fineleg Posted December 10, 2008 Posted December 10, 2008 Free of all Zealots http://in.news.yahoo.com/32/20081210/1049/top-free-of-all-zealots.html http://www.hindustantimes.com/redir.aspx?ID=1a4e229d-e36b-4950-977d-0b513089d0d7 The sorrow is still palpable in the city. And now comes the blame game and the 'solutions'. Loud voices amplified by saturation TV say: 'Why don't we create new anti-terror laws? Why don't we arm our police with AK-47s? Why don't we hit the enemy like Israel and the US do?' Terror is a self-fulfilling prophecy. It thrives on reaction, polarisation and the thirst for revenge. Thirty years ago, there were two countries my passport forbade me to visit. One was racist South Africa, the other was Israel. Today Israel and America are our biggest allies. Is it surprising that we are on the jihadi hit-list? Rich countries may be able protect themselves. But can India cover itself with an impenetrable shield? India is a 'soft target'. Our vast population, land and coastline are impossible to protect. The Taj and the Oberoi can be made safer. But can our railways, buses, markets and lanes be made so? India is also a country divided by class, religion, caste and language. Some jihadis are home-grown. Perhaps the most famous one was Nathuram Godse who murdered Mahatma Gandhi. Jump ahead to December 6, 1992, the day Hindu fanatics demolished the Babri Mosque. The riots, blasts and pogroms that followed over the years have been the bloodiest since Partition. At the core, these organisations that admire Hitler nurse the hate of historic wrongs inflicted by Muslims. Ironically, they remain admirers of Israel. On the Muslim side of terror are scores of disaffected youth who may have seen their families tortured and killed. It is clear that no amount of spending on defence, patrolling the high seas or strengthening the military and police can place India inside a bubble of safety. Just as nuclear India led not to safety but to a nuclear Pakistan, similarly no amount of 'homeland security' can make us feel secure. Draconian anti-terror laws can only breed more terror. In Narendra Modi's Gujarat after the 'ethnic cleansing' of Muslims in 2002, despite scores of hidden camera confessions to rape and murder, virtually no Hindu extremists were punished while thousands of Muslims rotted in jail. The same happened in Bombay despite the Shiv Sena being found guilty by the Justice Srikrishna Commission. Removing democratic safeguards guaranteed by the Constitution can only make this worse. Every act of wrongful imprisonment and torture that follows is likely to push innocents into the waiting hands of terror. Murderers of Sikhs in Delhi in 1984 and of Muslims in Gujarat in 2002 remain free. Increasing the powers of the police cannot solve this problem. Only honest and unbiased implementation of existing laws can. It is a tragedy that an honest policeman like Anti-Terrorist Squad chief Hemant Karkare, who was investigating the thread of 'Hindutva terror', was gunned down by 'Muslim terror'. So Islamic and Hindutva jihadis do serve each other. Do they care who dies? I am not arguing that we do not need efficient security at public places. But real security will only come when accompanied by justice and when the principles of democracy are implemented in every part of the country, and when our children grow in an atmosphere of humanity where religious faith is put to the test of reason. Until such time, we will remain at the mercy of zealots.
punjabi_khota Posted December 10, 2008 Posted December 10, 2008 Free of all Zealots you missed the most important line.."when our children grow in an atmosphere of humanity where religious faith is put to the test of reason" That should take care of a lot of problems if implemented.
fineleg Posted December 10, 2008 Author Posted December 10, 2008 you missed the most important line.."when our children grow in an atmosphere of humanity where religious faith is put to the test of reason" That should take care of a lot of problems if implemented. Agree - yes, thats important too. Religious faith needs to withstand the test of reason - be it whichever religion.
Desi Cartman Posted December 10, 2008 Posted December 10, 2008 Pork-istan has got nothing to do with terrorism I guess :giggle:
Predator_05 Posted December 10, 2008 Posted December 10, 2008 So India gets attacked by Muslim terrorists no less than 5 times this year and the only thing this guy wants to write about is Hindutva and Hindu extremism...hmmm
veer Posted December 10, 2008 Posted December 10, 2008 hahah ethinic cleansing by Modi.. finey you are not that naive.. you are just an attention hogger it seems.. even you dont believe what the article is saying.. you and people like you have lived in safe homes for long so easy to talk crap and take pot shots here.. i have lived through 1992 riots.. i have seen people taking bamboos, sticks, knives, swords and run through streets.. i had my dad petrolling with others on terrace of the building through nights so no muslim mob can attack our neighborhood.. I have lived in fear in our very own city... ghar jalega na tab pata chalega.... tab tak bethe rehna apne dabbe ke sath.. finey you and people like you make me sick.. ........... 'ethnic cleansing' your behind...
seedhi Posted December 10, 2008 Posted December 10, 2008 One of the most demented articles I have read in sometime. No mention of kashmiri pandits or the fact the punjab is actually peaceful now. Only perverse logic can raise the so called hindutva radicalism card at a time when pakistan has essentially launched a commando operation into the heart India and killed 200 people.
Sachin_Rulez Posted December 10, 2008 Posted December 10, 2008 should be moved to a joke section ..... article is stupid but the one who posted that in here is a complete dumb :giggle:
fineleg Posted December 10, 2008 Author Posted December 10, 2008 this is hindustan times article. like it or not, this is not tabloid news
punjabi_khota Posted December 10, 2008 Posted December 10, 2008 this is hindustan times article. like it or not' date=' this is not tabloid news[/quote'] It is not 'news'. It is an opinion piece. Pretty crappy opinion at that.
King Tendulkar Posted December 10, 2008 Posted December 10, 2008 The fact that finey posted this artricle shows that finey knows jack about india. Go back to the cricket section please
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 10, 2008 Posted December 10, 2008 Dust has settled no fear of ideological lykncning is there so the usual suspects I mean arundahti and Arudhanti wannabe will come out of their undergorund abode one by one with this kind of nonsense.. BB all cause-belli starts with hindu reaction for these idiots...... I ask these morons can I go around killing people with godhara alibi till eternity you see I too was pretty pi$$Ed over roasting alive of pilgrims women and children included..would that be allowed.. Or sud kashmirri pandits go around killing you know who........ stop this freaking nonsense you morons before you get lined up with mullah morons
Lurker Posted December 10, 2008 Posted December 10, 2008 But real security will only come when accompanied by justice and when the principles of democracy are implemented in every part of the country, and when our children grow in an atmosphere of humanity where religious faith is put to the test of reason. Until such time, we will remain at the mercy of zealots. The author is right on the money on this one, and his point is not only related to Mumbai incident but to our country in general. When was the last time a politician was covicted in India?? The same lot who defends Narendra Modi in Gujrat riots are quick to wonder why Jagjit Singh Tytler was not convicted in Delhi riot. The same folks who defend HKL Bhagat are left wondering why Bal Thackeray remains at large 15 years after Mumbai riots? Well the reason is simple. Our judiciary is extremely slow(25 years slow for Sikh riots) and our janta is stupid enough to support the very same people who bring these riots upon us. Someone rakes in Gujrat riots, someone else with rake Godhra. And rioters of both of the lot go scott free, and hatred continues. Take for example the recent MNS anti-North Indian riots in Mumbai. Inspite of ample evidence Raj bhai saheb got bail. Now Mumbai Administration can "heighten" alert and force more cops into security OR try Raj Thackeray on an expedited basis and make sure that such hate mongers dont set precedents on other parts of India. And frankly all the Court needs to do is enforce law. But if Thackeray keeps escaping like he does you can bet not only will you see more violence(inspite of more cops) but a pure vitriol in both Maharastra and Bihar. Which would you rather have?
veer Posted December 10, 2008 Posted December 10, 2008 yes.. yess democracy in every corner of the country... saala itna easy hota to India.. India na hota.. Govt gives money to muslims for pilgrimage.. who gives me money to go to Mathura?? point is.... that his point is not valid given the current circumstances..
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 10, 2008 Posted December 10, 2008 yes.. yess democracy in every corner of the country... saala itna easy hota to India.. India na hota.. Govt gives money to muslims for pilgrimage.. who gives me money to go to Mathura?? point is.... that his point is not valid given the current circumstances.. Forget giving money they don't even police the temples properlyevery six month we get stampede killing 100's.. Basically india is a minority appeaser in garb of secualrism and these psec thugs have successfully brandished a party who raises vocie against it as communal....... Sala ghor kalyug hai
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 10, 2008 Posted December 10, 2008 BY real democracy thsi scribe means: When he says someone is guilty that;s how it should be no questions asked no judicial enquiry nothing.. these chumps can;t face the fact that their 6 year long campaign against certain Modi has not resulted into even a single case getting registered agisnt him let alone the conviction.> yes we are talking about india not some banana republic.. provide even the flimsiest of evidence you ahve your case in any court. but what wud court know what wud police know only these arm-chair criticis are all knowing
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 10, 2008 Posted December 10, 2008 So India gets attacked by Muslim terrorists no less than 5 times this year and the only thing this guy wants to write about is Hindutva and Hindu extremism...hmmm That too on basis of single incident of yet to be confirmed suspicion.. these guys are pi$$ed over how these jihadist have peed all over their hindu-terror media festival.....just watch one by one all the usual suspects will come with their crap
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 10, 2008 Posted December 10, 2008 Kis chuti.ye ne likha hai ye? that was crisp response.. Anand Patwardhan so noname idiot
fineleg Posted December 10, 2008 Author Posted December 10, 2008 DR, The scribe has a point in saying that judicial and police - law and order - has to be uniformly and strictly appleid to all. There has to be a control of all communities from perpetrating violence. See the uber point, instead of getting stuck only on NaMo. You always brush aside crimes commited by NaMo, but the main point (even leaving aside NaMo) is correct in stating that this is how we can look for stability in the region. Lets not make it a NaMo debate thread, there are others for that. Look beyond what you see - as was said in Lion King!