Janata Parivar II

Texan

Well, when JDU and Nitish were happy with Advani as PM candidate but not Modi as PM candidate, clearly Nitish had some national aspirations. He deemed himself as Advani successor or the next great young leader to emerge from NDA. But Modi destroyed such aspirations and his blackmail to quit NDA if not Advani as PM candidate failed to have an impact. On TDP, they certainly won't ally with Congress. TDP is one party which roots are of anti-Congress. Their reason with BJP is to get special assistance from center. TDP needs BJP for their extra benefits from national government.

Thats cause in 2005 the Jd(u) BJP combine got 88 and 55 respectively. 143 seats. Jd(u) a long way short of 123 or 35 seats. In 2010 Jd(u) BJP got 115 and 91 seats respectively or 206 seats. 8 seats short of majority. Its after that election ideas started popping in the mind Nitish that he could go on his own. If the Jd(u) and BJP would have got similar results to 2005 Nitish would have stuck to the BJP for fear of losing. Thats why Nitish supported Advani. Its cause he felt at that time he needed the BJP to survive in Bihar. I feel Nitish needed an excuse to go alone and he got it when Modi was made Cm candidate.

All these people split in 90s because they couldnt stand each other and had big egos.What makes anyone think that they can stay together again?Esp. in Bihar Lalu wont allow Nitish to have the CM post because that will mean his family fiefdom will be endangered.He is now in a family alliance with Mulayam so he knows he holds the aces in the parivar. Nitish on the other hands knows he is politically finished if he doesnt become the CM and would never agree to play second fiddle to Lalu's wife or son.He has the Congress and the Left support so can go alone as well. A three way fight will make it interesting in Bihar.

Janata Parivar merger runs into rough weather

Three parties bogged down by internal problems; BJP working overtime to stall it The proposed merger of six parties of the Janata Parivar was never going to be easy, given the fractious nature of its protagonists. It was only the fear of political extinction for two of its members — the Janata Dal (United) and the Rashtriya Janata Dal — that had seen these two parties emerging as the prime drivers of the unity move, so much so that they had agreed to hand the presidency of the party to the Samajwadi Party’s Mulayam Singh. Now, all the three are facing internal problems that have are coming in the way of forming one outfit — problems that have nothing to do with the technical processes of merging six parties. The primary reason, of course, is that the Bharatiya Janata Party that stands to lose a great deal through this merger in Bihar, where Assembly elections are due later this year, is working overtime — openly and behind the scenes — to prevent it. The statistics for the Bihar Assembly elections of 2010 illuminate the BJP’s concerns: in that election, the JD(U)-BJP combine got 115 + 91 seats with 22.6 per cent and 16.46 per cent of the votes. The RJD that had got 18.84 per cent only got 22 seats. If the JD(U) and the RJD contest together, their 41.4 per cent will see them heading the pack. And if the Congress joins the JD(U)-RJD combine, its 8.38 per cent should compensate for the losses that the JD(U) may suffer because of the departure of Jitan Ram Manjhi and his group. Coal scam In the RJD today, party supremo Lalu Prasad’s close associate, Prem Gupta is in a spot with his son embroiled in the coal scam: reports suggest that the BJP has offered to bail him out if he ensures that the RJD-JD(U) merger does not go through. The JD(U)’s problems of course relate to Mr. Manjhi’s exit, and his campaigning against Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, describing him as anti-mahadalit. The BJP has been making overtures to Mr. Manjhi to join up, even as it is poaching from his newly formed party, the Hindustan Awam Morcha. In the SP that is not involved in this election, differences between Mr. Mulayam Singh and cousin Ram Gopal Yadav have erupted over the possible return of Amar Singh: Mr. Ram Gopal Yadav, who is totally opposed to the idea, announced earlier this month that the merger would take place only after the Bihar polls. Lalu’s optimism It is against this backdrop that Mr. Lalu Prasad’s statement on Wednesday assumes significance: he said a decision would be taken on the “merger or adjustment” soon, while rubbishing reports that the talks had got stuck on projecting Mr. Nitish Kumar as chief ministerial candidate — the last, he said, was a story being spread by the BJP-RSS combine. “A merger or adjustment will be decided after assessing all aspects and situation like safeguarding respective party symbols...it’s not a big issue...,” Mr. Prasad said. “We will take a decision on these issues at an appropriate time,” the RJD chief said “the bigger issue is to defeat BJP and not who will be CM or occupy what post”. A day after Mr. Prasad’s statement, SP leader Shivpal Yadav — and brother of Mulayam Singh — said, “The Janata Party merger will certainly happen… The BJP is afraid of this merger.” Indeed, if the merger eventually takes place, it will be the fear of the BJP that will do it.
http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/janata-parivar-merger-runs-into-rough-weather/article7261692.ece

Cong, JD (U), NCP and the Left parties decide to stick together, force Lalu Prasad to form alliance Read more at: http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/articleshow/47521557.cms?utm_source=contentofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst This effectively means Nitish has the upper hand v Lalloo..... BJP need to attack the Yadav vote share like no tomorrow as it appears the maha anti BJP alliance will happen. Laloo has the options of going with Manjhi or going with this alliance. But he has been effectively drowned out. Lalloo is already reeling from Pappu Yadav's rebellion. If he goes with Manjhi Lalloo IMO is going to come a poor third.... if he goes with Nitish with Rahul Gandhi backing Nitish he will continue to play second fiddle to Nitish..... The BJP on their part need to ensure that Manjhi and Pappu Yadav combine. Together these two are going to probably have 8-12% of the vote.

I wouldn't read too much about the war of words between RJD and JDU. It's like BJP and Shiv Sena, both parties today are really ideologically similar and have no other option but to work together to get into power. And it's RJD which really needs to win the elections and be in power. They cannot wait 5 more years. Another 5 years and they could be looking at Yadav votebank going away forever from them. The emergence of Pappu Yadav is just a start.

Tie up between Nitish Kumar's JD(U), Lalu Prasad's RJD unlikely for Bihar polls: Sources

Patna: Amid reports of growing differences between Nitish Kumar's JD(U) and Lalu Prasad Yadav's (RJD), sources on Thursday indicated that a tie up between the two parties is highly unlikely and two are not likely to contest the upcoming assembly polls in Bihar together. Despite living very close to each other, the two leaders have so far refrained from speaking on the issues concerning the proposed merger, triggering speculation that an alliance is off the table. While the RJD is vehemently opposed to the projection of Nitish Kumar as the chief ministerial candidate of the RJD-JD(U) alliance in Bihar, the JD-U has refused to compromise over its choice of the chief ministerial candidate. In a bid to sort out differences over forging an alliance ahead of assembly elections, an emissary of Lalu Prasad, RJD MLA Bhola Yadav met Nitish Kumar at his residence here yesterday. Bhola Yadav had worked as a private secretary to Lalu Prasad as well as his wife Rabri Devi for years. He is considered close to Lalu Prasad. On Tuesday, the Janata Dal-United (JD-U) president in Bihar, Vashisht Narain Singh, said that Nitish Kumar would indeed be the chief ministerial candidate of an anti-BJP alliance. Interestingly, the Congress and the Nationalist Congress Party are also backing Nitish Kumar. Amid continued logjam over a tie-up between Janata Dal (U) and the RJD, Nitish Kumar yesterday met party legislators and Parliamentarians and took feedback from them about the situation. Kumar interacted with JD(U) MLAs, MPs and party leaders of three districts - West Champaran, East Champaran and Bagha - at his 7 Circular Road residence. He will keep meeting the party MLAs and MPs from different districts till June 17. During his interaction with party leaders, Nitish Kumar asked his partymen and heads of various cells from different districts to gear up for the polls in case there is no alliance with the RJD. "I have not done anything wrong which should make you feel ashamed. Even he is speaking against me whom I elevated to the top. Now, he is talking about making a Nitish-free Bihar," Nitish said, in an oblique reference to Manjhi.
http://zeenews.india.com/news/bihar/tie-up-between-nitish-kumars-jdu-lalu-prasads-rjd-unlikely-for-bihar-polls-sources_1607257.html keep in mind Zee leans towards the BJP. May not be accurate or over the top

now sharad yadav says the alliance is on in a press conference.... chaos and confusion. Times of India ‏@timesofindia 34m34 minutes ago RJD-JD(U)-Cong will fight Bihar Assembly polls together: JD(U) President Sharad Yadav - PTI

Everything will be sorted at the end... These are just tactics to make BJP complacent...
The problem is that Sharad Yadav is hazzy on the details. There is no mention of Nitish Kumar as CM candidate or even seat sharing. The only thing they have really agreed upon is MLC elections. These are vague statements. The opposing alliance of BJP-Paswan-Khushwaha have already fought the lok sabha elections in tandem. So there is a framework of regions where somebody can contest. With the rise (supposed) of Pappu Yadav and the BJP eyeing the Yadav vote along with Laloo promoting his dumb ad feck children , you cant help but feel that the Laloo's voteback is under strain from all sides. There is no love lost between Yadavs and Nitish. i am sure laloo wants an alliance with Nitish. But not with Nitish as CM candidate. He may be able to digest equal seat sharing with Nitish. But playing second fiddle to Nitish hurts his image in the Yadav community. There have been reports of tier 2 Yadav leaders drifting to either Pappu or the BJP. A three way split in the yadav community and Laloo is finished politically. Already the Yadav community is like 15%. So its not a big %.His entire political career was built on Yadavs + Muslims + Addons. (which included other backward castes) + an alliance partner (like the congress or paswan). In every ABP news survey of possible cominations RJD was getting a lot more seats than the Jd(u) when they fought together. Why would you want to declare Jd(u)'s Nitish Kumar as the CM candidate?

One has to also look at it from the POV of Sharad Yadav. Defeated by pappu yadav in the lok sabha. Till 2014 he was seen as the second more powerful Yadav leader in the state. A person who managed to give Nitish an acceptable face in the Yadav community. Now he is in a position of being pushed in third position and becoming even more politically irrelevant. There is also a chance the BJP's Nandkishore Yadav eclipses him as well. There are plenty of Yadav's around. It makes sense for him to want an alliance. Say if the alliance happens. Nitish and Laloo manage to win the election. Laloo opposes Nitish as CM. Nitish opposes Lalloo's children as CM. In such a case Sharad Yadav becomes to consensus candidate. Yadav by name and acceptable to all.

The biggest drawback of this Parivar is ego and fighting on petty issues. Look at the fight on Mango between Nitish and Manjhi. Kya chetiyagir hai bhai, more than 100 policeman are guarding the baag of Mango in CM house so that Jeetan Manjhi is not able to eat those mangoes. http://khabar.ndtv.com/news/india/jitan-ram-manjhi-and-nitish-war-on-mango-768647?pfrom=home-khabar Leave my mangoes alone: Manjhi claims Nitish deployed cops to prevent him from stealing fruit :hysterical::hysterical: http://www.firstpost.com/politics/leave-mangoes-alone-manjhi-claims-nitish-deployed-cops-prevent-stealing-fruit-2278616.html

this is disgusting already there is an issue of law and order in Bihar. Nitish is wasting 100 policemen guarding mango trees? However manjhi has a track record of making an issue about everything and playing victim card. So will treat this news with caution. One thing is for sure come election time its going to be manjhi talking **** about nitish

Though Yadav did not divulge the formula he had in mind for bringing Nitish and Lalu together again, sources in the JD(U) told The Indian Express that the party is ready to part with 100 of the 243 seats for the RJD, keeping the same number for itself. Of the remaining 43 seats, they said 30 to 32 could be given to the Congress. The two Communist parties could be offered eight to 10 seats and the NCP, two. “We have 108 sitting MLAs and we are ready to sacrifice eight of them…..Lalu has only 24 and we have no problem increasing their share to 100,” said a JD (U) leader. “However, Nitish will be projected as the joint chief ministerial candidate as he is a brand and all candidates of the proposed combination would gain from his projection,” he added. The JD(U), according to sources, had no problem fixing the quotas of all partners in the post-poll ministry and even distribute portfolios in advance. At the same time, they ruled out the possibility of any alliance partner (meaning Lalu) being given the deputy chief ministership because “a provision of two centres of power runs counter to the demand of an effective governance.”
See more at: http://indianexpress.com/article/india/politics/rjd-jdu-congress-to-fight-bihar-elections-together-sharad-yadav/#sthash.XDraLl3L.dpuf Unless they plan to give home and finance to RJD, they are not really leaving much on the table for the RJD. If RJD do get 100 seats ad they emerge with more seats post elections. Your telling me they wont at the very least have deputy CM? Jd(u) IMO has a fair demand for CM. But not giving RJD even deputy CM seems they are asking a bit too much.