Ram Posted October 9, 2008 Posted October 9, 2008 Many people I have talked to, site the convenience aspect and quality of life issues, as one of the main reason why they still continue to be here. I doubt if its only monetary reasons anymore. Besides, if its a single income family with kids in the US, the expenses shoot over the roof and you hardly end up saving anything.
Desi Cartman Posted October 9, 2008 Posted October 9, 2008 I have been living in Aus fopr the last 8 years and have been to few countries , below are the problems that make every trip a little more difficult than the last one * Traffic : the number of cars parked in any street has gone up by 300% in the last few years. Yesterday it took me 2 hrs to get to a place which is just 10kms away. Roads are big but are there is a flaw , the exits are not designed well so there are bottlenecks *Roads : People living in delhi will agree with me that the roads were actually better in Delhi 8 years ago, what pisses me off more is the fact that CM of Delhi wants to use its success when it comes to fixing roads in their campaign for the next election. *Rudeness : If you hold the door for the next person then he doesnt thank you. If you request the guy in the next lane to let u jump in then he says "teri ma ki ...." , educated people dont have patience to stand in a queue , they refuse to look at you when u ask them a question like "why cant u sell me this for at the marked price" ... however , if u say thanks to a poor guy he will say "welcome" and smile at you. If you let a cycle wala cross the road he will look at you in the eye and wonder how can someone let him go first ... *Relatives : My relatives keep an eye on the number of days my wife wants to spend at her mum's and they shamelessly ask "you just came couple of days ago and u want to visit your mum".. I dont know WTF they are about but one thing for sure , they will never shut up .. baki .. I have a very long list & I will write a blog once I'm back in the aussie land ...
gs Posted October 9, 2008 Posted October 9, 2008 I love mutha land to the core, but pathetic infrastructure is my main gripe. The roads just after the monsoon season are a sight on the coast of Karnataka. There are more pot holes than patches of asphalt that's visible. Power cut is still a pain. Pollution is beyond anyimagination. There is no emissions control, open drainage, factories spew pollutants as much as they wish. Sab chalta hai. It still takes about a week and greasing palms to get basics such as a new gas connection, phone/internet connection or water supply. Despite these hardships, the younger generation is vibrant and energetic. There is some sort of an infectious enthusiasm and confidence. Its a kind of undescribable feeling. Nothing can suppress this human spirit and this is what keeps India ticking! And finally there is always the great food (fried-rice/hakka noodles from road-side gaadi also tastes phenomenal!!!) and family of course. Sometimes I just wish the infrastructure was a little better.. sigh!
punjabi_khota Posted October 9, 2008 Posted October 9, 2008 Give me money to do research, and I will be back. I don't wanna go back to India into a good research job after PhD. which will pay me less than the job I got after my B.Tech 3 years ago. Everything else is secondary..but I ****ing miss the food, the desi babes and their nakhre, my best friends and 50 paise ironing services (I abso****inlutely hate ironing).
Willow_on_fire Posted October 9, 2008 Author Posted October 9, 2008 I have been living in Aus fopr the last 8 years and have been to few countries , below are the problems that make every trip a little more difficult than the last one * Traffic : the number of cars parked in any street has gone up by 300% in the last few years. Yesterday it took me 2 hrs to get to a place which is just 10kms away. Roads are big but are there is a flaw , the exits are not designed well so there are bottlenecks *Roads : People living in delhi will agree with me that the roads were actually better in Delhi 8 years ago, what pisses me off more is the fact that CM of Delhi wants to use its success when it comes to fixing roads in their campaign for the next election. *Rudeness : If you hold the door for the next person then he doesnt thank you. If you request the guy in the next lane to let u jump in then he says "teri ma ki ...." , educated people dont have patience to stand in a queue , they refuse to look at you when u ask them a question like "why cant u sell me this for at the marked price" ... however , if u say thanks to a poor guy he will say "welcome" and smile at you. If you let a cycle wala cross the road he will look at you in the eye and wonder how can someone let him go first ... *Relatives : My relatives keep an eye on the number of days my wife wants to spend at her mum's and they shamelessly ask "you just came couple of days ago and u want to visit your mum".. I dont know WTF they are about but one thing for sure , they will never shut up .. baki .. I have a very long list & I will write a blog once I'm back in the aussie land ... You echo the sentiments of most people who experince this....it is all about quality of life...if only one appreciates it.
coffee_rules Posted October 9, 2008 Posted October 9, 2008 You spend 25 years in India and are fine with everything there. Once you go out and come back, you suddenly start feeling the pinch of heavy traffic, corruption etc. It's all in your perspective. It's also a matter of how much you can compromise/tolerate/accept the conditions.
fineleg Posted October 10, 2008 Posted October 10, 2008 I have been living in Aus fopr the last 8 years and have been to few countries , below are the problems that make every trip a little more difficult than the last one * Traffic : the number of cars parked in any street has gone up by 300% in the last few years. Yesterday it took me 2 hrs to get to a place which is just 10kms away. Roads are big but are there is a flaw , the exits are not designed well so there are bottlenecks *Roads : People living in delhi will agree with me that the roads were actually better in Delhi 8 years ago, what pisses me off more is the fact that CM of Delhi wants to use its success when it comes to fixing roads in their campaign for the next election. *Rudeness : If you hold the door for the next person then he doesnt thank you. If you request the guy in the next lane to let u jump in then he says "teri ma ki ...." , educated people dont have patience to stand in a queue , they refuse to look at you when u ask them a question like "why cant u sell me this for at the marked price" ... however , if u say thanks to a poor guy he will say "welcome" and smile at you. If you let a cycle wala cross the road he will look at you in the eye and wonder how can someone let him go first ... *Relatives : My relatives keep an eye on the number of days my wife wants to spend at her mum's and they shamelessly ask "you just came couple of days ago and u want to visit your mum".. I dont know WTF they are about but one thing for sure , they will never shut up .. baki .. I have a very long list & I will write a blog once I'm back in the aussie land ... very good list. agree with all u listed. but there are pros n cons in western world too.
CC1981 Posted October 10, 2008 Posted October 10, 2008 If you settle down in the west, it is very important to assimiliate into the mainstream. If not, you will live as a second-class minority. Far less true for the west than it is for India. Atleast it is so in the cities. For Canada, it is heaven-and-hell difference...where you are not at all obligated to assimilate into the mainstream in Canada- specifically in the west coast/western provinces. In India, the notion of toeing a social norm is far greater for social mobility. But overall, well said indeed- it is ultimately a personal choice.
Lurker Posted October 10, 2008 Posted October 10, 2008 I have been living in Aus fopr the last 8 years and have been to few countries , below are the problems that make every trip a little more difficult than the last one * Traffic : the number of cars parked in any street has gone up by 300% in the last few years. Yesterday it took me 2 hrs to get to a place which is just 10kms away. Roads are big but are there is a flaw , the exits are not designed well so there are bottlenecks *Roads : People living in delhi will agree with me that the roads were actually better in Delhi 8 years ago, what pisses me off more is the fact that CM of Delhi wants to use its success when it comes to fixing roads in their campaign for the next election. *Rudeness : If you hold the door for the next person then he doesnt thank you. If you request the guy in the next lane to let u jump in then he says "teri ma ki ...." , educated people dont have patience to stand in a queue , they refuse to look at you when u ask them a question like "why cant u sell me this for at the marked price" ... however , if u say thanks to a poor guy he will say "welcome" and smile at you. If you let a cycle wala cross the road he will look at you in the eye and wonder how can someone let him go first ... *Relatives : My relatives keep an eye on the number of days my wife wants to spend at her mum's and they shamelessly ask "you just came couple of days ago and u want to visit your mum".. I dont know WTF they are about but one thing for sure , they will never shut up .. baki .. I have a very long list & I will write a blog once I'm back in the aussie land ... All those points, dare I say, is due to Indians and not India. Traffic, well I have argued endlessly on how the nauevue "rich" Indians have tanked their country by making sure every household has a car today. Obviously that has been shunned as "against modern India". Now suddenly the traffic issue becomes a blot against India. Roads, same thing. People have bought vehicles, road has not managed to keep pace. A lot of good work is being done but lets agree that consumer demand has far exceeded what Government has managed to churn out. Again not a fault of India but Indians. Rudeness...fault of the people. You can see it in the West where an average Indian will do all "Hey, Hi, Hello" to a gora public but watch how often he treats a fellow Indian as he doesnt exist. Relatives..again it is an Indian citizen trait. Even a NRI married family has issues with an Indian couple who are unmarried and share a live-in relationship. Of course if its a gora public they are quite fine with it. In a nutshell, India is fine without Indians :haha::haha::haha: xxx
coffee_rules Posted October 10, 2008 Posted October 10, 2008 I have seen NRIs not throwing even a banana peel on the road when living abroad, the minute they land in India, they start spitting and peeing on the road. So, because of the 'chalta hai' attitude we have most of the problems in India. I never let anybody jump the line, particularly in India. One has to voice their dissatisfaction in India. If you sit idly, you will find all the said problems in India.
gs Posted October 10, 2008 Posted October 10, 2008 In a nutshell, India is fine without Indians :haha::haha::haha: xxx Similar to what you said before, the problem with Pakistan is that its full of Pakis :giggle: