All those who want yuvi to open ...

living

Excuse me Mr.Living ? Have you played cricket ? If yes, do you bat behind the stumps when facing faster bowlers ? Tait isnt superman.. now stop blowing his bowling out of proportions.
People have been dismissing Tait as a 'non-threat' bowler, and ppl have been over estimating Yuvi's opening skills and Sehwag's potential to destroy the aussies (given his current form) I'm just providing a preview of things to come .... or rather my opinion of what will happen if we open with non specialist openers (lots of ppl yapping about Lax, RD, SRT or even Pathan opening)
DR, Just why is Sehwag then not able to hit the domestic bowlers for ten fours? Not in one or two matches, but in so many matches he has played over last many months. Why has he not been able to do that if he is that destructive? Answer(if u dont know already): he is woefully out of form, and his hand-eye co-ordination is not there.
And sehwag's game is based a lot on the cut shots that he plays. He likes to play on pitches offering true bounce with not much side-ways movement whereas on indian pitches you need your feet to move well on slow low pitches. Can be one of the reason of him not doing well...
Yeah... Even I hope every single Aus bowler be fit when we land. I dont want to hear any execuses.... BRING IT ON BABY.....:dance:
It will fun to see how he does against the great Indian batting line up. I also hope he(and others) are fit for the Pakistan series- can you imagine a bowling lineup of Tait, Johnson,Clark, Lee on one side and Shaoib, Asif, Gul on the other...probably the sexiest(not in terms of looks) bowling attacks since Ashes 05.

^ He does hammer the Pakistanis alot. Lets see if he can do so in Tests against other countries. If you exclude Pakistan, his average drops to 23, but he has only played 13 tests against non-Pakistanis. In any case it is pretty stupid to ask someone who has cemented his spot for 16 years as a middle order batsman to open, just because someone trying to make their way into the side scored 1 century. Would Lara open for Windies? Would Ponting open for Australia? Would Kallis open for SAF?

See, there are two different questions that need to be addressed. 1) Should have been selected over Chopra in the sqaud ? - Mostly not 2) Can he score against the Aussies - Cant say for sure. But, in a recent discussion I had with Bumper, he told something very important. He talked about the risk-reward ratio of including Sehwag. He told me that it is worth the risk to include Sehwag, coz if he fires, he will set-up the match for us. However, if a Akash Chopra "fires", we still arent guaranteed of winning the match.Sometimes, we just have to take the punt, back yourself and go for it. That is what the Indian team has done. And we must take that risk early in the series. There is no point playing Sehwag in the third test , after having drawn or lost the first two.
out of curiosity, is it possible for us to have a read of your actual conversation viz the risk reward ratio. Cause i think it is a very bad probablity. Its like spending 1000Rs for a 100 Crore lottery waging against 1 lakh other people. I feel the risks clearly outweigh the rewards.
cuz he bats at #3..yuvraj bats at #6...3 to 2 is nto a big jump but from 6 to 1 or 2 is a huge one. and we talk abt dravid has the bst technqiue then who better than him and he isnt in the best of the form..let yuvraj milk the runs down in the middle order.
I understand what you are saying about technique ... and technique and temperament wise Dravid seems perfect to open. Its just that if you lose Dravid early you lose that person that can consolidate early on. I would pick Sehwag for the MCG test. Just to send a message to Australia that we want to attack you from ball 1.