Malcolm Merlyn Posted January 16, 2014 Posted January 16, 2014 Strip searching an alleged criminal equates to a nation of 1.2 billion being humiliated? Completely retarded reasoning. These jokers probably have nothing better to do with their time. A DIPLOMAT.
randomGuy Posted January 16, 2014 Posted January 16, 2014 Then you are outsourcing your law to US and in process have assumed 2nd class status to goras. In that case' date=' Bharara is right to doubt standing of Indian courts. Congratulations.[/quote'] Kaise bhai? Wo wahin settled thi. Aur agar yahan per bhi hoti to usko kon kya kehta?
surajmal Posted January 16, 2014 Posted January 16, 2014 Kaise bhai? Wo wahin settled thi. Aur agar yahan per bhi hoti to usko kon kya kehta? Irrelevant. She is a diplomat. If any aira gaira nathu khaira was subjected to such treatment, I wouldn't give a hoot. Diplomatic immunity means something from time immemorial across the world. Breach of such understanding would be violation of unwritten rules; only here it is violations of written rules as well.
randomGuy Posted January 16, 2014 Posted January 16, 2014 You think 600$ plus fooding plus lodging plus mobile bills plus internet connection plus cable tv connection plus clothing plus medical all that in NYC would make it $9.75/hr? Her job required her to stay at their place. 1. Khobagrade and her husband work 7:30-5:00, and are gone from the house 6:30-6:00. 2. The kids start school/kindergarten at 8:30 am. Four year old gets out at 12:30, 7 year old at 3:30. 3. It takes an hour to get anywhere in New York City (not an assumption so much as a fact of life). 5:30 am: Prepare breakfast for mom and dad (to be ready at 6:00) and kids (ready at 7:00). Clean up between breakfasts. 7:00 am: serve kids breakfast. When they're done, get them ready for school - dressed, face washed, teeth brushed, etc.. 7:30 am: Bring kids to school (arrive at 8:30 am, get back home at 9:30 am) 9:30 - 11:00 am: Clean up anything missed in the kitchen, once over of entire house, thorough cleaning of one-two rooms on a rotating schedule. This is the only time the maid is really able to clean stuff without other duties or people in the way. 11:00 am: Pick up 4YO from school (arrive at 12:30, home at 1:00). 1:00 pm: Feed, wash, entertain 4YO for a little while before it's time to go get 7YO. 2:30 pm: Take 4YO with her to go get 7YO from school (arrive 3:30, back home at 4:30). 4:30 pm: Snacks for kids, get them playing nicely at home. Start dinner, laundry, whatever else needs to be done. Some days there might be a break in here, other days there won't - it depends on the kids needs at the time and what's for dinner. 6:15 pm: Get kids washed up for dinner when mom and dad get home - dinner 6:30-7:30 pm. 7:30 pm: Get 4YO into bath, cleaned up, and ready for bed. 8:00 pm: 4YO to bed, 7 YO can probably get him/herself ready for bed with minimal supervision. 8:30 pm: Clean up after dinner.
randomGuy Posted January 16, 2014 Posted January 16, 2014 Irrelevant. She is a diplomat. If any aira gaira nathu khaira was subjected to such treatment' date= I wouldn't give a hoot. Diplomatic immunity means something from time immemorial across the world. Breach of such understanding would be violation of unwritten rules; only here it is violations of written rules as well. consul general. Like I said, mere Visa fraud(paying $600+food and board) - Minor crime for me. But when I know about her husband and children being americans, I do not mind the arrest (which was for a short duration)
surajmal Posted January 16, 2014 Posted January 16, 2014 consul general. Like I said, mere Visa fraud(paying $600+food and board) - Minor crime for me. She was in a capacity that had full immunity by July. But when I know about her husband and children being americans, I do not mind the arrest (which was for a short duration) These things are irrelevant.
randomGuy Posted January 16, 2014 Posted January 16, 2014 She was in a capacity that had full immunity by July. 1. Thats NOT confirmed . 2. India was told abt imminent action in September. maybe if she dint have american family, she would have come back to india in sept.
randomGuy Posted January 16, 2014 Posted January 16, 2014 And anyways, nobody's stopping india from applying reciprocity. Its not worthwhile to compare with russian medical fraud.
seedhi Posted January 16, 2014 Posted January 16, 2014 Meanwhile the American schools run by the US mission in India have been committing tax and visa fraud on an institutional scale for ages.
randomGuy Posted January 16, 2014 Posted January 16, 2014 Meanwhile the American schools run by the US mission in India have been committing tax and visa fraud on an institutional scale for ages. If schools are running NOW and not giving salary details which were asked by India, and India does nothing, blame GoI.
hhunaeh Posted January 16, 2014 Posted January 16, 2014 2. India was told abt imminent action in September. maybe if she dint have american family, she would have come back to india in sept. I think that was contested by the indian side. They say the arrest came without warning.
surajmal Posted January 16, 2014 Posted January 16, 2014 2. India was told abt imminent action in September. maybe if she dint have american family, she would have come back to india in sept. Or if SD along with Bharara and that racist couple at Delhi embassy didn't conjure up a conspiracy to entrap KD, Richards would have been sitting in India right now, unemployed while this case would have been long dead and buried.
randomGuy Posted January 16, 2014 Posted January 16, 2014 I think that was contested by the indian side. They say the arrest came without warning. India ne bhi to c hutiya-panti dikhai (at the behest of devyani), Delhi HC orders(disallowing maid to file case) do not apply in the US. Its foolish to think that. If devyani dint have american family, she would have come back to india long long time back.
surajmal Posted January 16, 2014 Posted January 16, 2014 This entire case seems a political ploy not just for Bharara but also for democrats to score votes (especially latin american) in 2016 by showing to be fighting for the underclass. Nothing more nothing less. They chose an Indian diplomat for their show-n-tell because up til now India had taken every insult lying down.
CSK Fan Posted January 16, 2014 Posted January 16, 2014 Strip searching an alleged criminal equates to a nation of 1.2 billion being humiliated? Completely retarded reasoning. These jokers probably have nothing better to do with their time. So please tell me why each and every US citizen, diplomat or not, criminal or not, is provided full protection of the US? Even murderers like Raymond Davis? Why do they believe that it is US and only US who has the authority to prosecute them and not other countries? Please tell me why, when this happens, each and every citizen of the united States, whether resident or non resident, stands united and supports their country men while in India, some citizens and some NRIs have this itching to bend over backwards as soon as the name of US is invovled? No self respecting country will allow one of it's citizens to be prosecuted by a different country. There are ample examples of Russia, Brazil, etc. Let alone a diplomat But I am sure as usual, you will ignore this core issue (protecting one's citizens in a country's primary responsibility over prosecuting a criminal). If a diplomat is a criminal, the host country cannot prosecute, it is the country of origin which can prosecute But please ignore this, pretend this is something unique to India and not something every self-respecting nation does (What is unique to India is some of it's citizens having no pride in the country and bending over backward as soon as someone mentions US and US laws)
CSK Fan Posted January 16, 2014 Posted January 16, 2014 And anyways, nobody's stopping india from applying reciprocity. Its not worthwhile to compare with russian medical fraud. Why is it not worthwhile to compare with Russia? Because some of our citizens love bending to the US and going against their own citizens? Can you give me the reason?
KhanSaab Posted January 16, 2014 Posted January 16, 2014 This entire case seems a political ploy not just for Bharara but also for democrats to score votes (especially latin american) in 2016 by showing to be fighting for the underclass. Nothing more nothing less. They chose an Indian diplomat for their show-n-tell because up til now India had taken every insult lying down. Most Latinos in the US probably have no idea this event occured at all. This is not a major news story in American media let alone Spanish-American media which is where most latinos get their news from.
randomGuy Posted January 16, 2014 Posted January 16, 2014 Most Latinos in the US probably have no idea this event occured at all. This is not a major news story in American media let alone Spanish-American media which is where most latinos get their news from. Yeah,right. Even if it were a major news, why would bharara, democrats blah blah blah occupy our(indians') mind , if we believe what devyani did was immoral as well as illegal. "Bending over", "getting embarrassed in front of the world" etc - (confident) people should not think in those terms.
G_B_ Posted January 16, 2014 Posted January 16, 2014 Yeah why would you give a feck about national rules of a top service being modified' date=' tax payer money being swindled, or a poor person with no influence being exploited. All that matters is some national pride. Well, on the contrary I am ashamed that a person like her was representing India.[/quote'] this has feck all to do with national pride. Incase you did not know, the Indian consulate in New York and embassy in Washington handle the intelligence networks of RAW and IB. Ie many international missions from India, such as ONGC securing fields of oil in Venezuala have attaches of these two agencies whose staff are based there. Ie that consulate and embassy carry very sensitive information. In such cases its a matter of national security, you cannot have your diplomats treated in such a way. If India had not reacted the way it did nothing was stopping the CIA from using such arrests to corner diplomats into divulging information in the future. I dont care if Khobragade asked Sangeeta Richards to eat her ****. She should not have been arrested. She should have been deported to India where she should have stood on trial for her actions. Only a naive person views things from a moral viewpoint. Feck morals and you can quote me on that. International relations are based primaly on gauging how your opponent/entity responds. The US certainly has selective morals in its international policy. Attacking Syria for human rights and keeping mum on Bahrain. Before the falkland wars Thatcher was actually thinking of giving away the islands to Argentina as they were a ***** to maintain. But once Argentina attacked she did not hold back? Why ?? perception. Had Britain not responded the country would appear to be weak. You roll over then the world will think your push overs. I have already posted the article regarding the daughter of a senior Indian diplomat being wrongfully arrested. Had India made the hoo ha of it back then today Khobragade would simply have been deported. This is what happens when you dont fight for your right. You come across as weak and more incidents happen.
The Outsider Posted January 16, 2014 Posted January 16, 2014 Please tell me why, when this happens, each and every citizen of the united States, whether resident or non resident, stands united and supports their country men while in India, some citizens and some NRIs have this itching to bend over backwards as soon as the name of US is invovled? That's completely not true. Most people I know in the US wanted Raymond Davis to be prosecuted and jailed, instead of being let out on the blood money technicality.