fineleg Posted December 5, 2008 Posted December 5, 2008 The Indian cricket team felt helpless and its frustration grew more and more after watching on Television the worst-ever terror attack in Mumbai last week, disclosed pace bowler Irfan Pathan, who was filled with a cocktail of emotions including hurt and anger. "We were all very excited after our ODI win over England in Cuttack. We usually listen the interviews of Man of the match and others on TV so that we can pull their leg but channels started flashing the terror attack and we kept glued to our seats till the morning. Everyone was hurt," Pathan said recalling the horror of 26/ll. "The whole India was angry and so was I for what happened there (in Mumbai). Whatever happened there was shameful. "We asked ourselves why can't we do anything, our frustration grew bigger and bigger as we watched the action on TV," he said. Pathan, who was here to promote Tata Teleservices of which he is the brand ambassador, said the team was planning to do some charity for those suffered in the tragedy. "Maybe, we will do some charity," he said. Asked if he had demanded extra safety cover, which a few of his teammates enjoy, he said it was now required by every Indian citizen. "Not only cricketers but whole India needs special security at the moment," he said and urged celebrities from all walks of life to cooperate with the security personnel at public places. "We should leave our comfort level and cooperate with the security agencies in places like this hotel (Taj Mansingh) because life is most important," Pathan said. Pathan when querried if being a Muslim he felt scared to take the field in the backdrop of Mumbai terror attacks, he said, "Religion has nothing to do with terrorism. No religion preaches killing or unrest. :thumbs_up: It (terrorism) is wrong. And no, I am not scared to take the field despite whatever happened." On his views about the fate of sports in the sub-continent, Pathan felt human life was too precious to put at risk in volatile situations. "No loss can be bigger than life, monetary or other losses are temporary," he added. About the upcoming two-Test series against England, he said the Indians, who won the ODI series 5-0, would like to clean sweep it as well. "We are doing well at present. Let me put it this way: the marathon run is still on for a win," he said. On touring Pakistan next year, Pathan said there was no point in giving his opinion as the decision would be taken by the governments of the two countries. His elder brother, all rounder Yusuf Pathan, who also joined him as the brand ambassador to the company, said on field they were first players and then brothers. "We are first teammates and then brothers when on field. We are playing cricket for the country and not for family," he said
fineleg Posted December 5, 2008 Author Posted December 5, 2008 The point is Religion does not kill people. People kill people.
punjabi_khota Posted December 5, 2008 Posted December 5, 2008 The point is Religion does not kill people. People kill people. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: genius. Define religion and I will give you your answer.
flamy Posted December 5, 2008 Posted December 5, 2008 The point is Religion does not kill people. People kill people. :yawn2:
milkman Posted December 5, 2008 Posted December 5, 2008 The point is Religion does not kill people. People kill people. Kya yaar bus woohi PC sentences? Do you want a self propelled flying mosque or flying religious book to come and chop peoples head off before you admit that religion does kill? Let me come out with one gem as well then- "Terrorists are cute cuddly puppies and they don't kill, it's only their terror that kills" :haha: If we use Karachi logic then everything can be explained away. If someone is motivated by religion, if their religious text backs their action and if they say they are killing for their religion then that = religion kills :hatsoff:
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 5, 2008 Posted December 5, 2008 The point is Religion does not kill people. People kill people. Gun-loving people think just like you they would say people kill people gun doesn't.:haha: I am student of sceince and have bene tought to see correlation in things.. If a group of people is more or less million times (get the real number here) more likely to indulge in violence ( of course based on raw data) than the rest then any student of science would like to know what differnetiates that group from the rest and tsuddenly religion jumps out. For help in understanding lest meaning gets lost: If a gun-wileidng group is more likely to kill than those who don;t wield guns then may be Gun has role in killing. Take that gun away at most they can punch each other not killing happens.
punjabi_khota Posted December 5, 2008 Posted December 5, 2008 "Do you want a self propelled flying mosque or flying religious book to come and chop peoples head off before you admit that religion does kill?" Hahahahahaahahahahaha......:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
fineleg Posted December 5, 2008 Author Posted December 5, 2008 If someone is motivated by religion, if their religious text backs their action and if they say they are killing for their religion then that = religion kills :hatsoff: are u saying Islam (not some extemist fantasy of the kuran, but the real one), really advocates innocents can be killed! If so, then YES! but this is a fantasy of extremists, regular muslims we meet in our lives dont think that way, do they? does terrorism have religion?
Dravid Posted December 5, 2008 Posted December 5, 2008 The point is Religion does not kill people. People kill people. move this user to the joke section :hysterical: :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
veer Posted December 5, 2008 Posted December 5, 2008 does terrorism have religion? but it has a country called pakiland..
fineleg Posted December 5, 2008 Author Posted December 5, 2008 but it has a country called pakiland.. it does. And we have to force action on them. Cant let pakiland get away with this. what im talking abt is muslims in india like Irfan pathan here.
Holysmoke Posted December 5, 2008 Posted December 5, 2008 "Do you want a self propelled flying mosque or flying religious book to come and chop peoples head off before you admit that religion does kill?" Hahahahahaahahahahaha......:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: That was :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
fineleg Posted December 5, 2008 Author Posted December 5, 2008 boss bhai, so ur not happy with folks like Irfan Pathan and Zaheer Khan or Mohd Kaif. Should they not be in India or not playing for our team? If you are happy with those folks, then why? Answer me this. Why? Just coz they are "name brand" cricketers? and not some regular office going Ismail?
punjabi_khota Posted December 5, 2008 Posted December 5, 2008 boss bhai, so ur not happy with folks like Irfan Pathan and Zaheer Khan or Mohd Kaif. Should they not be in India or not playing for our team? If you are happy with those folks, then why? Answer me this. Why? Just coz they are "name brand" cricketers? and not some regular office going Ismail? hahaha..are you in love with some Ismail clone ?
fineleg Posted December 5, 2008 Author Posted December 5, 2008 ^p_k - seems like ur brain does not let u think beyond such nonsense. Boss Bhai, Not everyone is "active". There are whole bunch of passive people. The active ones dictate what happens overall. In anycase, you seem to want the goodness of Irfan Pathan, Zaheer Khan and Mohd. Kaif, but dont want the non name-brand folks. I'm not even bringing bigger brand folks like Abdul Kalam into this.
Holysmoke Posted December 5, 2008 Posted December 5, 2008 lol.. ladies first.. whoever it is :hysterical:
punjabi_khota Posted December 5, 2008 Posted December 5, 2008 ^p_k - seems like ur brain does not let u think beyond such nonsense. Boss Bhai, Not everyone is "active". There are whole bunch of passive people. The active ones dictate what happens overall. In anycase, you seem to want the goodness of Irfan Pathan, Zaheer Khan and Mohd. Kaif, but dont want the non name-brand folks. I'm not even bringing bigger brand folks like Abdul Kalam into this. LOVE IS NOT NONSENSE!! HOW DARE YOU! :icflove::icflove::icflove: