Rajiv Posted December 21, 2008 Posted December 21, 2008 I have heard 100x times about it, and I can't disagree with what I see on TV NRI money + Local wealth = is this place that good? the best joint in India Forget about the Mumbai's real estate, POV about landscape, weather, ease and comfort? Land of Punjus so food and nutrition is like a prerequisite Have u been there?
Dirty_South Posted December 21, 2008 Posted December 21, 2008 Not that gr8 but one of the better places to live in
Desi Cartman Posted December 21, 2008 Posted December 21, 2008 Chnd is a well planned city ... 20 years ago it was awesome now its struggling with growing population but still its better than most big cities of India
punjabi_khota Posted December 21, 2008 Posted December 21, 2008 I am from Chandigarh. Best place to grow up in. Superb education, superb civic amenities,lots of sports facilities , superb traffic situation, superb chicks,superb chicken and beer and discs and superb music. Most of my friends(in engg.) moved away after college though as job situation is getting better rapidly, but not anywhere as good as Noida/Gurgaon/Bangy. Very good place to own a business though, and lots of opportunities for people in marketing etc. Weather is slightly better than Delhi, also pollution is less. Comfort is the best part. You can get the best of facilities in Chandigarh, and the distances you have to travel are very small. One end to the other of city is just 10-12 Kms and it hardly ever takes more than 30-40 minutes. Cost of living is highest in India but so is awesomeness.:-p Planning is what set it apart from ANY other city in India. No high rise building allowed etc reduces the crowding. Proper parking spaces(which are falling short now) for ALL shopping complexes, NO road side shops. Central marketing plaza in sector 17 is a work of genius.
Rajiv Posted December 21, 2008 Author Posted December 21, 2008 Nice summary PK, I really like it....is it really like wide roads and spacious
punjabi_khota Posted December 21, 2008 Posted December 21, 2008 Nice summary PK' date=' I really like it....is it really like wide roads and spacious[/quote'] The roads are generally in very good condition, wide and the grid like structure of city with roundabout means that you can never get stuck anywhere for too long, since there are so many different ways to go to any part of the city. You just need to take a slightly different route, which maybe only 1-2 km longer. The rules of city forbid high rise residential buildings, and most of the residential space has already been utilized. It has lead to extreme rise in prices, and most people now coming to work in Chandigarh are actually living in Mohali or Panchkula, the 2 rapidly growing satellite towns, especially the latter. Panchkula has been modelled on Chandigarh, and has similar planning, but Haryana govt. has allowed high rise societies etc. and hence there is a lot of growth there as well.
Kartikey Posted December 21, 2008 Posted December 21, 2008 Ive been to another planned city, Noida. While I believe its a good place to live in and do business and all, I also think its lacks the culture of cities like Delhi, Lucknow and Jaipur.
punjabi_khota Posted December 21, 2008 Posted December 21, 2008 Ive been to another planned city' date=' Noida. While I believe its a good place to live in and do business and all, I also think its lacks the culture of cities like Delhi, Lucknow and Jaipur.[/quote'] Noida doesn't have its own identity because it serves as a satellite town of Delhi, and is part of the NCR. Chandigarh is different in that sense and is unique. But I agree that the city is new and doesn't have any history beyond 1954.
Rajiv Posted December 21, 2008 Author Posted December 21, 2008 Culturally Noida and Chandigarh cannot be the same I assume
Dirty_South Posted December 21, 2008 Posted December 21, 2008 What bout the house Rent prices in Chandigarh for a 2BHK ?
punjabi_khota Posted December 21, 2008 Posted December 21, 2008 What bout the house Rent prices in Chandigarh for a 2BHK ? It obviously depends on where you plan on staying. The city is divided into approx 50 sectors, and the lower numbered sectors are the most posh areas, with heads of Punjab and Haryana staying there, and most of the high ranked officials, filthy rich businessmen and retired military folks(plenty of them!). In a good locality, 2BHK with garage would be around Rs. 7000-9000 I guess, but there will be plenty of higher end and lower end options too.
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 21, 2008 Posted December 21, 2008 http://www.ndtv.com/convergence/ndtv/video/video.aspx?id=32930 enjoy food scene in chandigarh
The Outsider Posted December 21, 2008 Posted December 21, 2008 Did my undergrad from Chandigarh.....lovely city.......neatly divided into sectors......each sector divided into 4 areas and has a small market. The northern sectors of the city are really beautiful and expensive......a house used to be in the Rs. 1 crore vicinity 10-12 years back, can't even imagine the prices they would be going for now. And the golden ratio thread by Dhondy in the cricket section reminded me that the sectors conform to the golden ration......they are 1.3 km North-South and 0.8 km East-West. Also the sum of any North-South sectors is divisible by 13. The North-West area of the city has most of the colleges, universities etc. and makes it pretty vibrant. The best part about the place as PK has pointed out is that everything is very accessible. Panchkula(Harayana) and Mohali(Punjab) have come up over the years but the city of Chandigarh itself is confined to a few kilometers by a few kilometers and hence the high and rising property prices. For a city with a population of only a million it has got to have some of the best eating joints, night life, and clubs in India, all within a few minutes drive. Last I visited was a couple of months back and the traffic has become a pain now. There were hardly any traffic lights in the city earlier with sectors separated by "round abouts"....but the increasing traffic has meant the cropping up of new traffic lights robbing the place of it's uniqueness and charm.
Ram Posted December 21, 2008 Posted December 21, 2008 The prospect of a 'well-planned' city, wide roads, divided into sectors etc in India itself seems so alien to me.
fineleg Posted December 21, 2008 Posted December 21, 2008 The prospect of a 'well-planned' city' date=' wide roads, divided into sectors etc in India itself seems so alien to me.[/quote'] true
punjabi_khota Posted December 22, 2008 Posted December 22, 2008 The prospect of a 'well-planned' city' date=' wide roads, divided into sectors etc in India itself seems so alien to me.[/quote'] hahah..yeah, and thats why living in any other city in India has been a pain for me...:giggle::giggle::giggle:..I went from Chandigarh to Guwahati..that was bad.:((
The Outsider Posted December 22, 2008 Posted December 22, 2008 Oh, and did I mention the girls for the benefit of flamy and h4te....the place has got to have by far the best Maal to population ratio in India.
Ram Posted December 22, 2008 Posted December 22, 2008 hahah..yeah' date=' and thats why living in any other city in India has been a pain for me...:giggle::giggle::giggle:..I went from Chandigarh to Guwahati..that was bad.:(([/quote'] I promise you, I have immediately developed a liking for Chandigarh, just hearing about it.
Rajiv Posted December 22, 2008 Author Posted December 22, 2008 Oh' date=' and did I mention the girls for the benefit of flamy and h4te....the place has got to have by far the best Maal to population ratio in India.[/quote'] ..now that I have heard