Crookbond Posted March 11, 2015 Posted March 11, 2015 Is there anybody aware of any study which has been done to assess the efficacy of CCTV cameras. I remember reading somewhere that CCTV cameras have been found to be effective very very rarely. They never work as the deterrent and in some very isolated cases they have helped in solving of the case. I am not sure if it is really worth to make investment at such grand levels as governments in Delhi and Telangana have promised. You are right. Here is a pretty good list of research on the efficacy (or lack of) on CCTVs http://journalistsresource.org/studies/government/criminal-justice/surveillance-cameras-and-crime Massive investment in CCTV cameras to prevent crime in the UK has failed to have a significant impact, despite billions of pounds spent on the new technology, a senior police officer piloting a new database has warned. Only 3% of street robberies in London were solved using CCTV images, despite the fact that Britain has more security cameras than any other country in Europe. http://www.theguardian.com/uk/2008/may/06/ukcrime1 That said, I do know of at least one country where CCTVs are massively useful.
Kalia_Test Posted March 11, 2015 Posted March 11, 2015 @kalia this is some vijaykanth level of analysis ??? Kindly add Kamal Hassan analysis if you can :two_thumbs_up: Where did I go massively wrong? Pls do remember...I am firmly against this CCTV stuff as I mentioned in my first reply in this thread...I was doing only cost analysis... You can laugh AFTER you give your analysis :two_thumbs_up:
velu Posted March 11, 2015 Posted March 11, 2015 ??? Kindly add Kamal Hassan analysis if you can :two_thumbs_up: Where did I go massively wrong? Pls do remember...I am firmly against this CCTV stuff as I mentioned in my first reply in this thread...I was doing only cost analysis... You can laugh AFTER you give your analysis :two_thumbs_up: i am referring to cost analysis .. vijaykanth is known for throwing some accurate statistics , let me add some videos ofor you :--D :offtopic: kalia & vijaykanth vQ_haiwgTlY
Kalia_Test Posted March 11, 2015 Posted March 11, 2015 For the record - my banging head reply is my view on this.... CCTVs IMO will not help bring down crime rate....I see few links in this thread and I agree with most. Just install CCTVs in a few strategic locations and be done with it. This 1 lakh crap is waste of money ( however I see that the amount is being hugely exaggerated - hence I posted my own amateur opinion on cost so that intellectuals can argue ). Irrespective of cost - it is waste of money. It is better spent on increasing police patrol vehicles, giving motorcycles to police,etc.
Kalia_Test Posted March 11, 2015 Posted March 11, 2015 i am referring to cost analysis .. vijaykanth is known for throwing some accurate statistics , let me add some videos ofor you :--D :offtopic: kalia & vijaykanth vQ_haiwgTlY I know this. Chiranjeevi copied it in Tagore. However, what do you find wrong in my cost analysis. Since you are expert in hardware/software/bandwidth costs - where have I exaggerated?
velu Posted March 11, 2015 Posted March 11, 2015 I know this. Chiranjeevi copied it in Tagore. However, what do you find wrong in my cost analysis. Since you are expert in hardware/software/bandwidth costs - where have I exaggerated? you are damn accurate , that y i compared you with vijaykanth :dontknow:
Kalia_Test Posted March 11, 2015 Posted March 11, 2015 you are damn accurate ' date=' that y i compared you with vijaykanth :dontknow:[/quote'] Thanks...I initially thought I made a ' Vijay (not kanth)' mistake and you are making fun of me :--D I might be off mark a bit but that guy bashing Kejriwal in the link was too much...pulling crap from his backside on cost... I am sure even Telangana Govt ( for all its ills and jingoisim ) must have done its due diligence before announcing this in its State budget ( which will be monitored everywhere ). Also - Technology is evolving so rapidly that some of the earlier constraints may not even be valid. I am not defending this CCTV though. At the moment, it is useless. Once we have reliable software that tracks human movements and is able to do basic analysis where need for human monitoring is less than 1 %, it will be a good idea.