3) If given a chance to see India win the Test series against Australia live at the MCG vs. having one night with the girl of your dreams, which one would it be. With my girl of course. Maybe with Enigma or Rammstein playing in the background. The thing is I like cricket, even love it but it does not rank too high on my priority list of things, people(and life) do.
I cant say I have heard of Enigma but RAMMSTEIN???? Youd spent a night with your girl with RAMMSTEIN in the background? :hmmm: Playing 'Mein teil' no doubt !! :P Nice interview though, come across as a really cool frood, (as you do from your posts) 10) Greatest regret so far ? You only regret what you do not do Sriram. I have pretty much always done what I have wanted so no regrets. I would change a few things yes but not regrets as such. ...:hatsoff:... (reading that ahs made me realise how much work im gonna need to do with ..erm.. gaining definition and bulk on the old body. Esp with marriage on the distant horizon:nervous:)
1. Your Favorite Indian Cricket moment? 1985 Benson Hedges semis with NZ. India were seriously trailing and the asking rate(around 35th over or so) was well around 8-9 runs and climbing. To compound problems two of the most economical LOI bowlers Hadlee and Chattfield remained. It was beginning to look impossible. Then Kapil happened, smashed 4 fours off Hadlee,scored 50 plus in 37 balls. India won with 7 overs to spare. Sometimes I think I was so lucky to have watched Kapil in full flow because if ever there was a player whose stats shall never show what he was, it was Kapil.
Gale lag meri jaan...ab bas gale lag hi jaa! This was the very first cricket match I saw. I was about 7-8 yrs old then. I had been playing cricket for almost 2 yrs by that time so I knew quite a few rules of the game. Our house in Secunderabad had a big garden/portico/verandah/whateva...it was large enough to do full pitch bowling. Me and friends were playing...it was my batting and I was playing good. Suddenly mom comes out shouting "Kapil Dev has come to bat, Kapil Dev has come to bat". All the kids (most of them older than me...I always played agaisnt the older boys which helped me game :--D ) ran into my house. My mom used to work with ECIL then and we had purchased a new EC TV (color TV...lol) a couple of months before. Anyway, everyone ran into my house and I was like WTF, it's my batting and you guys are running away. After a moment I thought "lemme see who the eff is this Kapil Dev fellow...lemme see if he's better than me." I entered the living room...to watch the TV I need to look to the left but as I was entering all the kids and me mom were sitting in pin-drop silence mode on the slab that divided the living room and the dining room (my dad likes that kinda construction where the rest of the house is raised by about 9 inches from the hall). Anyway, I am surprised at the tension in the air. Then I turn to look at the TV...the first image I saw was Hadlee almost into his bowling stride, and a fraction of a second later there was the most exquisite square cut anyone ever played in all the centuries that the game of cricket has been played. In that moment, time and space stood still...the universe had delivered a boy his hero. A dreamy eyed boy was hooked on to the game and more so to his hero forever! My ex wife (she is a white american) knows only 4 Asian cricketers by face and name: Kapil Dev, Sachin Tendulkar, MS Dhoni, and Inzi. She could tell who Kapil was when they would show some of them old games on TV (which is quite something for her...after all, all of us look the same to her - lol). In 1987 when we moved to Bangalore, I remember making some of the most logical and rationalized (in my mind) cases to my parents for changing my name to Kapil Dev Sharma...lol! Nice to know you, Lurks!
Arre wah! Ek aur Kapil Dev ka fan :yay::yay: Nice recollection Vijay saab. That brought back a few memories. EC TV lol..We had Niki Tasha, woh black and white shutter waala. It is amazing how times have changed in 20 odd years lekin back then us kids would always get into fight ke which TV was better? Sonodyne, Weston, Nikki Tasha, EC etc etc Kapil Dev to khair :hatsoff:
Dyanora bhool kaise gaya :headshake:

We had Uptron TV..Yes, from UP.. Oh those days..Spending most of the time to climb on the roof and adjust the direction of the TV antenna to get better reception..

We had Uptron TV..Yes' date=' from UP.. Oh those days..Spending most of the time to climb on the roof and adjust the direction of the TV antenna to get better reception..[/quote'] :hysterical::hysterical: towards the direction of the relay center :hysterical:
:hysterical::hysterical: towards the direction of the relay center :hysterical:
Yes..Towards the direction of the relay towers.. So one friend will be down there to give you feedback,.."Abe thora dahiney..Haan, thora aur..Bas.. Abe..Jyada kar diya..Pura iskreen jhiljhila raha hain..Peeche aa.... Han ab theek hain.." The KLPD used to be that whn you climb down off the roof, bit of wind blows and again the antenna direction screws up.. Climb again.. An the other experiments with the TV antenna, when our town was not withing the TV signal range.. Me and my friend used a TV antenna to 'listen' to TV programms on FN channel of the radio.. Oh the excitement of managing to 'catch' the TV programme in your FM radio..

My cousin's TV was the best. They had a Dyanora BnW with the shutter and all. They used to live in a locality called "Sitafal mandi" in Secunderabad where there was the Railway Quarters since my aunt used to work with the Indian Railways. Their house was pretty close to the Sitafal mandi station so every time a train passed by the Dyanora's pictures would go dancing. But the most amazing part...kid you not...was this - every time the current would go and come back, the TV would not start immediately...you had to whack it on it's head twice. Those days Sharjah Cup would start at around 11:00 AM IST and the buggers would cut the current at about 10:30 for half an hour. The whole gang would get together, take their positions in the room and sit in their places and look at my uncle in unison (imagine the scene...all kids sitting on the floor with legs folded looking up at one person sitting on the sofa - lol) at exactly 11:00 AM (the current would be back... imandari se). My uncle would be reading his paper and with one helluva disgusting expression he would throw the paper on the sofa and go and whack Dyanora twice and lo and behold...Narrotam Puri and/or Anupam Ghulati would be greeting us! Them were the days!

:cantstop: :two_thumbs_up:
niki tasha - wasn't that a gas grill/stove - I know I forced my folks to buy one after seeing the commercials over and over byw, apun kapil paaji se mila hain kya - apne building mein opening ceremony karne aaya tha

^ Niki Tasha was in all sorts of gadgets and appliances.. It was a very polpular brand owned by Mr. Aggarwal from Delhi (One who married Rekha and then comitted suicide). Can't remember his full name.

There were many others : Binatone,BPL,Orson,Bharat TV (one of the earliest) , Weston ,ECTV, Solidaire, Uptron, Videocon (came later),Onida, Dyonara,Crown I have seen people using the TV as a decorative piece with its wooden cabinet covered with woolen embroidery and all sorts of home accents placed on the top. During Buniyaad or Hum Log, everyone would gather at the house with the Television, whereupon the master of the house would proudly open the wooden shutters and take us all into this magical world. Many people would be familiar with the sight below. http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_kJzqqzWwkNM/TVKO4ac7tAI/AAAAAAAAAQs/yStnQXrGjWg/s1600/TV_India_WorldBank.JPG

those childhood things u talked bout can touch alot of us I suppose..... life was much better back then wasn't it... now we all in a race and life has become much more meterialistic =[.

1) Best childhood memory ? Coming home from school with my siblings. My elder brother and me held the hands of our kid sister on each side as we walked home. There is also this summer time memory when my parents and us kids slept on the terrace. The electricity would keep going out for long hours so we decided to just move the mattresses out on the terrace. The way it was done was me and my brother would chug of buckets of water and cool down the terrace in the evening, the mattress were spread out, mosquitoes net put in place in. My Dad has this knack of picking the absolute best station on radio and so we would talk, watch the stars, listen to the song and then fall asleep. Pure unadulterated fun. Come to think of it, its been ages since I saw the stars *sigh*.
Awesome memories - 100% same here. In fact, me and my friends did similar setup in our Hostel days too - in scorching summers of Delhi. We even used to fill buckets of water in hostel room, dip the curtains in water...and some time sit for hours in bath-shower.