imagine that Delhi Police, instead of going after these names, went after the RR trio, is fishy. No doubt Sreesanth and the other two guys have to be banned for life. But if they give clean chit to others, this will soon be forgotten and IPL fixing will continue into next year. Anyway, after that RP Singh incident, I am interested only in the fantasy league. :--D

Sreesanth's father apologizes to Dhoni, Harbhajan Kerala speedster S Sreesanth's father Shantakumaran Nair on Thursday retracted from his earlier allegation that captain MS Dhoni and spinner Harbhajan Singh had implicated his son in the match-fixing scandal and issued an apology to them. "It was an emotional outburst of a father. I am really sorry for that. We are in the dark about what really happened," he said after watching the tapes released by the Delhi police. He also tendered an apology to the cricket-lovers of the country for inviting a bad name to the game. "I managed to talk to Sree this evening. He stoutly denied the charges raised by the Delhi police. He told me he would be the last person to disown the game like this," said his mother Savithri Devi. Meanwhile Jiju Janardhanan's father K Janardhanan said his son and Sreesanth knew each other from their MRF Pace Foundation days in Chennai. "Though he represented Under 14 and 19 in Gujarat, Jiju couldn't make big in the sport. We have been helping him financially all these days. If he had committed any crime he deserved punishment also," Janardhanan, a resident of Kannur (north Kerala), said. Delhi police had claimed that Jiju was the main conduit between spot-fixers and Sreesanth http://www.hindustantimes.com/Specials/Cricket/T20/Chunk-HT-UI-T20-SpotFixing/Sreesanth-s-father-apologizes-to-Dhoni-Harbhajan/SP-Article10-1060900.aspx

Sreesanth's father apologizes to Dhoni' date= Harbhajan Kerala speedster S Sreesanth's father Shantakumaran Nair on Thursday retracted from his earlier allegation that captain MS Dhoni and spinner Harbhajan Singh had implicated his son in the match-fixing scandal and issued an apology to them. "It was an emotional outburst of a father. I am really sorry for that. We are in the dark about what really happened," he said after watching the tapes released by the Delhi police. He also tendered an apology to the cricket-lovers of the country for inviting a bad name to the game. "I managed to talk to Sree this evening. He stoutly denied the charges raised by the Delhi police. He told me he would be the last person to disown the game like this," said his mother Savithri Devi. Meanwhile Jiju Janardhanan's father K Janardhanan said his son and Sreesanth knew each other from their MRF Pace Foundation days in Chennai. "Though he represented Under 14 and 19 in Gujarat, Jiju couldn't make big in the sport. We have been helping him financially all these days. If he had committed any crime he deserved punishment also," Janardhanan, a resident of Kannur (north Kerala), said. Delhi police had claimed that Jiju was the main conduit between spot-fixers and Sreesanth http://www.hindustantimes.com/Specials/Cricket/T20/Chunk-HT-UI-T20-SpotFixing/Sreesanth-s-father-apologizes-to-Dhoni-Harbhajan/SP-Article10-1060900.aspx
The apple doesn't fall far from the tree. Loser wanted to grab some headlines.
CNN-IBN News ‏@ibnlive 6h Ganguly on #spotfixing: I played during an era of Tendulkar, Dravid, Dhoni, Sehwag, VVS, Kumble and you can't put a finger on them.

Thousands of crores is going into the betting business. http://www.hindustantimes.com/Specials/Cricket/T20/Chunk-HT-UI-T20-DontMiss/Big-bets-crime-at-play-this-T20-season/SP-Article10-1060729.aspx

Season 6 is expected to witness betting to the tune of Rs. 45,000 crore — Rs. 3,000 crore more than last year. Punters have lost Rs. 10,000-12,000 crore so far. Youngsters like Ranka make up a huge number of those putting money on the game.
I am sure there will be lot of influence on the players to do spot fixing. Does anyone think only three guys, and that too from only one team, would have got influenced in the IPL for the 45,000 crore business? People can say that these are random numbers, but if someone is given 40 lakhs for fixing just one over, you can bet that there is huge money going behind it.
abe..why would nay one want to grab headline in such situation?
I think in this case we may believe that he was emotional and shocked at what happened to his son but later he realized that there was a fear of defamation suit from Dhoni or Bhajji so now he apologized.
If Harby slaps Sreesanth one then there is 1% chance Sreesanth will start crying and tell. :giggle:But bookies' date=' never.[/quote'] :cantstop: I think this might lead to more international rackets being bust.

So is there any evidence the Police is willing to share with the public? Any video recordings like they had in case of the P@ki guys? Would be interesting to know.

It was on CNN IBN, its done now. Just made the right diplomatic noises. We are like a family, so we are shocked, but as a captain I need to focus on my game. The coach said, its shocking but lets not tar whats been a wonderful tournament, the show must go on, etc

So is there any evidence the Police is willing to share with the public? Any video recordings like they had in case of the P@ki guys? Would be interesting to know.
They shared videos of the overs where spot-fixing was done, and the signals shwon