Vijy Posted March 5, 2021 Posted March 5, 2021 4 minutes ago, Muloghonto said: All joking aside, We need to develop Kishan or another one of the young wicket keepers as the backup keeper. Pant cannot play every single test, ODI, T20 and IPL for the next 15 years running. Periodically he will have to be rested and scoring a ton as a keeper is no joke - its the bowlers equivalent of scoring a 50 and taking 5 wickets in an innings. We have to manage his workload of he will burn out by the time he is 30. that is true. my belief is that we should have diff keepers for diff formats. pant is currently more of a sehwag-type player. he tends to try and score too quickly in ODIs and does not allow himself to settle in. I'm not saying that this will always be the case - he can and will adapt. but, it is worth considering playing diff keepers. my current picks are: pant in tests (backup: ??), rahul in ODIs, as he has the versatility (back-up: kishan), kishan in T20s (backup: samson).
Muloghonto Posted March 5, 2021 Posted March 5, 2021 Just now, BacktoCricaddict said: No doubt. I would go as far as to say rest Pant from ODIs. Tests and T20s only. not gonna happen. He is too good an ODI player to give up completely on the format and no cricket worth his salt will willingly or unwillingly sit out the world cup without grumbling. And that means he cant just show up to the world cup every 4 years - he has to play the format to stay confident and match fit in the format. Which means rotation.
Muloghonto Posted March 5, 2021 Posted March 5, 2021 2 minutes ago, Vijy said: that is true. my belief is that we should have diff keepers for diff formats. pant is currently more of a sehwag-type player. he tends to try and score too quickly in ODIs and does not allow himself to settle in. I'm not saying that this will always be the case - he can and will adapt. but, it is worth considering playing diff keepers. my current picks are: pant in tests (backup: ??), rahul in ODIs, as he has the versatility (back-up: kishan), kishan in T20s (backup: samson). i would say that as long as Pant's stamina keeps up and his glovework keeps improving, he has to be the main guy or backup across all formats. Even if he plays like Sehwag, as long as he is scoring 20 ball 30s regularly in ODI format, he will be worth his spot in the team.
Vijy Posted March 5, 2021 Posted March 5, 2021 Just now, Muloghonto said: i would say that as long as Pant's stamina keeps up and his glovework keeps improving, he has to be the main guy or backup across all formats. Even if he plays like Sehwag, as long as he is scoring 20 ball 30s regularly in ODI format, he will be worth his spot in the team. one option is to play 2 keepers in odis and t20s and rotate them. I think KLR could merit selection in ODIs as a batsman, and he can keep in some of the matches. likewise with kishan in t20s. however, for tests, there's pant and then daylight. Muloghonto 1
Muloghonto Posted March 5, 2021 Posted March 5, 2021 2 minutes ago, Vijy said: one option is to play 2 keepers in odis and t20s and rotate them. I think KLR could merit selection in ODIs as a batsman, and he can keep in some of the matches. likewise with kishan in t20s. however, for tests, there's pant and then daylight. Yeah. Also tests are the most exhausting, particularly the long series. If we are winning 3-1 or losing 1-3 and its 5th test, i can see the merit of resting Pant Vijy 1
BacktoCricaddict Posted March 5, 2021 Author Posted March 5, 2021 (edited) 1 minute ago, Muloghonto said: Yeah. Also tests are the most exhausting, particularly the long series. If we are winning 3-1 or losing 1-3 and its 5th test, i can see the merit of resting Pant I can buy that. But yaad rakhna, with Pant, we are never losing 1-3. Edited March 5, 2021 by BacktoCricaddict
Muloghonto Posted March 5, 2021 Posted March 5, 2021 (edited) 12 minutes ago, BacktoCricaddict said: I can buy that. But yaad rakhna, with Pant, we are never losing 1-3. If we have lost test series 4-0 with Tendulkar in the team, to Pant kaun si kheth ki Muli hai - mere muloghonto may to nahi jayeega Edited March 5, 2021 by Muloghonto