Desi Cartman Posted February 13, 2008 Posted February 13, 2008 'cos it's far worse than tobacco. as it kills in 10 years where as smoking kills you in 10 -60 years ... I know what you mean but I can never see any logic as to why is it ok to sell tobacco
Lurker Posted February 13, 2008 Posted February 13, 2008 My story is going to be a lengthy one , I hope someone can learn from it At the age of 18 I was introduced to smoking by my friends, I was so allergic to smoke that I couldn’t smoke for more than 4 puffs but then I found the clove cigarettes as they were lighter on my throat and they tasted better. One clove cigarette lasts for more than 7-8 mins and I became a habitual smoker. After graduation as I was moving to Aus I had decided that since a pack of cigarettes cost $10 I wont be able to afford it on my student budget and hence I will have to quit. As soon as I landed in Aus I decided to have few Marlboro lights every now and then. Well that "now and then" went on for 7 years. I fell into depression for a few years (basically home sick and some personal problems) and then told myself it was ok to smoke as its helps me with low mood and anxiety (it actually makes it worse). I was always waiting to quit when I meet my life partner and I did meet her more than 2 years ago and told her that I plan to quit smoking ASAP and promised that I would. Well again I didn’t till we got married. I am glad I quit then I have stayed away from it. I still have a week or a day when I will buy a pack and smoke a few but then I'll throw the pack away. I still don’t tell my wife if I have a cigarette (like a teenager) as I am ashamed of it and I fear that if somehow I am able to convince her that its ok to smoke 1 or 2 a day then I will go back to the usual 12-14 a day pretty quickly. I have tried chewing gums , patches (made me throw up with in hours and then I slept for 10-12 hrs), hypnotherapy tapes , read a lot of forums. The way I have found effective : A picture : Put a pic of a dieing patient of cancer as your desktop wallpaper. It made me stay away from cigarettes for 6 months once Nicotine chewing gum : you don’t need to chew the whole thing just take a small piece and that should kill the anxiety Water : it does help a lot , whenever you have the urge then just drink a glass of water and then decide to delay the urge for 10 mins Friends : tell all your friends that you have quit , even if you break the promise you made to yourself don’t tell your friends Hypnotherapy : It does help. I have a free mp3 which I will attach later today to this thread Its all in the head , at the end of the day its you who decides. Do you want to leave your partner alone in this world? Do you want to see your kids grow up? Can you imagine your family and friends crying when you vomit blood. I think of this and it makes me a little stronger every time. I hope my senti post helps some .. Good luck .... Wow I feel so senti :(( Fantastic read DD :regular_smile: thanks for sharing. The highlighted portion is a very good method to address any addiction/drawback. I once was in a situation where I would like to check Internet every 2 minutes. It didnt really matter what or how but I had to have the Internet xplorer open. I thought that today I wont open it at all but failed after half an hour. Then I started working on this 10 minute theory where I said okay let me not visit for 10 minutes, then another 10 minutes and so on. And that sooo worked. I suppose thats what players mean when they say - Lets take a session at a time. Thanks for sharing.
Desi Cartman Posted February 13, 2008 Posted February 13, 2008 this pic can make anybody quit Also read the webpage http://whyquit.com/whyquit/BryanLeeCurtis.html
Desi Cartman Posted February 13, 2008 Posted February 13, 2008 this hypnosis mp3 is also helpful. http://www.4shared.com/file/37648470/b4f7e831/quit.html listen to it as often as you can & it will help :two_thumbs_up:
coffee_rules Posted February 13, 2008 Posted February 13, 2008 I did go cold turkey after smoking for about 8 years. The motivation was marriage. I haven't smoked even one day after marriage. My wife's father used to smoke and she grew up hating it. She couldn't have stood even one day from her man. It helped me that all my friends quit smoking after marriage. So, we would hang out with beers only without cigis. I think you should first quit on pals who smoke. They influence you a lot. I have a friend who has been smoking even now (we started together), he is always among people who smoke. He has not been able to quit even now.
Rajiv Posted February 13, 2008 Posted February 13, 2008 I never thought I could quit, I smoked for 15 years as well....I quit cold turkey, and its the best thing I ever did I might have an occasional 1 or 2 but I don't get the habit again
Predator_05 Posted February 13, 2008 Posted February 13, 2008 Wow, it's amazing how this forum is just full of smokers...Hari, DD, Rajeev, Coffee, Ravi, Boss, shwetabh, Dhondy...
Rajiv Posted February 13, 2008 Posted February 13, 2008 even aditi used to smoke ( I think she quit too )
Guest HariSampath Posted February 13, 2008 Posted February 13, 2008 harisampath' date=' i think u need a girl..[/quote'] I have always had 'em and it dont help , I light up later :D
Rajiv Posted February 13, 2008 Posted February 13, 2008 Quick question, What is "Cold Turkey" ? Well, before you plan to quit. You buy a frozen turkey, open the legs apart and bury you face in it. The experience is so humiliating that it makes you wanna quit smoking
Desi Cartman Posted February 13, 2008 Posted February 13, 2008 Well' date=' before you plan to quit. You buy a frozen turkey, open the legs apart and bury you face in it. The experience is so humiliating that it makes you wanna quit smoking[/quote'] :haha::haha::haha::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
Aditi Posted February 13, 2008 Posted February 13, 2008 even aditi used to smoke ( I think she quit too ) Yeah I was a social smoker for a few years. When I did light up at the pub or club, I'd be pretty relentless and smoke a pack at a time. The day I started craving cigs during the daytime was when I decided to quit, and the only way for me to quit was cold turkey. I'm happy to say I haven't had a smoke in the last 3 years :)
coffee_rules Posted February 13, 2008 Posted February 13, 2008 Well' date=' before you plan to quit. You buy a frozen turkey, open the legs apart and bury you face in it. The experience is so humiliating that it makes you wanna quit smoking[/quote'] :hysterical: I couldn't have put it in better words.
Guest HariSampath Posted February 13, 2008 Posted February 13, 2008 Quick question, What is "Cold Turkey" ? Sriram, cold turkey means having withdrawl symptoms, more commonly associated with narcotic addiction, but probably can be used for all substance dependence.
Dhondy Posted February 13, 2008 Posted February 13, 2008 Wow' date=' it's amazing how this forum is just full of smokers...Hari, DD, Rajeev, Coffee, Ravi, Boss, shwetabh, [b']Dhondy... Not me, Pred, I've never smoked. My dad did, and I grew up hating it.
Dirty_South Posted February 13, 2008 Posted February 13, 2008 I used to smoke more than a pack everyday ... sometimes two! I recently cut down a lot , I now have 3-5 per day and gradually want to Quit .....
Sachinism Posted February 13, 2008 Posted February 13, 2008 hmm never smoked cigarettes, though i smoke marijuana wanted to stop, but that didnt work, didnt try hard enough i guess so started smoking again, dont really have a reason to stop at the moment i think in Canada they print pics of peoples lungs and stuff after they've been smoking, try and check some pics out and see if you get put off by it
talksport Posted February 13, 2008 Posted February 13, 2008 This thread makes me feel better...... I have just given up smoking after 16 years of gold flakes and benson and hedges from the turn of the year...Went cold turkey , decided on 31 st night. I have carred a 2 litre water bottle and a strip of paracetamol for 3 weeks ...Whenever I felt the urge acted severe head ache ( you probably will have it).... Dont plan for the day....Just give up on a fine day...You probably are planning all along. Lastly Dont give up, Giving up...
coffee_rules Posted February 13, 2008 Posted February 13, 2008 You don't want to be the one among 10 lakhs... http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Smoking_will_kill_10_lakh_in_India_every_year_Study/articleshow/2780711.cms