apocalypse Posted May 6, 2007 Posted May 6, 2007 Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai Haven't lived in Mumbai so I don't know much about city life People consider Delhi bad only because of auto drivers.
Holysmoke Posted May 6, 2007 Posted May 6, 2007 Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai guys seriously, u cannot decide which is the better city, it is based on individual perception.. Chicago might be 10 times cleaner, and more beautiful, etc etc.. but I'd still prefer to live in New York.. My roomate, on the other hand, would prefer to live in chicago.. to each his own....
Lurker Posted May 6, 2007 Posted May 6, 2007 Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai its like fighting for what is the more important part of your body.. your heart, or your brain??? I say its my stomach.. Check this rasmalai out slrrrrp yum yum
Rajiv Posted May 6, 2007 Posted May 6, 2007 Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai I am not sure about Lurkers point about Best colleges etc as well, is there some kinda study or poll? or just personal opinion? Rajeev, Much of that is from memory, mostly from the India-Today's ranking of best colleges. But look at it this way. 1) Technology - IITs(both have it so fair I say). 2) Medicine - AIIMS(Delhi has upper hand). I am not even considering the second rung colleges in Delhi like Maulana Azad though Grants Medical College should rank amongst top 10 as well. 3) Commerce: Sri Ram College of Commerce should well be the best in India. 4) Arts: St Stephens should be best in India. Sure there is a Presidency College in Calcutta and Loyola in Chennai but Delhi has top colleges in every stream. Not to mention full fledged and dedicated universities like JNU etc. ***** http://www.india-today.com/itoday/14061999/edu.html You were right, only missed out in Engineering
Holysmoke Posted May 6, 2007 Posted May 6, 2007 Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai ohh rasmalai.. saale.. i am on a diet :mad: :lmao:
Lurker Posted May 6, 2007 Posted May 6, 2007 Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai what is that? sondesh? Rasmalai saale!! You are losing touch..or weight..or both Holy!! Okay with due apologies here is another one for food lovers. Aamchi Mumbais Batata Vada :stickman:
apocalypse Posted May 6, 2007 Posted May 6, 2007 Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai lol Lurker how many times do you think of food in a day :hic: j/k
Lurker Posted May 6, 2007 Posted May 6, 2007 Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai http://www.india-today.com/itoday/14061999/edu.html You were right, only missed out in Engineering Oh thanks Rajeev. On an aside note I am not too sure if I should be happy or sad that more than half of these colleges were established during British times, heck most of them carry the names too. Chalo koi nahin in the end they are great institutes and I suppose thats what matters. xxxx
Holysmoke Posted May 6, 2007 Posted May 6, 2007 Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai what is that? sondesh? Rasmalai saale!! You are losing touch..or weight..or both Holy!! Okay with due apologies here is another one for food lovers. Aamchi Mumbais Batata Vada :stickman: hero, that is double vada pav.. 2 batata vadas in 1 pav also, the pav looks too well cut, and the vada's look too small there is no lasun ki chutney that cannot be a mumbai ka vada pav :lmao: i suspect thats been made in the states :wall:
Rajiv Posted May 6, 2007 Posted May 6, 2007 Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai http://www.india-today.com/itoday/14061999/edu.html You were right, only missed out in Engineering Oh thanks Rajeev. On an aside note I am not too sure if I should be happy or sad that more than half of these colleges were established during British times, heck most of them carry the names too. Chalo koi nahin in the end they are great institutes and I suppose thats what matters. xxxx But then you have these polls too http://www.indiaedu.com/top-educational-institutes/top-universities/ http://www.indiaedu.com/top-colleges.html
Holysmoke Posted May 6, 2007 Posted May 6, 2007 Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai Lurker read this blog http://news.rediffiland.com/iland/schneeberger.html Gora from smalltown in USA goes and settles in mumbai.. his experiences.. good blog.. infact.. the only blog i read :wtg: :lmao:
Rajiv Posted May 6, 2007 Posted May 6, 2007 Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai what is that? sondesh? Rasmalai saale!! You are losing touch..or weight..or both Holy!! Okay with due apologies here is another one for food lovers. Aamchi Mumbais Batata Vada :stickman: hero, that is double vada pav.. 2 batata vadas in 1 pav also, the pav looks too well cut, and the vada's look too small there is no lasun ki chutney that cannot be a mumbai ka vada pav :lmao: i suspect thats been made in the states :wall: probably sold in delhi :lmao: :lmao: :lmao:
Lurker Posted May 6, 2007 Posted May 6, 2007 Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai Hahaha you guys look took close :lmao: Lekin baat mein dam hai. The pav is a little different than Bombay regular..and no lehsun chatni.. :chin: :chin: forgery ho gaya! Waise speaking of vada paav what is the best place to eat it? On Chawpatty? By the bus stop side waiting for the bus? Or at the railway platform on a monsoon afternoon? I pick the last :wtg: PS: Apocalypse miyaan ek dost ke yehan lunch ko gaya tha..Saale ne ekdam raddi khaana khilaya yaar... :mad: maybe that will explain my hunger..Abhi Shaam ko kuch daba ke khaane ka bhai.
Holysmoke Posted May 6, 2007 Posted May 6, 2007 Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai Waise speaking of vada paav what is the best place to eat it? On Chawpatty? By the bus stop side waiting for the bus? Or at the railway platform on a monsoon afternoon? I pick the last :wtg: Worli Seaface... best vada pav in mumbai(by my taste :hic: )
Rajiv Posted May 6, 2007 Posted May 6, 2007 Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai http://www.citymayors.com Very cool site, as far best in the world goes..I am happy at No. 3 in Vancouver
apocalypse Posted May 6, 2007 Posted May 6, 2007 Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai daba ke lol enjoy your dinner I have a kewl barbecue party tomorrow :hic:
CC1981 Posted May 6, 2007 Posted May 6, 2007 Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai Don't have much experience with Mumbai so i cannot tell but i rate Delhi as a top class city if it wernt for pollution and traffic congestion. Yes, Delhi has its shanties too but Delhi's got everything i desire in a major city : rich cultural scene, international connectivity, lots of historic sites, ample scope for high tech & science development/work & sufficient # of parks and open spaces to break up the concrete jungle. I've been to Mumbai only twice, each for two days at a time and last time was in 97. Mumbai i saw was way more congested than Delhi and a lot more shanties. The impression i got from Mumbai is it is culturally heavier than Delhi but most of it is bollywood oriented than regional/classical oriented like Delhi is. So i dunno, i vote for Delhi.
beetle Posted May 6, 2007 Posted May 6, 2007 Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai Delhi.... Mumbai is more civil but Delhi has a soul. Delhi has open spaces,culture...and broader roads.
beetle Posted May 6, 2007 Posted May 6, 2007 Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai And dilli ki chaat......no place can bet that chaat! Delhi gets 100 points for the chaat.....
Holysmoke Posted May 6, 2007 Posted May 6, 2007 Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai And dilli ki chaat......no place can bet that chaat! Delhi gets 100 points for the chaat..... madam, read this :hic: http://schneeberger.rediffiland.com//scripts/xanadu_diary_view.php?postId=1178191104