Walk of Life By: Sarita Tanwar Date: 2008-08-17 Mumbai: The first explosion of gay pride in Mumbai appeared as though the parade would be more like a small gathering, rather than an impressive number that represented the gay community of India that includes lesbians, gays, bisexuals and transgenders. But once the parade was underway, the crowds doubled with many people joining mid-way. There were spectators who had collected simply to gawk, curiosity writ on their faces. The TV channels and the print media were in full force. The foreign press was surprised by the size of the parade and asked about the strength of the gay community in India — a question no one had a real answer for. A lot of participants were disappointed by their peers who chose to stay at home. Said a guy who wore a mask, "Maybe if there was less media coverage, there would have been more people. A lot of people in the community are open about their sexuality but their families are unaware. And in cases that family members are aware, they do not want their neighbours and relatives to know, so a lot of my friends skipped the parade." There were more men than women in the parade, but what women lacked in numbers they made up in spirit. Especially the group carrying a gigantic rainbow flag from Delhi and those who sang in Gujarati. Drag queens in boas and tiaras and women in hats and colourful masks — simply everyone was making a statement. There was an air of festivity among the participants, sponsors and spectators alike. It was a fun march spiked with interesting slogans like: 'Hindu, Muslim, Sikh Isayi, Homo Hetero bhai bhai'. :hysterical: Everyone wanted the first parade to end peacefully and it did. Already the group is talking about adding two wheelers and floats to next year's event. But we are still ages away from the parade being a government-funded event which also attracts corporate sponsors. In many countries, the pride parade is promoted as a major tourist attraction for the host city and Pride parades are now also called Pride Festivals. Some of these festivals have a regular carnival with information booths, music concerts, barbecues, beer stands, contests, sports and games. Will we ever get there? Read more interesting views http://www.mid-day.com/news/2008/aug/170808-gay-march.htm

I don't understand why these people have to indulge in this "in your face" show of their sexuality. India is not America.There are lots of people in India who support their cause (unlike the law) but this, in your face expression is not going to help their cause.Heterosexuals don't go around having parades .By doing this ,they will lose support amongst the people. Instead of this ,they should work towards changing the law by holding discussions . People do not accept public expression of physical intimacy in India....that does not mean they object to physical intimacy. Similarly,lot of people are OK with homosexuality but are put off by the OTT expression of it just as they would be put off by OTT expression of heteros. I support their cause to get the law changed...but I am not going to go out and walk with them if they are going to do their stupid"look Iam gay" act around me!:--D

Well... 61 years late, but here nonetheless... time equal rights were extended to everyone. Now, repeal Section 377 of the Indian Penal Code... its draconian, its archaic, and its undemocratic.

I don't understand why these people have to indulge in this "in your face" show of their sexuality. India is not America.There are lots of people in India who support their cause (unlike the law) but this, in your face expression is not going to help their cause.Heterosexuals don't go around having parades .By doing this ,they will lose support amongst the people. Instead of this ,they should work towards changing the law by holding discussions . People do not accept public expression of physical intimacy in India....that does not mean they object to physical intimacy. Similarly,lot of people are OK with homosexuality but are put off by the OTT expression of it just as they would be put off by OTT expression of heteros. I support their cause to get the law changed...but I am not going to go out and walk with them if they are going to do their stupid"look Iam gay" act around me!:--D
is there something wrong with a "in your face" display of a characteristic that is intrinsic to a particular individual? if it make you uncomfortable, then maybe there are some walls of intolerance that we need to scale. nevertheless, i am sure the movement appreciates your support.
Its difficult to explain, but the pride parade is less to do with an over the top display, but more to do with embracing something that most have had to keep concealed... its a monumental event for some people when they emerge from the closet and confront their family and friends with this truth. i had a similar experience when i expressed my atheism to my family that is quite religious, and though they reject my premise, they are nonetheless, supportive. the pride parade is bit like that breathe of fresh air after being stifled by a lifetime of discrimination. an expression of exasperation by an individual who feels the ubiquitous oppression.
Rads, i disagree.. It is usually the minority communities that have to indulge in 'in your face' behaviour to get the majority to acknowledge their rights - and i think its quite good to have gay pride parades when the govt. considers it illegal. Immagine if women allowed to work was illegal- i am sure we'll see some marches on that topic and rightly so. Yuo ar right that India is not a society where public expressions of physical intimacy is well accepted - but that is very wrong. Whats wrong with public intimacy ? why is sex such a taboo subject to you folks ? what is wrong with your father kissing your mother on the lips in front of you ? IMO if anything, its healthy to see some physical intimacy in front of your eyes because it is natural and it has nothing crassy about it. Think about this - our parents would fight in front of us (or atleast, most indian parents do) but they'd never kiss or hold hands (in the lovers gestures) in front of us- surely, this skewed perspective is damaging to our perspectives of relationships and intimacy. India IMO has a huge problem with sexual expression, because our culture is stifling in that regard. Something as natural as ' i love him/her, therefore i am going to sleep with him/her and live with them' is such a taboo act in India - no, it must be 'formalized' through marriage (meanwhile i am going , arre baba, i am 19-20, she's the same- we dont wanna get rushed into marriage- we want a relationship and we dont want to hide it because we dont think we are doing anything wrong). Prostitution is a huge issue in India ( it is a huge issue in the west too, but far bigger in India) and IMO its because of such public intolerance of sexuality that we have so many people acting like ' sauch pati-patni' in public but sneaknig off to the *****houses later on-believe you me,this is very common. We need to keep our family values but our sexual values need to be like the west- that is the way forward for a well adjusted society IMO.
Its difficult to explain' date=' but the pride parade is less to do with an over the top display, but more to do with embracing something that most have had to keep concealed... its a monumental event for some people when they emerge from the closet and confront their family and friends with this truth. i had a similar experience when i expressed my atheism to my family that is quite religious, and though they reject my premise, they are nonetheless, supportive. the pride parade is bit like that breathe of fresh air after being stifled by a lifetime of discrimination. an expression of exasperation by an individual who feels the ubiquitous oppression.[/quote'] It's not about "coming out". Most of these ***s have already come out of the closet. These people want to make changes in society and change legislation to grant themselves equal rights. That's why they take the streets and protest. You becoming an atheist doesn't have an impact on society as you are the only one who is affected by it for the most part. You also don't start spreading AIDS by changing your mindset in that way. Bad comparison
It's not about "coming out". Most of these ***s have already come out of the closet. These people want to make changes in society and change legislation to grant themselves equal rights. That's why they take the streets and protest. You becoming an atheist doesn't have an impact on society as you are the only one who is affected by it for the most part. You also don't start spreading AIDS by changing your mindset in that way. Bad comparison
you intelligence and awareness confounds me... (sic)

lol @ the parade but seriously what is wrong with this predator guy?. here are some theories- 1) was dropped on his head when he was a toddler. 2)still to come-feel free to contribute.

I really don't have any objections to gays as such, coz I don't know how they actually feel inside The first time I came across one was back in 1997, when me and my friend were driving home from a club and gave lift to this guy was walking in the cold, and suddenly I felt his hand coming over, we both kinda told him to f**k off and the guy was so apologetic. I felt really bad after that. I heard this interesting snippet on the radio that some gays deliberately want to be HIV positive, coz it relieves them from the tension and trust. The response was " if I have it, I don't need to worry about it and some day or other, we gonna get it anyway ". Now thats bullshit, a disease which will lead u to AIDS and people are fighting all kinda of ways to find a cure and here we have some who deliberately want to be affected so their social sex life becomes more comfortable.

you know there was this one pakistani guy in my undergraduate dorm who was flaming gay (i mean queer eye for the straight guy's carson kresley and well looked like jai rodriguez) and made a pass at me a number of times, much to the amusement of my girl friend... while i would be immensely uncomfortable at that particular instant, in retrospect, it did indeed stroke (sic) my ego quite a bit.
lol @ the parade but seriously what is wrong with this predator guy?. here are some theories- 1) was dropped on his head when he was a toddler. 2)still to come-feel free to contribute.
While I completely disagree with what Predator has to say, he does have the right to say it.
While I completely disagree with what Predator has to say' date=' he does have the right to say it.[/quote'] not questioning his right to free speech... just questioning his ideology...

Fully agree with Predator. In my opinion, urge for practices such as Gayism, attraction towards animals (beastiality, zoophilia), sadism-masochism, cannibalism, paedoghilia and various similiar mental conditions known or unknown among human species should be handled with adequate care. Hyper-libreal intellectuals should not jump and throw an aura of "majority" "minority", rights and all that nuisance into it and make an issue out of it. Not only these, there are many disorders/conditions among humans which are since birth and or later stage upbringing of child or even genetic disorder which lead to some unique disease seen in only that person. We all must sympathise/empathize with these fellows and lend all our help in providing them medical/psychological counselling and more funduing to find cure for such conditions, so that they can be cured and lead a normal life.

not sure what gayism is... and what does homosexuality have to do with beastiality and zoophilia... as for S&M... tell you what... if you can keep your sex life engrossing after the first two years without opening the horizon for kink, then either sex for your is regular missionary, in and out mundane or well your partner is quite accommodating of your bland taste.
not questioning his right to free speech... just questioning his ideology...
From someone who thinks that Indian women are ugly, I really don't have any regard for their ideology, open-mindedness or tolerance.