In Absence of Lord Vishnu, BCCI erred by not invoking Brahma/Shiva

No extraordinary cricketing brain is needed to guess this. Among Holy trinity of three, at least one is needed to preserve us from onslught of spinners. By the final, Sri Lankans easily figured out current crop of so called Young Indian batting line up can be nuked by a Mendis or Murali, the reason they kept Mendis hidden in previous match. For the first time in history of Indian cricket we find ourselves in a very odd situation where our frontline batsmen are most vulnerable to spin than other teams. Imagine we had a SRT or Ganguly or Dravid in the middle to mess with these Mendises...In absesnce of SRT, even Ganguly was enough to step out and send the Mendis where he rightly belongs. Present lot, simply can't replace the Holy Trinity, we have mediocre Uthappas and Rainas, an apprentice in Rohit Sharma, UV is well known against spin, so is Dhoni...so does this expose BCCIs usual lack of vision or was it deliberate to keep Senior-Junior thingie in check or "infuse" young blood and all that hot air? If tomorrow Ganguly or Dravid feel angry, there anger is fully justified! Why can't we utilize their services/experience when they are available and fit?? Wht's this allergy with seniors??

yaar to be frank not sure. we haven't really been winning these finalz in past too along with the big 3.. apart from this recently CWB tri series in Aus. yaa, but i would have definately loved to have Tendulkar and Dravid in my squad. would always back to keep Dravid in odi team middle order. he is the best when it comes to tackling the pressure

Yes, because Ganguly and Dravid won India lots of finals against Sri Lanka, right ? :haha: This is a good team, but the Sri Lankans are better. It's as simple as that, no excuses
I am all for young and fit team, in fact, everyone of us upported this team, when they brought T-20 cup. Come CB series and we were protected by SRT. But point is, if SRT is injured, it is just logical to keep either RD or SCG as reserve, at least they are still more than enough to replace Uthappa. Also, if had a specialist player out of three, Dhoni got a partner who can stay till end and play anchor role. Thats all we needed, a bat who can negotiate spinners at one end and youngsters slaughtering pacers. This match was winnable, had we gone with either of three, me thinks.

Who are you going to drop for Ganguly ? Gambhir ? Definitely not. Sehwag ? Well, judging by the way he has been playing lately, that's also another no. So that rules out Ganguly. Who are you goign to drop for Dravid ? Raina - one of the top run scorers of the Asia Cup ? No. Rohit ? Maybe. But then the team would concede another 20 in the field by default - Rohit was sensational in the field today. Doesn't make a difference either way. Ganguly and Dravid lost too many finals when they were around, so i'm 100% sure that their presence wouldn't have affected the outcome today. With Tendulkar it might have been a different story but he wasn't available for selection anyway, so there is no point in discussing him

This is ridiculous. Once or twice its okay. But the repeated comparison of sachin with god is pathetic. really!
It's just a metaphor, TK ji.....remember, in Vedanta we see god in everything and everything in god -- Aham bahmosmi- I am the one ..:winky:
Who are you going to drop for Ganguly ? Gambhir ? Definitely not. Sehwag ? Well, judging by the way he has been playing lately, that's also another no. So that rules out Ganguly. Who are you goign to drop for Dravid ? Raina - one of the top run scorers of the Asia Cup ? No. Rohit ? Maybe. But then the team would concede another 20 in the field by default - Rohit was sensational in the field today. Doesn't make a difference either way. Ganguly and Dravid lost too many finals when they were around, so i'm 100% sure that their presence wouldn't have affected the outcome today. With Tendulkar it might have been a different story but he wasn't available for selection anyway, so there is no point in discussing him
I think we are too paranoid about batting order here. In absence of SRT, we could have easily accommodated either RD or SCG in replacing Uthappa and push Dhoni further down the order. Today Dhoni was fighting the lost battle, he needed a reliable partner to win this one. As far as, winning record in finals is considered, it won't be long before Dhoni breaks previous lows if we continue loosing like these.