Selfish Hayden cost Australia '05 Ashes

Hmmm so now we compare SRT with Jayasurya! How the mighty have fallen. By the way why this cut-off for 13 games? If you are going to compare two players, one of which has got an extended run, do the same for both. Jayasurya in the last 25 tests averages 38.25. Not great but easily better than Sachin's 35.4. And trust me no cricket fan in right frame of mind would ever say that Sanath Jayasuriya was a better Test batsman than Sachin but your, and others, penchant of standing by Sachin shall do exactly that. xxx
Its not about comparing SRT and Jayasurya.. Its about which team has persisted with their star player inspite of his poor form.... and Jayasurya to Srlianka is like what sachin is to India
An avg of 35 should be a small matter for an all time great' date=' innit ? Lets see what he does. If he fails to average 35 then what ? Would you agree that he must be dropped ?[/quote'] I wanted him to be dropped before the England series earlier this year itself. Based on the numbers, he should have been dropped. But he wasn't. And that is the courtesy that is extended to all proven performers like shown in this thread. He did reasonably well in England and hopefully will avg >40 against Pak and Aus.
Guest BossBhai

-- Removed on request of the user --

He wasn't sacked because the Aussie selectors backed him given his proven record. Usually people say that what would have happened had an out of form xyz cricketer been Australian? The answer is that had he had a good past record' date= he would have been given a chance to come out of the slump.
And they(people) are right. You think Aussies being world champion has happened accidentally? No Sir, players have fought for their place and given their best shot. By the way you mentioned that not many players were dropped after Ashes, I am curious to know who exactly did you think the Selectors could have dropped Gambo? xx
Hmmm so now we compare SRT with Jayasurya! How the mighty have fallen. By the way why this cut-off for 13 games? If you are going to compare two players, one of which has got an extended run, do the same for both. Jayasurya in the last 25 tests averages 38.25. Not great but easily better than Sachin's 35.4. And trust me no cricket fan in right frame of mind would ever say that Sanath Jayasuriya was a better Test batsman than Sachin but your, and others, penchant of standing by Sachin shall do exactly that. xxx
If you can compare AK to SRT and say that AK outdid SRT in Eng, hum chote logon ko toh SJ ke saath compare karne ka bhi haq nahin hai :cantstop: Cutoff for last 13 games because that is when his slump started. Same for SRT since SL 2005 you guys use.
Its not about comparing SRT and Jayasurya..Its about which team has persisted with their star player inspite of his poor form....and Jayasurya to Srlianka is like what sachin is to India
:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: seriously man what are you smoking hain ji? Lets be clear on something. Even today(thanks to Selectors) the first name on Indian team sheet is SRT. In SL a Murali, a Vaas, a Sangakarra, heck perhaps even a Malinga would be picked before Jayasuriya's name is written.
Guest BossBhai

In 2006 we played Pak & lost' date=' played Eng & failed to win at home (humiliating), vs WI (won without Sachin), vs SA (lost). In this time we carried this old man in poor form.[/quote'] Failed against Pak and Eng. Fair enough. But 2nd highest runs against RSA in that series. We've been down this road before.
If you can compare AK to SRT and say that AK outdid SRT in Eng, hum chote logon ko toh SJ ke saath compare karne ka bhi haq nahin hai :cantstop: Cutoff for last 13 games because that is when his slump started. Same for SRT since SL 2005 you guys use.
Who is AK and when have I compared a person to SRT whose name I dont even remember? :hysterical::hysterical: And if you are serious about Jayasuriya's slump then surely you should give him the same number of "gift" Test matches that SRT has played. By the way I find it extremely funny an argument. I suppose next you will say look how Pakistan has persisted with Mohammed Hafeez as an opener :hysterical:
Guest BossBhai

hehehee lot of dirty laundry comming out :D Another one is Mark Taylor ... had a major horror run if my memory serves me right.
Correcto. Between Nov 1995 and Mar 1997: 13 tests 562 runs@25
Who is AK and when have I compared a person to SRT whose name I dont even remember? :hysterical::hysterical: And if you are serious about Jayasuriya's slump then surely you should give him the same number of "gift" Test matches that SRT has played. By the way I find it extremely funny an argument. I suppose next you will say look how Pakistan has persisted with Mohammed Hafeez as an opener :hysterical:
AK = Anil Kumble. Tell me this. Do you think a person like SRT should be given more leeway as compared to someone like Hafeez?
:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: seriously man what are you smoking hain ji? Lets be clear on something. Even today(thanks to Selectors) the first name on Indian team sheet is SRT. In SL a Murali' date=' a Vaas, a Sangakarra, heck perhaps even a Malinga would be picked before Jayasuriya's name is written.[/quote'] dude tell me ur joking... a team is composed bowlers, batsmen n a wicket keeper.. Murali, vass r all bowlers n Sanga is a keeper batsmen.. so for sure their names will b on the team sheet without any doubts..doesnt mean that jayasurya doesnt have tht kinda star status apart frm murali n Jayasurya, none has made such an impact on SL cricket..
Anil Kumble and SRT. Regarding SJ, Lurker he's averaged just 19 in his last 13 tests and is still starting as an opener tomorrow against Aus. Now what does that tell you? :cantstop:
Guest BossBhai

Anil Kumble and SRT. Regarding SJ, Lurker he's averaged just 19 in his last 13 tests and is still starting as an opener tomorrow against Aus. Now what does that tell you? :cantstop:
Okay so first up your comment about SRT and AK must have been tongue in cheek as I seriously can not remember saying that line. As for Sanath Jayasuriya why am I supposed to be defending him here :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Throw him out for all I care but charity begins at home - throw Sachin out first :finger:
dude tell me ur joking... a team is composed bowlers, batsmen n a wicket keeper.. Murali, vass r all bowlers n Sanga is a keeper batsmen.. so for sure their names will b on the team sheet without any doubts..doesnt mean that jayasurya doesnt have tht kinda star status apart frm murali n Jayasurya, none has made such an impact on SL cricket..
ZP, seriously man Jayasuriya has the same stature as Sachin?? What the freak happened to you? I can understand you comparing Murali to SRT, Ponting to SRT or someone who is widely considered his country's best player but Jayasuriya!!! Jayasuriya?? I am not even sure ke kahan se reply shuru karoon.
And they(people) are right. You think Aussies being world champion has happened accidentally? No Sir, players have fought for their place and given their best shot. By the way you mentioned that not many players were dropped after Ashes, I am curious to know who exactly did you think the Selectors could have dropped Gambo? xx
Since they are world champs, people think their standards are higher. But shown in this thread, Hayden avging 30 in 16 tests, Gilly avging 22 in 16 tests, Ponting 19 over 11 tests, were not dropped because they were proven performers and selectors allowed them time to get back into form. Same is happening in SRT's case. Nothing that hasn't happened in Australia before.
Tell me this. Do you think a person like SRT should be given more leeway as compared to someone like Hafeez?
He already has had that leeway. You are somehow suggesting that he is asked to retire after one series failure or two. Here let me remind you:
Tendulkar is our WORST TEST BATSMAN, in the last two years, finishing below Irfan Pathan, Dhoni & Yuvraj interms of average. Even interms of no. of runs he is SIXTH in the list, which doesnt say much, as people below him viz -- KKD, Ganguly, Yuvraj & Pathan, have all played far fewer no. of innings qe.gif
http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=61067&page=5 His performance in last few series. qs.gif 2004/05 against Australia 9th in batting average :tomato: 2004/05 against SA 6th in batting average 2004/05 against Pakistan 4th in batting average 2005/06 against SL 5th in batting average 2005/06 against Pakistan 10th in batting average :tomato: 2006 England SRT 9th in batting averages :tomato: qe.gif Seems pretty long leeway if you ask me!