Texy Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 Just out of curiosity' date=' what is your opinion on homeopathic doctors?[/quote'] Homeopathy practitioners act like a psychotherapist involved in therapeutic remedies. It's pure placebo nothing else. To me, Homeopathy treatments are similar to snake oil, mercury ointment, powdered rhinoceros horn and another "miracle" remedies from ancient times before the development of modern medicine. As a physician, I strongly urge everyone to stay away from these alternative treatment routes. Homeopathy practitioners claim water retains a memory of its solutes, even after the original active ingredient may no longer physically be present in solution, which confers the therapeutic effect. This is nothing but pseudoscience.
panesarv Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 Look up triple-blind studies of Homoeopathy, they've shown to be effective. If you can't figure out the logic behind HOW it works, just look at the evidence that it DOES work.
panesarv Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 Homeopathy practitioners claim water retains a memory of its solutes' date=' even after the original active ingredient may no longer physically be present in solution, which confers the therapeutic effect. This is nothing but pseudoscience.[/quote'] That was just one research paper done by someone to try and prove to the common people how homoeopathy may work. Clearly, it failed but that doesn't mean you keep dragging it everywhere.
Muloghonto Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 Homeopathy practitioners act like a psychotherapist involved in therapeutic remedies. It's pure placebo nothing else. To me' date= Homeopathy treatments are similar to snake oil, mercury ointment, powdered rhinoceros horn and another "miracle" remedies from ancient times before the development of modern medicine. As a physician, I strongly urge everyone to stay away from these alternative treatment routes. Homeopathy practitioners claim water retains a memory of its solutes, even after the original active ingredient may no longer physically be present in solution, which confers the therapeutic effect. This is nothing but pseudoscience. This is unnecessarily harsh IMO. Homeopathy is psuedo-science, but it is quite old and started off with scientific principles hundreds of years ago in Europe, before we knew how stuff works in the body. As such, homeopaths are just as competent as allopathic (conventional) doctors in every field of medicine, except for prescribing a cure. They arnt like charlatans who sell snake oil or chinese witch doctor who mashes rhino horn with tiger liver,who learnt it from their dads, these guys are just as good as you or any other doctor in anatomy, diagnosis, etc. Their medicine does not work, but their diagnosis is just as valid as any doctors- they pretty much take the exact same courses as conventional doctors do, for the same amount of time, etc.
panesarv Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 Knock yourself out http://www.thelancet.com/journals/lancet/article/PIIS0140-6736%2886%2990410-1/abstract
Muloghonto Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 Look up triple-blind studies of Homoeopathy' date=' they've shown to be effective. If you can't figure out the logic behind HOW it works, [b']just look at the evidence that it DOES work. No, there is no evidence it works. Homeopathic control tests do marginally better than placebo tests with same control parameters but it does not show clear, categoric and irrefutable validity like allopathic drugs do.
panesarv Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 No' date=' there is no evidence it works. Homeopathic control tests do marginally better than placebo tests with same control parameters but it does not show clear, categoric and irrefutable validity like allopathic drugs do.[/quote'] Does allopathy REALLY work? You're on a pill for rest of your life. It took them a billion dollars to create the medicine, there is no intentions to cure you. There is HUGE HUGE HUGE conflict of interest.
panesarv Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 Another one with evidence - http://www.bmj.com/content/321/7259/471 Initial aggravations of rhinitis symptoms were more common with homoeopathy than placebo (7 (30%) v 2 (7%), P=0.04). Addition of these results to those of three previous trials (n=253) showed a mean symptom reduction on visual analogue scores of 28% (10.9 mm) for homoeopathy compared with 3% (1.1 mm) for placebo (95% confidence interval 4.2 to 15.4, P=0.0007). 7% vs 30% and 3% vs 28% are not minor differences.
punjabi_khota Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 Look up triple-blind studies of Homoeopathy' date=' they've shown to be effective. If you can't figure out the logic behind HOW it works, just look at the evidence that it DOES work.[/quote'] Let's see these triple blind studies, shall we ? Hopefully these will be in some reputable journal, and not "Indian journal of dimaagi hasthmaithun".
Muloghonto Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 Does allopathy REALLY work? You're on a pill for rest of your life. It took them a billion dollars to create the medicine' date= there is no intentions to cure you. There is HUGE HUGE HUGE conflict of interest. The issue of 'conflict of interest in curing you' may have some validity in life-threatening illnesses like AIDS/Cancer, etc, where the average patient can eat up hundreds of thousands of dollars in resources but there is no such issue with 99% of ailments. Allopathy *really* works for virtually any non-viral infections as well as allergic reactions, whereas homeopathic remedies simply do not work, period. If you get diptheria next time you drink questionable phuchka-water, homeopathy wont save you. Allopathic drugs will.
Muloghonto Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 Another one with evidence - http://www.bmj.com/content/321/7259/471 Initial aggravations of rhinitis symptoms were more common with homoeopathy than placebo (7 (30%) v 2 (7%), P=0.04). Addition of these results to those of three previous trials (n=253) showed a mean symptom reduction on visual analogue scores of 28% (10.9 mm) for homoeopathy compared with 3% (1.1 mm) for placebo (95% confidence interval 4.2 to 15.4, P=0.0007). 7% vs 30% and 3% vs 28% are not minor differences. You will only ever find such studies for inflamations,allergic reactions or common cold, where placebo studies itself varies significantly. But i garantee you one thing- no one has ever survived a serious disease on homeopathy that allopathy has cured in a jiffy. Got jaundice, cholera, diptheria, whooping cough, mumps, etc ? I garantee you that you are gonna die from those ailments if you stay with homeopathy only and yuo will live 99.999% of the time in allopathic cures.
panesarv Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 Let's see these triple blind studies' date=' shall we ? Hopefully these will be in some reputable journal, and not "Indian journal of dimaagi hasthmaithun".[/quote'] I'm not even gonna try with you. Gobar is clogging your nerves.
punjabi_khota Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 I'm not even gonna try with you. Gobar is clogging your nerves. :hysterical::hysterical: Jab aap bimar padein agli baar, phir dekhenge kya try karoge. Darwin will take care of people who REALLY believe in homeopathy (and not just "support" it because their uncle or aunt is a homeopathic doctor).
panesarv Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 The issue of 'conflict of interest in curing you' may have some validity in life-threatening illnesses like AIDS/Cancer, etc, where the average patient can eat up hundreds of thousands of dollars in resources but there is no such issue with 99% of ailments. Allopathy *really* works for virtually any non-viral infections as well as allergic reactions, whereas homeopathic remedies simply do not work, period. If you get diptheria next time you drink questionable phuchka-water, homeopathy wont save you. Allopathic drugs will. Yeah, I won't be rigid in every case. I know the limitations of homeopathy but I also know the problems with allopathy. My father has had skin problems on his hand for his entire life. He's been applying "ailments" all his life and nothing changed. He keeps on buying more and more. But we put him on homoeopathy for last 2 years, his skin problem has completely vanished. Similar thing is high blood pressure. People just keep popping those pills and they need a stronger one every few years.
punjabi_khota Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 High blood pressure cure with homeopathy and no allopathic meds? Sounds like a fast track to multiple organ failure to me. :nice:
panesarv Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 You will only ever find such studies for inflamations' date='allergic reactions or common cold, where placebo studies itself varies significantly. But i garantee you one thing- no one has ever survived a serious disease on homeopathy that allopathy has cured in a jiffy. Got jaundice, cholera, diptheria, whooping cough, mumps, etc ? I garantee you that you are gonna die from those ailments if you stay with homeopathy only and yuo will live 99.999% of the time in allopathic cures.[/quote'] I survived a severe case of dysentery. I passing blood in stool and I was going about 20 times a day. Allopathic doctor was gonna prescribe 15 days of antibiotics. Instead took homoeopathy and I was cured within 3 doses. Starting taking it in morning and I was fine by night.
panesarv Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 High blood pressure cure with homeopathy and no allopathic meds? Sounds like a fast track to multiple organ failure to me. :nice: Who's telling you to take it? Keep popping your pills. As long as you're happy :two_thumbs_up:
panesarv Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 Darwin will take care of people who REALLY believe in homeopathy (and not just "support" it because their uncle or aunt is a homeopathic doctor). Survived 200-300 years just fine.
Desi Cartman Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 I have seen people use Homeopathic and I have never seen it work. I was told that its very effective for skin problems so we tried that for several months because normal medication wasn't helping but 8-12 months later we just stopped as it had absolutely no affect.
punjabi_khota Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 Who's telling you to take it? Keep popping your pills. As long as you're happy :two_thumbs_up: I don't have high BP.