12 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

Yeah, that was a joke.

Currently all the SSBNs are lying out in open at Vizag...completely exposed.

This underground facility will help

Not all SSBN.. among 4 at least 2 will be out there somewhere with their locations unknown. 

That's the point of having second strike capability 

24 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

Saw it, I dont even know whom to pinpoint fingers on.

ISRO being a civilian dominated agency is least bothered if not oblivious of the risks satellites carry in Geopolitics.

Then we have our Defence PSUs like HAL..who are aware of the risks, yet they are lethargic and has limited work ethic. Atleast other sectors like DRDO, BARC, MDL, HSL etc are doing something, albeit at slow pace.

Seems, being such a huge country with massive population and limited per capita. We aren't capable of paying enough salaries to attract the best minds in quantity, neither the govt has enough funds to sustain these all massive projects, as huge chunk of our budget is going in welfare schemes and paying off the loans/emis for the imports.

I knew things were bad with NaVic but after watching this yes I felt uncomfortable.  

Will forever be against Mangalyaan, Gaganyaan type PR related programs.  Waste of Taxpayer's money.

They spend 600 odd crores to send some astronaut on a Space X Axiom 4 mission.

Rightly got backlash after continuous launch failures.

As things stand it was rightly pointed out that Private players and Indian start-ups simply don't want to get their hands dirty either.

Edited by Lone Wolf
12 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

Germany flown our Defence Minister in a military A400M.

Seems they are pitching it hard.

A400M does carry 37-40 Ton payload but its extremely costly.

It does offer more payload and can easily carry Zorawar tank in comparison to C130J or C390 (though it can carry).

Negotiate it with P75I & club it with G2G deal or something.

3 hours ago, rangeelaraja said:

Solid decision...we should let the French know that we are prepared to walk away from the deal

They won't do that and they also know we don't have any other option 

Gripen has an engine made by US company General Electric and subject to US arms export regulations (ITAR). French Rafale is free of that and that's why it is favourable in comparison 

4 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

They won't do that and they also know we don't have any other option 

Gripen has an engine made by US company General Electric and subject to US arms export regulations (ITAR). French Rafale is free of that and that's why it is favourable in comparison 

Thats why French equipments cost so much.

They have build everything by themselves. Hence they charge kidney and liver for that. 

8 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

Thats why French equipments cost so much.

They have build everything by themselves. Hence they charge kidney and liver for that. 

Also the maintenance cost of Rafale is much more affordable to IAF.

Costs of 4.5 gen Aircrafts has skyrocketed across the board..

Turks are literally paying premium dollars for Eurofighter themselves while they are closer to their indigenous 5th gen KAAN being reality.  Ideally we should also be doing the same.

IAF needs numbers and with Chinese producing hundreds of fighters per year as of now we can't even make a dent on PLAAF.

Also MKI line should be restarted full fledged as I always have maintained with advanced Indian avionics, entirely new sensors and weapon systems.  

Edited by Lone Wolf
4 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

Also the maintenance cost of Rafale is much more affordable to IAF.

Costs of 4.5 gen Aircrafts has skyrocketed across the board..

Turks are literally paying premium dollars for Eurofighter themselves while they are closer to their indigenous 5th gen KAAN being reality.  Ideally we should also be doing the same.

IAF needs numbers and with Chinese producing hundreds of fighters per year as of now we can't even make a dent on PLAAF.

Also MKI line should be restarted full fledged as I always have maintained with advanced Indian avionics, entirely new sensors and weapon systems.  

IAF is hesitant in giving more order for Su30MKI.

They just have 12 and then again shut shop. Should have Ideally given 36 or 54 to get 2-3 more squadrons as these new 12 jets will come with GaN based Virupaksha radar which will allow MKI to see 400+ kms.

I think, Su57 deal is being seen as a future version of Su30MKI. It being a heavy fighter jet, is too expensive for light reconnaissance sorties. And we dont have advanced medium or light category fighter jets in numbers.

Defence Minister Rajnath Singh Explores Advanced Submarine Technologies At TKMS Facility In Kiel, Germany https://defence.in/threads/defence-minister-rajnath-singh-explores-advanced-submarine-technologies-at-tkms-facility-in-kiel-germany.17546/

Even now they are exploring, why the wait man.

Sign the frigging deal and let the work happen. MDL submarine line is in idle state awaiting their next set of work, and here we have neither signed scorpene+ nor P75I so far.

Once the production line will lose the ability, then they will place orders leading to massive delays due to logistical delays.

1 hour ago, singhvivek141 said:

Defence Minister Rajnath Singh Explores Advanced Submarine Technologies At TKMS Facility In Kiel, Germany https://defence.in/threads/defence-minister-rajnath-singh-explores-advanced-submarine-technologies-at-tkms-facility-in-kiel-germany.17546/

Even now they are exploring, why the wait man.

Sign the frigging deal and let the work happen. MDL submarine line is in idle state awaiting their next set of work, and here we have neither signed scorpene+ nor P75I so far.

Once the production line will lose the ability, then they will place orders leading to massive delays due to logistical delays.

Ninda Turtle Navy ki bhi maar hi Raha after IAF.. I can't wait to see someone competent in charge of MoD. 

52 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

Ninda Turtle Navy ki bhi maar hi Raha after IAF.. I can't wait to see someone competent in charge of MoD. 

What saddens me is that despite the known issues, we have not yet closed even one of them.

Everything is still lying open and nothing has moved.

I understand, that budget has a limit. Hence theh cant spend everything together, but some prioritisation need to happen

For IAf, MoD need to priortize whats immediate for them...falling squadron numbers, fuel tankers, Cargo or Sukhoi Upgrade..and address the one first.

Same goes for Navy...P75I or 3 Scorpenes and then whether P17B, P28A or P18. Prioritize one and move along towards it.

Next budget they can spend money into the next priority.

Its a simple project management, where you break a massive problem into smaller segments and work on those smaller segments at full potential. Doing everything together is extremely time taking & have higher chances of failure, given the way we dont have any experience for such extent of projects.

4 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

What saddens me is that despite the known issues, we have not yet closed even one of them.

Everything is still lying open and nothing has moved.

I understand, that budget has a limit. Hence theh cant spend everything together, but some prioritisation need to happen

For IAf, MoD need to priortize whats immediate for them...falling squadron numbers, fuel tankers, Cargo or Sukhoi Upgrade..and address the one first.

Same goes for Navy...P75I or 3 Scorpenes and then whether P17B, P28A or P18. Prioritize one and move along towards it.

Next budget they can spend money into the next priority.

Its a simple project management, where you break a massive problem into smaller segments and work on those smaller segments at full potential. Doing everything together is extremely time taking & have higher chances of failure, given the way we dont have any experience for such extent of projects.

As per German defence minister it will take three months more lol..

They first said FY26 which has passed now.

$8 billion is a whopping amount for 6 SSK's but that's what you get for 15 years of delays and ultimately its Atmanirbhar Deutschland but hopefully we get some meaningful ToT like Koreans got from TKMS.

From what I am seeing is all major acquisitions and projects are in limbo as of now.  Deliberate attempt to neuter Armed forces or they themselves are confused. For 10 years it's just time pass especially post Parrikar 

Edited by Lone Wolf
1 hour ago, Lone Wolf said:

As per German defence minister it will take three months more lol..

They first said FY26 which has passed now.

$8 billion is a whopping amount for 6 SSK's but that's what you get for 15 years of delays and ultimately its Atmanirbhar Deutschland but hopefully we get some meaningful ToT like Koreans got from TKMS.

From what I am seeing is all major acquisitions and projects are in limbo as of now.  Deliberate attempt to neuter Armed forces or they themselves are confused. For 10 years it's just time pass especially post Parrikar 

They take an year or two, devil may care.

But atleast start something in return, maybe start P77 as we have sufficient experience with Chakra and SSBN. Or kickoff P17B or P18.

In shallow seas the ASW and P8Is can track easily the AIP submarines...hence we have an advantage there. P77 will give us immense advantage even in the deep seas.

36 Rafales, 26 Rafale-M, 307 ATAGS, Apaches are the few massive contracts given. But we need more. This is too slow.

I know at thr Army side, there are massive contracts signed as army needs are usually low cost and very specific, drones is somethinh where govt is investing heavilu...while Navy & Air Force need expensive mega equipments to keep them competent and functional, specially from China perspective.

38 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

They take an year or two, devil may care.

But atleast start something in return, maybe start P77 as we have sufficient experience with Chakra and SSBN. Or kickoff P17B or P18.

In shallow seas the ASW and P8Is can track easily the AIP submarines...hence we have an advantage there. P77 will give us immense advantage even in the deep seas.

36 Rafales, 26 Rafale-M, 307 ATAGS, Apaches are the few massive contracts given. But we need more. This is too slow.

I know at thr Army side, there are massive contracts signed as army needs are usually low cost and very specific, drones is somethinh where govt is investing heavilu...while Navy & Air Force need expensive mega equipments to keep them competent and functional, specially from China perspective.

Yep mostly UPA era orders are carrying the armed forces & these guys for last 12 years have delayed every single thing that was supposed to be planned.  Things were actually going very smoothly on Naval front and there was a road map and vision. Even Rafale was long identified as premier strike platform in upcoming years.

S400 was literally Parrikar navigating us he just pushed through.  Submarines were next on his radar before his demise.

Ninda Turtle has to be one of the worst MoD has seen in three decades.. Kuch sign hi nahi kiya hai bande ne.  Literally his PR driven machinery and taking credit of his predecessors.

Apache are a supermassive scam and geopolitical Jaziya imposed on us by US we all know the reasons.  Ex Army chief has publicly expressed his displeasure even on those ultra slow deliveries and roadblocks.

As things stand they will wait for next Financial year for P17B..  Ninda Turtle will take the W with P75I and call it a day.  

Americans have lost any goodwill they once had in India.  After Trump's outburst against Indians yesterday and now this.

A subtle threat in a way but OG's have always known that.

1 hour ago, Lone Wolf said:

Americans have lost any goodwill they once had in India.  After Trump's outburst against Indians yesterday and now this.

A subtle threat in a way but OG's have always known that.

Lol the irony, RWs and Modi bhakts were praying, doing yagna for Trump's victory amd see what happened? A big big lesson for Modi and RWs. American/Western RW parties are bad news for India

45 minutes ago, Sgattick10 said:

Lol the irony, RWs and Modi bhakts were praying, doing yagna for Trump's victory amd see what happened? A big big lesson for Modi and RWs. American/Western RW parties are bad news for India

There were legit defenders here supporting  deportation of Indians in Chains only for Trump to call them uncivilized animals from hell holes lol

In any case there is no shortage of Brown sepoys in the country and he might be biggest of them all.

This is just another case of creating confusion.

Whose idea is that to come up with single engine AMCA...when the engine isnt ready and proven.

Stick to twin engine version of AMCA, it along with Rafale needs to be our medium combat version whose outer layer would be Tejas mk2

If they want a single engine AMCA, create Ghatak mk2 instead, which is stealthy and can use homegrown Kaveri engine. They can expand the airframe and weapons bay to carry more heavy weapons which can do air strike missiles.

And for god sake, reduce the variety. Tejas, Rafale, Sukhoi & AMCA should be our fleet, supported by Ghatak in UCAV.

No need of buying additional toys from Israel, UK or some other random nation which may lead to spare issues later which we are facing with Jaguars.

https://defence.in/threads/the-case-for-a-mini-amca-how-a-single-engine-5th-gen-fighter-could-solve-the-iafs-squadron-depletion-crisis.17557/