sallu bhai ka kya hoga ?

Clarke

In the US he would have been booked for at least 20 years in 2002-2003. 1. Driving under the influence 2. Driving without a license 3. Speeding 4. Murder 5. Driving with intent to kill 6. Running away from the scene 7. Trying to twist the law and countless lies These are the only ones I can think of but they would have charged him on 30 counts easy! Yes, social service helps reduce the penalty in certain cases but it would not help in this case especially after trying to twist the law by making the driver confess wrongly. There are cases where you'd think the accused don't get convicted because of unclear evidence and lack of witnesses. In this case, there is plenty of both.
I posted a news in the previous pages, it's about a 20 year old Florida girl who has been sentenced for 24 ****ing years as she was drunk driving and killed two people.

In the US he would have been booked for at least 20 years in 2002-2003. 1. Driving under the influence 2. Driving without a license 3. Speeding 4. Murder 5. Driving with intent to kill 6. Running away from the scene 7. Trying to twist the law and countless lies These are the only ones I can think of but they would have charged him on 30 counts easy! Yes, social service helps reduce the penalty in certain cases but it would not help in this case especially after trying to twist the law by making the driver confess wrongly. There are cases where you'd think the accused don't get convicted because of unclear evidence and lack of witnesses. In this case, there is plenty of both.
I posted a news in the previous pages' date=' it's about a 20 year old Florida girl who has been sentenced for 24 ****ing years as she was drunk driving and killed two people.[/quote'] SO?We need to follow US laws?Why exactly? What next?Follow Arabic laws because they give out even tougher punishments? In US people wouldnt have been sleeping on the pavement either.

SO?We need to follow US laws?Why exactly? What next?Follow Arabic laws because they give out even tougher punishments? In US people wouldnt have been sleeping on the pavement either.
Why have justice system then? Just for the heck of it? Justice delayed is justice denied... In this Sallu case (and many other delayed cases), justice has been denied to the victims... Sallu could've hit anybody on that day, while drunk driving... Not just people sleeping on pavements...

SO?We need to follow US laws?Why exactly? What next?Follow Arabic laws because they give out even tougher punishments? In US people wouldnt have been sleeping on the pavement either.
If you look at the comment that was quoted you can see that this was a response to someone saying that if it was in the US the social service would've been taken into account. The argument here is if it was in the US justice would've been swifter and sallu would've been thrown behind bars before he gets the opportunity to do social service. Nobody is saying here that we need to follow the US laws.

Why have justice system then? Just for the heck of it? Justice delayed is justice denied... In this Sallu case (and many other delayed cases), justice has been denied to the victims... Sallu could've hit anybody on that day, while drunk driving... Not just people sleeping on pavements...
1Justice delayed isnt justice denied.Salman has as much right to appeal as the victims have for justice.He has don nothing wrong by appealing and getting bail. 2.Do you know that the prosecution changed the charges mid trial and added culpable homicied which resulted in a fresh trial and delay?Why blame Salman? 3.He didnt hit anybody else,but people on the pavement.Also it remains to be seen what the higher court says about who was driving the car.

The prosecution added culpable homicide mid trial mainly because of the high profile nature of the case. In hundreds (or rather thousands of such cases) of hit and run cases in India there is almost never a charge of culpable homicide that too mid trial.

It is clear that Salman was driving the car and he will surely have to serve his sentence, the duration is up court now.

If you look at the comment that was quoted you can see that this was a response to someone saying that if it was in the US the social service would've been taken into account. The argument here is if it was in the US justice would've been swifter and sallu would've been thrown behind bars before he gets the opportunity to do social service. Nobody is saying here that we need to follow the US laws.
What would have happened in US is immaterial.Indian system doesnt run on jury trials.There was a time in India when Jury trials ran and criminal cases would be done within 2-3 from sessions court to Supreme court. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/K._M._Nanavati_v._State_of_Maharashtra Read the above link and you would know why jury trials were abolished and since then how the pace of cases gone slow.

It is clear that Salman was driving the car and he will surely have to serve his sentence' date=' the duration is up court now.[/quote'] Then you havent heard the lawyers talking about the case since last 2 days.There is a big chance that the testimony of Patil may be thrown out.

It is clear that Salman was driving the car and he will surely have to serve his sentence' date=' the duration is up court now.[/quote'] The Kamaal khan angle is very important . He is only Live witnesss available. May be it is strategy of his lawyers to use kamaal khan in later stage

People are saying if it was in US' date=' he would have been reprieved after 10 years of social service that he has done.[/quote'] NO WAY. No license and drunk driving was enough to put him behind bars for next 15-20yrs. I was once pulled over for minor violation but while checking my drivers license (which was out of state) for some reason the cop couldnt pull it up on his system or something. The cop even told me its a system glitch yet game me ticket, it was their fault yet had to stand infront of judge to clear it up.

Do you even read what you type? How insensitive is that last sentence ?

1. People die before the court convicts them. How is justice served then? Justice should be prompt and effective. Your other two points are not reasonable.

Do you even read what you type? How insensitive is that last sentence ?
Why?Why only compare punisment with US and why not the circumstances?
1. People die before the court convicts them. How is justice served then? Justice should be prompt and effective. Your other two points are not reasonable.
1.We are talking about this case. 2.What is unreasonable?

Can the higher courts increase the sentence if they wanted or is 5 years the max now?
Higher courts in India are lenient .A 1984 riots convict was 7 condemned to death by session court but supreme court turned that life imprisionment

Can the higher courts increase the sentence if they wanted or is 5 years the max now?
It can but I'm quite sure it won't. Charges of culpable homicide were brought on later so I don't think higher courts will increase his punishment under these charges.