DomainK Posted November 16, 2008 Posted November 16, 2008 A few days ago I had to write a few paragraphs on paper using a pen and I realized what my handwriting has become. Totally illegible. And then I realized that its been ages since I wrote a decently long passage. I always type it on a computer keyboard. Even if I need it on paper, I type it and print it. Even in meetings the notes are taken on a laptop. When was the last time I wrote something I can not recall. Is that good or is that bad|? I dont know....may be a mix of both. Will our coming generation know much about hand writing? In my school days, there were extra marks of good handwriting. Teachers would be annoyed over a passage written in a hurry. We used to sit and work hard in our handwriting. These days even the exams are getting computerized. In a few years all exams will be taken on a computer and pen and paper will disappear. That's not necessarily bad though. Whats bad is that I have stopped learning my spellings. I just type what I have to type and allow my spell checker correct typos on the fly. Even browsers come with a spell check facilities these days. When I finish typing this, I will look for red underlined words, right click and chose whats correct. Add to that the sms lingo that has caught fancy of most people these days. Some of my colleagues write things that almost look like cipher codes. The biggest problem in sms lingo is that there are no standard abbreviations. Everyone creates a new word to his liking and uses it. So 'please' becomes 'plz' for someone, 'pls' for someone else and 'pl' for someone else. Technology is definitely making some bad changes to language.
h4te Posted November 16, 2008 Posted November 16, 2008 current year: 2008 year of handwritingz: 1800 .......
Lurker Posted November 16, 2008 Posted November 16, 2008 A few days ago I had to write a few paragraphs on paper using a pen and I realized what my handwriting has become. Totally illegible. And then I realized that its been ages since I wrote a decently long passage. I always type it on a computer keyboard. Even if I need it on paper' date=' I type it and print it. Even in meetings the notes are taken on a laptop. When was the last time I wrote something I can not recall. [b']Is that good or is that bad|? I dont know....may be a mix of both. Of course it is bad. I am in the same boat as you are that I get aware of the change in handwriting only when I start writing a letter. And frankly isnt the art of writing letters on a downswing? Today in the chase-technology world they even have a different name for it - snail mail. Emails are replacing hand written letters and I wonder if I have ever received an email that has made me feel as much as handwritten letters. You can almost see the face of the person through the letter, you could practicallly touch it and feel his/her fingers. What do you feel out of the email? Keyboard. Remember the great Mera kuch samaan song from Ijazat? Here goes.. Aur mere khat mein lipti raat padi hai woh raat bhula do mera woh samaan lauta do. Try that with text messaging. xxx
Ram Posted November 16, 2008 Posted November 16, 2008 Some nice thoughts expressed in the OP. I have to fully agree on the writing part of it. My handwriting has fully disintegrated. Even if I have write a 2 line note, it takes me 2,3 attempts nowadays. However, one thing I wouldl like to respectfully disagree is the spelling/grammer part of it. My English has gotten progressively better ( less of short forms, less grammer errors), the the longer I have been a member of ICF. When I read the first few of posts of mine in this forum, it so SMS-ey type of English. Now, it isnt so much the case. P.S; Back in Madras for a vacation.. Feels good to be back in base! :D
ludhianvi Posted November 16, 2008 Posted November 16, 2008 I usually print these days than cursive. Its easier for others to understand especially for marking purposes. Cursive handwriting can be difficult to understand at times. Although, my handwriting changes like bowling actions after a couple of days.
fineleg Posted November 16, 2008 Posted November 16, 2008 Some nice thoughts expressed in the OP. I have to fully agree on the writing part of it. My handwriting has fully disintegrated. Even if I have write a 2 line note, it takes me 2,3 attempts nowadays. However, one thing I wouldl like to respectfully disagree is the spelling/grammer part of it. My English has gotten progressively better ( less of short forms, less grammer errors), the the longer I have been a member of ICF. When I read the first few of posts of mine in this forum, it so SMS-ey type of English. Now, it isnt so much the case. P.S; Back in Madras for a vacation.. Feels good to be back in base! :D My handwriting has fully disintegrated as well. Letter writing skills have vanished. I still remember the days when I used to write and receive paper letters from friends and family, - they were so much fun, thats gone now. What Lurker says feels true "You can almost see the face of the person through the letter, you could practicallly touch it and feel his/her fingers. What do you feel out of the email? Keyboard" Have any of you also felt basic math skills dimnishing? - like, you used to be faster with basic math in India, and in US - you rely more on computers, calculators etc...? PS: Ensoy your vacation - MM and watch those cricket matches - are they telecast in DD or some channel that you get?
Holysmoke Posted November 16, 2008 Posted November 16, 2008 Meh. My handwriting always sucked. Now it's improved to the point where I can read what I wrote. But I prefer the keyboard.. faster, easier to understand for me and others , copy paste, and always have a soft copy lying around somewhere. I know what the OP is talking about though. After interns and vacations, I pick up a pen and it feels weird. I always wonder, when was the last time I wrote something. It does feel awkward.
Ram Posted November 17, 2008 Posted November 17, 2008 My handwriting has fully disintegrated as well. Letter writing skills have vanished. I still remember the days when I used to write and receive paper letters from friends and family, - they were so much fun, thats gone now. What Lurker says feels true "You can almost see the face of the person through the letter, you could practicallly touch it and feel his/her fingers. What do you feel out of the email? Keyboard" Have any of you also felt basic math skills dimnishing? - like, you used to be faster with basic math in India, and in US - you rely more on computers, calculators etc...? PS: Ensoy your vacation - MM and watch those cricket matches - are they telecast in DD or some channel that you get? Nah, they do it only in Neo Sports, which needs the bloody set-top box for the Chennai guys to see and we dont have one. But, my friend has one and he has a brand new 64 inch LCD t.v. So, in another 4 hours.... Lots of pizzas, pop-corn, soda and crickettttttttttttttttt! :D
Holysmoke Posted November 17, 2008 Posted November 17, 2008 Nah, they do it only in Neo Sports, which needs the bloody set-top box for the Chennai guys to see and we dont have one. But, my friend has one and he has a brand new 64 inch LCD t.v. So, in another 4 hours.... Lots of pizzas, pop-corn, soda and crickettttttttttttttttt! :D Nice :two_thumbs_up: Watching cricket on a big tv is fun.. pity there arent any HD feeds in India...
Rajiv Posted November 17, 2008 Posted November 17, 2008 Forget Handwriting, after doing everything online - I couldn't even put my signature the right way
Rajiv Posted November 17, 2008 Posted November 17, 2008 Nice :two_thumbs_up: Watching cricket on a big tv is fun.. pity there arent any HD feeds in India... I used to do that in India, at Pali Hil there is a Sports Bar where you can drink ( offcourse ) and watch the match on an 84 inch TV, I am sure must have gone bigger by now
Holysmoke Posted November 17, 2008 Posted November 17, 2008 I used to do that in India' date=' at Pali Hil there is a Sports Bar where you can drink ( offcourse ) and watch the match on an 84 inch TV, I am sure must have gone bigger by now[/quote'] 84 inch TV? Why? Why wouldnt you get a projector instead???? I heard people watched India Pak '03 WC game in cinema halls here.... Can you imagine the atmosphere?
Desi Cartman Posted November 17, 2008 Posted November 17, 2008 I realized the same thing when I had to fill out a spouse visa form for my wife. I had to write say 300 words about how we got to know each other etc. My hand started to hurt after I had just written 3-4 lines. As for watching cricket in India , I hate neo sports. Its not HD and I hate the neela -peela scorecard. PS: bring back arun lal :yay:
flamy Posted November 17, 2008 Posted November 17, 2008 Talking of hwrites, I like getting dem notes from the gulz and then analyzing them for lulz and telling them stuf abt themselvez to get in their pantz. muah!
Holysmoke Posted November 17, 2008 Posted November 17, 2008 Talking of hwrites' date=' I like getting dem notes from the gulz and then analyzing them for lulz and telling them stuf abt themselvez to get in their pantz. muah![/quote'] Thats just lame.
Rajiv Posted November 17, 2008 Posted November 17, 2008 84 inch TV? Why? Why wouldnt you get a projector instead???? I heard people watched India Pak '03 WC game in cinema halls here.... Can you imagine the atmosphere? Projection, thats what I meant Haven't you heard about the Jackson Heights Massacre during the 96 WC?
Holysmoke Posted November 17, 2008 Posted November 17, 2008 Projection, thats what I meant Haven't you heard about the Jackson Heights Massacre during the 96 WC? No.:eyedance:
Rajiv Posted November 17, 2008 Posted November 17, 2008 No.:eyedance: The following is the 99 Report, but in 96 WC - a riot broke out in the Theatre I have lived in that area for about 2 months, it's very tensed THE SETTING -- At 5:30 A.M. last Tuesday, the streets of Jackson Heights were empty but the Eagle Theater was packed. An overcapacity crowd, 450 people, crammed into the theater to watch the World Cup cricket match between Pakistan and India. The Eagle Theater, at 73-07 37th Road, usually dedicates its big screen to showing romance films from Bombay. But when the World Cup tournament begins, the morning belongs to cricket, the baseball-like game that can take eight hours or more to play. Most of the tournament games have attracted about 100 fans to the Eagle Theater. But the India-Pakistan rivalry has always been fierce, and this year even more so. The long-simmering war between the two countries over control of Kashmir flared up this spring. With both countries now declared nuclear powers, the fighting has both sides on edge. THE BUZZ -- To judge from the cheers of the crowd, the audience for the game, which was being broadcast live from Old Trafford, England, was nearly evenly divided between Pakistanis and Indians. But the loudest group, at least early on, was a cluster of about eight Pakistani men who cheer on their team's big plays by waving Pakistani flags and chanting ''Pakistan Zindabad!'' (''Victory to Pakistan!'') ''We don't sleep the night before a match, especially for India and Pakistan,'' said Murad Kahn, 27, an office supply salesman from Coney Island. ''It's like a war.'' But even though ''both teams are going to fight hard,'' Mr. Kahn said. ''we are all friends here.'' The Indian fans expressed that same sentiment. Sukhjinder Singh, 15, of Elmhurst, compared the rivalry between Pakistani and Indian immigrants to that between Mets and Yankees fans. And Rita Rathod, 45, a Bay Ridge health care aide and one of only a few women in the audience, said she thought the game could help ease the political tensions between the two countries. ''There was this sign I saw, 'Cricket for Peace,' '' she said of the televised match. ''Maybe India and Pakistan have a problem over there, but not in another country.'' But as the morning evaporated into afternoon, some of the good feelings went with it. The Pakistani team, after a strong start, collapsed in the second inning and India won, 227 to 180. The loss left some of the Pakistani fans feeling raw. As he stood with his friends on a corner near the theater, Abdar Shah, 23, of Jackson Heights, used racial epithets to denounce the Indian national team and swore at passers-by he presumed to be Indian, interrupting the diatribe only to make a rather inartful pass at a passing woman. Mohammed Hussain, 22, was also worked up -- angry about the game, angry about Kashmir. ''We never play like friends; we play like enemies,'' Mr. Hussein said. ''This was not a game. This is war. There is a war in Pakistan. I have hate for Indians. Do you know what kind of killing they are doing?''
h4te Posted November 17, 2008 Posted November 17, 2008 Talking of hwrites' date=' I like getting dem notes from the gulz and then analyzing them for lulz and telling them stuf abt themselvez to get in their pantz. muah![/quote'] duly noted. will try it out next weekend. muah!