Tendulkar's 'second innings': promoting toilets for Unicef

He has already helped sell apartments, concrete and even the health benefits of eggs, and on Thursday the recently retired cricket legend Sachin Tendulkar began a new role - promoting toilets and hygiene. The Indian batsman was appointed Unicef's ambassador for South Asia, helping promote sanitation in a country where more than half of the 1.2 billion population defecate in the open. Tendulkar told a packed press conference it was a "second innings for him", adding: "This innings is important and dear to me, so I will do my best here." Karin Hulshof, regional director of Unicef, the UN children's fund, said 681 million people lack toilets in South Asia. In India, 53% of the population or about 640 million people lack toilets and defecate in the open, the country's 2011 census data showed. "Another statistic which baffles me and I was disheartened to know that 1,600 children die everyday worldwide because of diarrhoeal infected diseases," Tendulkar said. Recounting childhood memories, Tendulkar said: "I would play cricket downstairs with my friends, with a tennis ball, and occasionally did not bother washing my hands and (would) want to eat after coming back home." "My mother made sure that I washed my hands properly and ate with clean hands," he said, stressing the need for personal hygiene. Tendulkar, the world's leading scorer in both Test and one-day cricket, made a tearful final departure from the sport earlier this month after his 200th Test match, ending a glittering career spanning 24 years. Tendulkar, a member of parliament, has been involved in several social causes in India relating to health care and education. He has endorsed everything from BMW cars to energy drinks and biscuits to travel portals, but has not promoted tobacco and liquor-related products. Tendulkar has yet to disclose his professional plans post-retirement.
http://www.hindustantimes.com/sports-news/cricketnews/tendulkar-s-second-innings-promoting-toilets-for-unicef/article1-1156810.aspx

Country has given him too much love which has led him to earn too much fame and money. If in such situation he decides to give a little time for promoting a Unicef cause, then tht doesn't call for a 'what a human' response imo.

So, why doesn't someone else get the same love and fame and money from the country? Did country give him the love for free or did he earn the love and respect? Why is there only one Sachin in India? I just do not get people like you at all. Throughout your life you will never lift a finger to help anyone, but if someone does that, will leave no opportunity to demean him/her Perfect example of Indian crab mantality
Thanks for the personal remarks.:) About the topic - Sachin ne 24 saal khelne maze bhi le liye, duniya bhi ghoom li, mote paise - luxury house, so many expensive cars - Just take a look at his car collection. Fame bhi kamaa liya, 2 saal kisi deserving youngster ki jagah bhi kha li, bharat ratan bhi le liya . The point is - the country has treated him rather well. If in such situation he decides to give a little time for promoting an admittedly good cause(admittedly appreciable act) when he has retired and has some free time, and if one says 'what a human' to this, thts clearly an over-the-top praise imo.
Err, he got everyone of those things which he mentioned because he DESERVED it. You might not think much of him but millions have been entertained for years (movie stars get more money for doing much less) So he has earned every penny of the money, fame and respect he has got. When you keep on making snide remarks about this guy (like slipping in that comment about him taking 2 years of a young guy, etc), why would you deserve any respect from me? So many rich and famous people are sitting on their ass all day. So one guy does something good and one person praises it, you are quick to pull him down? Why? Whats your motive? How does extra praise harm anyone? Shouldn't we spend the time condemning people who don't do anything? I used the term "Indian crab mentality" because this is a perfect example of the same
Completely agree. Specially the bold part.
Err' date=' he got everyone of those things which he mentioned because he [b']DESERVED it. You might not think much of him but millions have been entertained for years (movie stars get more money for doing much less) So he has earned every penny of the money, fame and respect he has got. When you keep on making snide remarks about this guy (like slipping in that comment about him taking 2 years of a young guy, etc), why would you deserve any respect from me? So many rich and famous people are sitting on their ass all day. So one guy does something good and one person praises it, you are quick to pull him down? Why? Whats your motive? How does extra praise harm anyone? Shouldn't we spend the time condemning people who don't do anything? I used the term "Indian crab mentality" because this is a perfect example of the same
Yaar I'd want to have your respect and everybody else's respect. But even if I do not have your respect, I think I'll manage. You are not getting the point. When you get as much(love, fame, respect, money, place in playing 11 for extra 2 years) from your country as sachin has (leave whether fully deserved or not for a moment), its natural that you wanna devote atleast a little time (since you've retired) to promote some cause. It doesn't require or call for a 'what a human' response, though at the same time, its an appreciable act.
Err' date=' he got everyone of those things which he mentioned because he [b']DESERVED it. You might not think much of him but millions have been entertained for years (movie stars get more money for doing much less) So he has earned every penny of the money, fame and respect he has got. When you keep on making snide remarks about this guy (like slipping in that comment about him taking 2 years of a young guy, etc), why would you deserve any respect from me? So many rich and famous people are sitting on their ass all day. So one guy does something good and one person praises it, you are quick to pull him down? Why? Whats your motive? How does extra praise harm anyone? Shouldn't we spend the time condemning people who don't do anything? I used the term "Indian crab mentality" because this is a perfect example of the same
urs is the global herd mentality. what randomguy meant was there are lot more "humans" who support a cause, silently. In this case, Sachin is appointed by UN as brand ambassador. Better reaction would be "what an ambassador :hatsoff:". Good move by UN. Hope Sachin bats his "innings" well for them.
Yaar I'd want to have your respect and everybody else's respect. But even if I do not have your respect, I think I'll manage. You are not getting the point. When you get as much(love, fame, respect, money, place in playing 11 for extra 2 years) from your country as sachin has (leave whether fully deserved or not for a moment), its natural that you wanna devote atleast a little time (since you've retired) to promote some cause. It doesn't require or call for a 'what a human' response, though at the same time, its an appreciable act.
bhai shakal surat aur avatar se toh tu sachin ka fan lag raha hai. Par yeh behki behki baatein kyu kar raha hai? Ek toh samajh nahi aa rahi tu sachin ki side le raha hai ya uske against hai. Kripyaa yeh confusion dur kare uske baad hum kuch kadam uthaayenge. :secret:
urs is the global herd mentality. what randomguy meant was there are lot more "humans" who support a cause, silently. In this case, Sachin is appointed by UN as brand ambassador. Better reaction would be "what an ambassador :hatsoff:". Good move by UN. Hope Sachin bats his "innings" well for them.
Its a good act but not something to go gaga over, I'd imagine tht it wouldn't require any leadership, initiative, money, skill or excessive effort/time. EDIT - Take a look at his car collection. what a passion for expensive imported cars human! (j/k):winky:
bhai shakal surat aur avatar se toh tu sachin ka fan lag raha hai. Par yeh behki behki baatein kyu kar raha hai? Ek toh samajh nahi aa rahi tu sachin ki side le raha hai ya uske against hai. Kripyaa yeh confusion dur kare uske baad hum kuch kadam uthaayenge. :secret:
bhai you sound like an internet version of a thulla (police wala). should i be :nervous:
What are u on about?Sachin tendulkar excelled in his proffesion and earned his reward like everybody does.He has done various charity work as well ,U do not have to go on national tv and shout i am doing charity like some movie stars do. Atleast the guy had standards and did not promote smoking and alcohol brands like some ****ing idiots do.

Attacking someone on his hard-earned wealth is sign of a low-life. People are acting as if he had won it in some lottery or through corruption. He has earned it by his hardwork and has made sacrifices. Agree with MTC crab mentality, won't do anything on their own but crying when someone gets praised for doing something.

Going by that logic everybody is indebted to nation. Though I earned my livelihood through my work I can not say that society didn't play a part in making me able to do so. Sachin has no more obligation of doing social service that what I or you do.
Attacking someone on his hard-earned wealth is sign of a low-life. People are acting as if he had won it in some lottery or through corruption. He has earned it by his hardwork and has made sacrifices. Agree with MTC crab mentality, won't do anything on their own but crying when someone gets praised for doing something.
1. Just as someone has the right to spend his money any which way he/she likes, people have the right to have opinion on it. Like Ambani has the right to build 10,000 cr house, I have the right to have an opinion abt the spending. 2. That was honestly meant only as a joke on people who tend to go over-the-top praising sachin for anything (not worthy of the over-the-top praise) tht he does. 3. I donate in my workplace's corporate social responsibility prog. , in free meal given to the poor by my locality on some specific days in the year, to old/disabled beggars. Maybe I am lying or maybe I donate 10 times more. That is frankly irrelevant to the topic. Everyone including someone who doesn't do any charity or does it 10 times more than sachin has an equal right to opine.

Good work from Sachin , but lot of people does this so it doesn elevate him "what a Human status" , then it's a insult to others who does similar work.[unless they are also considered as "what a human"]

Going by that logic everybody is indebted to nation. Though I earned my livelihood through my work I can not say that society didn't play a part in making me able to do so. Sachin has no more obligation of doing social service that what I or you do.
'obligation' word has a strong sense of - like a duty or being legally bound. So, I wouldn't use that word. Its the sense tht i guess would come naturally when one receives so so much goodwill(as sachin has). You and I do not nearly get such goodwill. And anyways, the act itself, while good, isnt something worthy of excessive praise. Like I said, probably it wouldn't require any leadership, initiative, money, skill or excessive effort/time.
Its a good act but not something to go gaga over, I'd imagine tht it wouldn't require any leadership, initiative, money, skill or excessive effort/time. EDIT - Take a look at his car collection. what a passion for expensive imported cars human! (j/k):winky: bhai you sound like an internet version of a thulla (police wala). should i be :nervous:
This is an advice for you jealous troll. Take your trolling to a padosi forum. Open this discussion there you will get many people supporting you in your views. Because right now you are acting like those. If you can't respect sachin as a human then i don't know what kind of human are you. He is what he is because of his hardwork.
:rofl: Nice understanding non-jealous non-troll.