IPL 2014 Player Retention

AbhishekS

I dont think so. What the 3 RTM does is makes sure that 1 team does not get to have a high profile 6th,7th and 8th player. Lets suppose CSK retains Dhoni,Raina,Jadeja,Ashwin and mohit sharma. If other teams want Murali vijay,Fauf du plesis and Hussey so badly, they can go high. CSK, which has already lost a lot due to retaining players, can now decide if they want to pay a lot for these players and doing more damage to their purse (Remember CSK needs to buy 30 or so players) or get another smaller player. Now, if the other teams do not think that Murali vijay is worth a big amount and bid only a small amount, CSK will probably think its a good buy back. It basically makes a team have only 5 big players (whoever are retained) and yet have the option of buying back players who the others think are not worth a lot and still maintain their team. This was evident when CSK lost Muralidharan and balaji last time to a higher price yet retained the smaller players like Hussey,Tyagi and Joginder sharma. Getting 8 big players will most likely cost 75% of their salary allotment.
And you make my point valid. If CSK think that eg Vijay is important for their team...they should infact also make a bid. This allows those players to make a better earning also ie in this case...eg other teams lets say bid 20 lakh....CSK could have bid 25 lakh...& maybe other teams say....nop...let it go...atleast Vijay ended up getting 25 lakh. Now CSK will do...flash their card...since its cheap for their salary. Thats the point I am trying to make...if CSK or MI want 8 players...make it official....we all know that these 2 teams wish is always fulfilled anyway. BTW....teams need 9 foreign players & max squad of 27 players as I read for IPL7. 27 players seems too high also.
Its already official. They are not hiding anything. 5 + 3 =8 options of retaining players. If it was 8 at the outset, CSK could retain all its 8 players including Vijay. But now, another franchise has the option of stealing the player with a high enough bid. Remember that what is taken out from each retained player is different from what they are paid. Suppose the 6th retained player comes at a cost of 5 crore to the salary cap(add another 30 for the 1st 5 retained players), CSK can retain the player by paying him 10 crore. CSK basically pays 35 crore but officially only used 30 crore of their budget leaving 30 crores for the rest. But in the auction if KKR bids 8 crores, CSK needs to match that i.e. have only 27 crores for the rest. So it becomes more of a strategy and gives another team a shot at the bid. Matching or First rights is done in a lot of fields. You get another job, you can ask your job to match it first. Movie studios get first rights to some scripts.
no more irfan please....viru should b shown the gate....he is out f form...
Irfan because a pure all rounder is very handy in IPL, and very useful if he is an Indian. Viru will fire in IPL, each year he has found form in IPLs. I guess DD will retain him, if not directly then using the 'joker' card. And I'm sure even Kirsten would want Viru back. Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
BINNY, RAJAT BHATIA, NAYAR much better ARs

KKR begins it. Nothing is official yet but they have quite clearly stated that they are retaining two players - Gautam Gambhir and Sunil Narine. The last date for submitting the list for all the teams is 10th January.