500 heactares. Rs 50,000 crore. Kamal Nath and the builder lobby eye NCR forest land

It is 10 am. In an hour from now, Union Urban Minister Kamal Nath will have the last roll of dice to change the landscape of Delhi NCR. At the stroke of 11, he, as chairman, is holding a full NCR Planning Board meeting at India Habitat centerer in Delhi today. In the heat and dust of elections, Kamal Nath has called full NCR Planning Board meeting to radically change the 'land use' of the Haryana sub region plan. He wants the board to endorse his idea of declaring 10 lakh hectaress of prime forest land a 'natural conservation zone'. This prime forest land is spread over Faridabad, Gurgaon and Aravali hills. Sounds good on paper, doesn't it? But Natural Conservation Zone regulations permit construction on 0.5% land for tourism purposes. If you calculate 0.5% of 10 lakh hectaress, it comes to 500 hectaress of land And here is the catch. Kamal Nath is opening the doors for builders' lobby to grab 500 hectares of prime land in Gurgaon, Aravali hills and Faridabad, and even by conservative land rates of the government, the cost of 500 hectares is no less than Rs 50,000 crore. :ohmy: Sources in the Prime Minister's Office (PMO) said the Ministry of Environment and Forest (MOEF) had opposed Kamal Nath's move on environmental grounds. And the PMO had endorsed the MOEF's stand and had prevented the Union Urban Ministry from holding meetings in February and March in this regard. However, Kamal Nath reportedly gained permission from the Election Commission to hold the NCR Planning Board meeting today to enact his last design. Haryana Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda is fully backing Kamal Nath on the issue. This is happening despite the fact that the Supreme Court has declared this area as forest land under the Punjab Conservation Land Act. The apex court has even declared that protected area and wildlife sanctuaries, as is this 10 lakh hectares area, shall be treated as forest area and should be governed under the Forest Act. The Aravallis have wildlife and act as catchments for lakes in the area. The Supreme Court has also declared that 10km of area around the forest should be notified as an eco-sensitive zone. Egged on by the builders' lobby, the Hooda government hasn't done so. Kamal Nath's name had surfaced in a conversation with corporate lobbyist Niira Radia. Tarun Das, the former chief mentor of the Confederation of Indian Industry (CII), told Niira over the phone that he had pitched ''big time'' for Kamal Nath for the surface transport portfolio. "Highway construction and road construction is a big priority. He (Kamal Nath) is a doer. He can make his 15% in this. You can do national service and also make money…" said Das in the tapes. Radia had responded: "This (Surface Transport Ministry under Kamal Nath) is still an ATM."
http://www.dnaindia.com/analysis/standpoint-500-heactares-rs-50000-crore-kamal-nath-and-the-builder-lobby-eye-ncr-forest-land-1981857 Jaatey jaatey jitna haath maar sakta hai maar raha hai. The SC should look into this and stop this.

Kamal Nath overrules environment secy, grants 500 hectares to builders as parting gift

Two Congressmen — Union urban development minister Kamal Nath and Haryana CM Bhupinder Singh Hooda — on Friday hijacked the NCR planning board meeting despite stiff resistance from senior bureaucrats and signed an order converting 10 lakh hectares of forest land into a "natural conservation zone". Nath and Hooda showed the door to environment secretary Dr V Rajagopalan and his team as they had vehemently opposed Nath's attempt to change the 'land use' of the prime forest land spread over Faridabad, Gurgaon and Aravali hills. "You are not a member of the NCR planning board. So, your comments are not required," Hooda is learnt to have told Rajagopalan. And Nath is understood to have said: "If the environment ministry has any problem with our decision, they can approach the court." Rajagopalan apparently walked out after heated arguments. In his written comments, he strongly objected to the forest being converted to a natural conservation zone. "The Supreme Court judgment on forest clearly says that a hectare of land, with 10 per cent area under canopy will be declared as forest land and its status cannot be changed. And here it is 10 lakh hectares of forest land," he wrote. As reported by dna first, Natural Conservation Zone regulations permit construction on 0.5 per cent land for tourism purposes. Thus 0.5 per cent of 10 lakh hectares comes to 500 hectares of land. The catch is Kamal Nath is opening the doors for builders' lobby to grab 500 hectares of prime land in Gurgaon, Faridabad and the Aravali hills. Conservative estimates of the government peg price of 500 hectares of land at over Rs50,000 crore. The NCR planning board meeting fell short of quorum. There should be at least five members of the board present for approving or amending a plan. In Friday's meeting, four members, including Nath and Hooda, were present. Nath urgently called minister for housing and urban poverty alleviation Girija Vyas to complete the quorum. In their desperation, Hooda arrived for the NCR planning board meeting half-an-hour before the scheduled time. And Nath too reached dot on time to initiate the meeting. The Election Commission had allowed Nath to hold the meeting, but had prohibited him from taking any policy decision owing to the model code of conduct. Still, the NCR planning board went ahead and approved a major land use change in the Haryana sub region plan. Nath and Hooda's hastiness is evident from the fact that the high court of Punjab and Haryana had put a stay on the state for issuing any new licences to builders. The court had said that the state should first make land available for construction. In one stroke, 500 hectares of land is up for grab and thus it also opens the door for the Haryana government to issue new licences to builders. As reported by dna, Nath's name had surfaced in a conversation with corporate lobbyist Niira Radia. Tarun Das, the former chief mentor of the Confederation of Indian Industry (CII), told Radia over the phone that he had pitched "big time" for Nath for the surface transport portfolio. "Highway construction and road construction is a big priority. He (Kamal Nath) is a doer. He can make his 15% in this. You can do national service and also make money…", Das said in the tapes. Radia had responded: "This (surface transport ministry under Nath) is still an ATM."
http://www.dnaindia.com/india/report-kamal-nath-overrules-environment-secy-grants-500-hectares-to-builders-as-parting-gift-1982206 No comments from the BJP on this one....

This is such depressing news. I can still understand the bjp support but anybody who supports the congress need their head examined. Why is everyone including AAP quiet about this?

just allegations in this case by person who did not get ticket court has proven bjpcon of accepting foreign funds :thefinger:
Shazia Ilmi??
"Aam Aadmi Party would like to reiterate that the party does not believe in politics of communalism and is strictly against it. Neither will we evade or take lightly the concerns of AAP supporters and general public over such a serious issue,"
"the fact that those who have brought this 80 second clip in public domain have not shared the rest of the video which can show the actual context raises serious questions about the intentions behind the video clip".

Nothing surprises me these days.It is all about how much you can make out of natural resource.Forest, mines, Gas, coal..Development these days is how fast we allot these resources to few rich people and wait for wealth from these riches to trickle down to aam junta..

man these ppl donot understand the grave problem of climate change. i do not use AC in night and day if i am alone in the home. these retards will sell their mother. we have no other place to go except mother earth.

just allegations in this case by person who did not get ticket court has proven bjpcon of accepting foreign funds :thefinger:
so even AAP members who go against their party are just outsiders hellbent on ruining AAP. the same old ghisa pita narrative of indian politics. you are no different from others :hatsoff:
Nothing surprises me these days.It is all about how much you can make out of natural resource.Forest' date=' mines, Gas, coal..Development these days is how fast we allot these resources to few rich people and wait for wealth from these riches to trickle down to aam junta..[/quote'] Raghuram Rajan (circa 2008)
Nothing surprises me these days.It is all about how much you can make out of natural resource.Forest' date=' mines, Gas, coal..Development these days is how fast we allot these resources to few rich people and wait for wealth from these riches to trickle down to aam junta..[/quote'] It is literally r*ping of the land and the people who live close by. Hills and forests are completely denuded, in some cases hills just vanish. There was news of entire top soil being exported in karnataka. I suppose this is how natural resources are meant to be extracted and used, I don't know, but large scale destruction is very painful to see. At least they should use the funds they get out of it to repair the damage a little and improve the lives of people living nearby by investing in infrastructure and jobs, but when taxes are unpaid and money is parked overseas it feels like some foreign banks updated their databases to add some zeroes but all we got in return was destroyed land and destroyed lives. And most of these resources are non renewable in the sense once you get it out of the ground it is gone for ever. We have to exchange these one time resources for something more substantial like infrastructure or improved lives of people instead of extra zeroes in a thief's foreign account.