Tillu Posted Thursday at 03:42 PM Author Posted Thursday at 03:42 PM 11 hours ago, Tillu said: Automation is useful for repetitive tasks and doesn't solve all the problems. Most product designs keep changing frequently and they need to re-calibrate their machines to account for the new design changes. If there is any glitch in the design process you will be left with long line of defective products. Anyway even if Chinese companies invest in India, we will most likely assemble the components imported from China. We never invested in making the spare parts in India. If you take an air conditioner for example, even today we mostly import important components like compressor etc from abroad. Good thing is the Govt. recently replaced the PLI scheme with MPMS(Mobile phone manufacturing scheme) and ECMS(Electronic components manufacturing scheme). India currently assembles 99% of phones used in the country. PLI brought us scale and these two new schemes will provide us depth and IP. After this we should slowly introduce similar schemes to develop mechanical components like motors, pumps, nuts and bolts etc which are foundational to build frontier technologies as well. Voltas, the ACs selling company after its inception, for the first time has tied up with an Indian company called Atomberg to manufacture AC compressors in India due to these schemes. Currently we import close to $40 billion worth of electronic components from China alone. These schemes would do well to reduce those imports.
Tillu Posted Friday at 04:40 AM Author Posted Friday at 04:40 AM Interesting article and highly relevant to India as well. Burnout Nation: Why Neijuan (Involution) Feels Pervasive in China
Lone Wolf Posted Saturday at 08:55 AM Posted Saturday at 08:55 AM Just like the US situation, India basically lacks any kind of leverage over China as well. All we can do is signalling & hurt their pride but nothing concrete
Tillu Posted Saturday at 09:25 AM Author Posted Saturday at 09:25 AM 23 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said: Just like the US situation, India basically lacks any kind of leverage over China as well. All we can do is signalling & hurt their pride but nothing concrete This confusion comes from looking at China as our equal. They are 5 times larger than our economy and own all the supply chains in the world. We have zero leverage and it will remain so until we reduce the huge trade deficit with China by building all the industrial outputs in India itself. It's not as easy as banning Tiktok and other Chinese apps. Lone Wolf 1
Lone Wolf Posted Saturday at 09:37 AM Posted Saturday at 09:37 AM 2 minutes ago, Tillu said: This confusion comes from looking at China as our equal. They are 5 times larger than our economy and own all the supply chains in the world. We have zero leverage and it will remain so until we reduce the huge trade deficit with China by building all the industrial outputs in India itself. It's not as easy as banning Tiktok and other Chinese apps. Media feeds the delusion. Since Mainland China is far away from us and there is not much people to people connect with them nor their culture or their folk religion or anything so basically what's left is our interpretation. Chinese public too doesn't has much knowledge of India or how it is beyond watching Amir Khan films. From whatever I have read they think we are still stuck in 80's like Pakistan. It's only recently Indian vloggers and content creators are going there and common people have found some more info about the structure of their society. GoI and our experts usually are mum about their defence capabilities as they don't want to raise alarms within the country... Trade deficit is a problem and our sheer dependency is only increasing. No government can risk inflation as well if they decide to turn the tide and risk falling out of power. India will keep playing waiting game for as long as it can. CCP can't be trusted & if anything it is reported that XI is mild when it comes to India in comparison to other top CCP big wigs. That's even Modi G wants to keep him neutral. Tillu 1
Tillu Posted Saturday at 10:17 AM Author Posted Saturday at 10:17 AM 19 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said: Media feeds the delusion. Since Mainland China is far away from us and there is not much people to people connect with them nor their culture or their folk religion or anything so basically what's left is our interpretation. Chinese public too doesn't has much knowledge of India or how it is beyond watching Amir Khan films. From whatever I have read they think we are still stuck in 80's like Pakistan. It's only recently Indian vloggers and content creators are going there and common people have found some more info about the structure of their society. GoI and our experts usually are mum about their defence capabilities as they don't want to raise alarms within the country... Trade deficit is a problem and our sheer dependency is only increasing. No government can risk inflation as well if they decide to turn the tide and risk falling out of power. India will keep playing waiting game for as long as it can. CCP can't be trusted & if anything it is reported that XI is mild when it comes to India in comparison to other top CCP big wigs. That's even Modi G wants to keep him neutral. Yeah with sudden deluge of travel vloggers from India and even western travellers, people have finally opened their eyes to what is being reported to what is the reality. Chinese development and infrastructure mogs even the western infra in many ways. And they did all this by maintaining their inflation at 2%, managing their currency appreciation/depreciation at 2% on either side of the base level, while also recording a double digit growth for decades. I get the impression that we wilfully never make any attempts to tame the inflation because that will not allow the big companies to squeeze our pockets dry while improving their stock and company evaluations. Whatever gains we made from buying Russian oil we lost exponentially more than that through our currency depreciation. We would have been a $5 Trillion economy by now without Trump coming to power and this West Asian conflict. We've been growing at 6%, 6.5% and occasionally 7% since 1980s and it will remain so for the foreseeable future. We are far too dependent on US for our growth and the govt is opening it's opening their eyes only now to diversify our exports to Europe, Asia and everywhere else. We will always fall short when we compare ourselves with an industrial behemoth like China and need to temper those lofty expectations. Lone Wolf 1
randomGuy Posted Saturday at 10:43 AM Posted Saturday at 10:43 AM 25 minutes ago, Tillu said: Yeah with sudden deluge of travel vloggers from India and even western travellers, people have finally opened their eyes to what is being reported to what is the reality. Chinese development and infrastructure mogs even the western infra in many ways. And they did all this by maintaining their inflation at 2%, managing their currency appreciation/depreciation at 2% on either side of the base level, while also recording a double digit growth for decades. I get the impression that we wilfully never make any attempts to tame the inflation because that will not allow the big companies to squeeze our pockets dry while improving their stock and company evaluations. Whatever gains we made from buying Russian oil we lost exponentially more than that through our currency depreciation. We would have been a $5 Trillion economy by now without Trump coming to power and this West Asian conflict. We've been growing at 6%, 6.5% and occasionally 7% since 1980s and it will remain so for the foreseeable future. We are far too dependent on US for our growth and the govt is opening it's opening their eyes only now to diversify our exports to Europe, Asia and everywhere else. We will always fall short when we compare ourselves with an industrial behemoth like China and need to temper those lofty expectations. Our people need to stop importing luxury stuff, stop going to abroad studying, vacationing, spending on IELTS etc. basically preserve forex reserves because we import more than export.
ravishingravi Posted Saturday at 11:04 AM Posted Saturday at 11:04 AM 20 minutes ago, randomGuy said: Our people need to stop importing luxury stuff, stop going to abroad studying, vacationing, spending on IELTS etc. basically preserve forex reserves because we import more than export. No chance of that happening. I see trend only growing.
Tillu Posted Saturday at 11:36 AM Author Posted Saturday at 11:36 AM 35 minutes ago, randomGuy said: Our people need to stop importing luxury stuff, stop going to abroad studying, vacationing, spending on IELTS etc. basically preserve forex reserves because we import more than export. If we compare outgoing travellers with incoming travellers, we actually gain valuable forex to the tune of more than $15 billion annually. We lose very little forex on education. What we need to do is reduce gold imports which accounts for $71 billion annually. It just stays in India and we don't even make finished products like jewellery to export outside. The main aspect pulling our GDP down is inflation. If we tame the current inflation levels from 5-6% down to 2%, we can continuously register near double digit growth rates. Simply increase the supply of all the food and products we are consuming. China maintained an inflation rate of 2% for decades by supplying more than they consume. For example China's AC usage is 150% to India's 12%, which means most households have more than 2 ACs. Even today they make 2 ACs for every one AC sold. And you see the same pattern for every product. Food prices account for nearly 70% of our inflation because of the Mandi system, not enough cold storage facilitiesand not enough reefer trucks to transport the produce where 20% of it is wasted annually because of the long distances they have to travel. And the other aspect is importing components to make the finished goods. We are essentially an assembling nation importing all the important spare parts. The govt is currently trying to address this issue through various schemes like MPMS and ECMS.
randomGuy Posted Saturday at 11:39 AM Posted Saturday at 11:39 AM 30 minutes ago, ravishingravi said: No chance of that happening. I see trend only growing. Right. We can play our part. Me and my brother earned (brother still earns) salaries from foreign cos. and assignments. Do not visit abroad, didn't study abroad, don't buy luxury imports. There has to be a realisation of national situation.
bsriharsha Posted Sunday at 07:40 AM Posted Sunday at 07:40 AM 21 hours ago, Tillu said: And they did all this by maintaining their inflation at 2%, managing their currency appreciation/depreciation at 2% on either side of the base level, while also recording a double digit growth for decades. The Chinese yuan is strictly controlled by the govt. The true value is never known. I will take their inflation metrics with a huge grain of salt.
Tillu Posted Sunday at 08:00 AM Author Posted Sunday at 08:00 AM (edited) 3 hours ago, bsriharsha said: The Chinese yuan is strictly controlled by the govt. The true value is never known. I will take their inflation metrics with a huge grain of salt. They could control the Yuan only due to them having huge foreign currency reserves. Their inflation metrics are more or less accurate due to the huge scale at which they manufacture everything. According to some estimates, China lost $6 Trillion in unrealised projects like ghost towns, highways going no where and other capital expenditure projects. That's why they are market leaders in Solar, EVs, Steel production etc. They pump and subsidise so much capex into frontier technologies that even if became a market leader in atleast few of them, they could recoup all their money and profits. The speed and scale with which they execute gigantic projects is un-nerving to even the western countries. In India people have an issue with govt spending even on metro projects. Edited Sunday at 10:43 AM by Tillu
singhvivek141 Posted Sunday at 11:58 AM Posted Sunday at 11:58 AM (edited) 3 hours ago, Tillu said: They could control the Yuan only due to them having huge foreign currency reserves. Their inflation metrics are more or less accurate due to the huge scale at which they manufacture everything. According to some estimates, China lost $6 Trillion in unrealised projects like ghost towns, highways going no where and other capital expenditure projects. That's why they are market leaders in Solar, EVs, Steel production etc. They pump and subsidise so much capex into frontier technologies that even if became a market leader in atleast few of them, they could recoup all their money and profits. The speed and scale with which they execute gigantic projects is un-nerving to even the western countries. In India people have an issue with govt spending even on metro projects. All this is because of stupid, freaking democracy. Taking care of people's feelings and opinions...that's for a society which is self aware. Not a society like ours which are dumb enough to even vote for Asim Munir if he give them enough freebies. Edited Sunday at 11:59 AM by singhvivek141
Tillu Posted Sunday at 12:32 PM Author Posted Sunday at 12:32 PM 31 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said: All this is because of stupid, freaking democracy. Taking care of people's feelings and opinions...that's for a society which is self aware. Not a society like ours which are dumb enough to even vote for Asim Munir if he give them enough freebies. Yeah China being communist can think long term. Democracies especially in developing countries do not have that privilege. They can't think beyond the next 5 years. If you leave China and the other developed economies we are doing alright.
randomGuy Posted Monday at 02:36 AM Posted Monday at 02:36 AM On 9/12/2026 at 5:06 PM, Tillu said: If we compare outgoing travellers with incoming travellers, we actually gain valuable forex to the tune of more than $15 billion annually. We lose very little forex on education. What we need to do is reduce gold imports which accounts for $71 billion annually. It just stays in India and we don't even make finished products like jewellery to export outside. The main aspect pulling our GDP down is inflation. If we tame the current inflation levels from 5-6% down to 2%, we can continuously register near double digit growth rates. Simply increase the supply of all the food and products we are consuming. China maintained an inflation rate of 2% for decades by supplying more than they consume. For example China's AC usage is 150% to India's 12%, which means most households have more than 2 ACs. Even today they make 2 ACs for every one AC sold. And you see the same pattern for every product. Food prices account for nearly 70% of our inflation because of the Mandi system, not enough cold storage facilitiesand not enough reefer trucks to transport the produce where 20% of it is wasted annually because of the long distances they have to travel. And the other aspect is importing components to make the finished goods. We are essentially an assembling nation importing all the important spare parts. The govt is currently trying to address this issue through various schemes like MPMS and ECMS. Lastest iphone is 3lac/4.5lac in India. Our average annual income is 2.08 lac. Stats after stat show the aukat of our currency. Yet we want to do vacationing in west. Foreign college education has no purpose except immigration and experiencing another country. We don't get enough remittance from Canada etc. Forex reserves just flow into their countries. Gold importing is also wasteful. But atleast it can be sold back.
Tillu Posted Monday at 03:43 AM Author Posted Monday at 03:43 AM (edited) 2 hours ago, randomGuy said: Lastest iphone is 3lac/4.5lac in India. Our average annual income is 2.08 lac. Stats after stat show the aukat of our currency. Yet we want to do vacationing in west. Foreign college education has no purpose except immigration and experiencing another country. We don't get enough remittance from Canada etc. Forex reserves just flow into their countries. Gold importing is also wasteful. But atleast it can be sold back. Yeah We spend 10s of billions forex on education abroad and the best thing is after they finish their education they will be a continuous source of remittances for as long as they stay in that country. So education abroad is not a wasteful expenditure. Yeah students pursuing education in Canada and Australia is a net negative for India. And on top of that Canada is the biggest source of Racism against Indians on the internet. US/UK has old diaspora relative to Canada/Australia that's why the positive forex. May be in another 7-10 years these two countries may become net positive. Edited Monday at 05:24 AM by Tillu randomGuy 1
randomGuy Posted Monday at 05:38 AM Posted Monday at 05:38 AM 1 hour ago, Tillu said: Yeah We spend 10s of billions forex on education abroad and the best thing is after they finish their education they will be a continuous source of remittances for as long as they stay in that country. So education abroad is not a wasteful expenditure. Yeah students pursuing education in Canada and Australia is a net negative for India. And on top of that Canada is the biggest source of Racism against Indians on the internet. US/UK has old diaspora relative to Canada/Australia that's why the positive forex. May be in another 7-10 years these two countries may become net positive. 4 of my cousins pursued education abroad, 2 came back, the other 2 will also come back. Very Average at studies. Wasting parents money, education loans, and most importantly India forex reserves. When PM is repeatedly saying preserve forex reserves, selfish logon ke kaan pe joon tak nahi rengti. We should do our part reg. avoiding foreign travels and spread awareness. Tillu 1
bsriharsha Posted Monday at 01:19 PM Posted Monday at 01:19 PM On 9/13/2026 at 1:30 PM, Tillu said: They could control the Yuan only due to them having huge foreign currency reserves. Their inflation metrics are more or less accurate due to the huge scale at which they manufacture everything. According to some estimates, China lost $6 Trillion in unrealised projects like ghost towns, highways going no where and other capital expenditure projects. That's why they are market leaders in Solar, EVs, Steel production etc. They pump and subsidise so much capex into frontier technologies that even if became a market leader in atleast few of them, they could recoup all their money and profits. The speed and scale with which they execute gigantic projects is un-nerving to even the western countries. In India people have an issue with govt spending even on metro projects. They controlled the yuan because US thought that the best way of containing China was to throw them money