triam Posted December 28, 2008 Posted December 28, 2008 And how does allowing imported players to represent our country 'lift the standard of sports' in India? It does mm, I can give you an example from badminton in the US, I compete with badminton professionals in the US regularly, Tony Gunawan was from Indonesia, he was the world champion in doubles, he won the world badminton championship with Halim Haryanto in 2001, 2002 or 2003 he was given citizenship in the US. He trained with Howard Bach who was born and brought up in the US and who was never even in the top 25 in the world in badminton. 2005 he won the world badminton championships with Bach representing the USA. Not only that, because of his exploits badminton got an audience in the USA beyond the back yard sport it was perceived earlier.
Brainfade Posted December 28, 2008 Posted December 28, 2008 It does mm, I can give you an example from badminton in the US, I compete with badminton professionals in the US regularly, Tony Gunawan was from Indonesia, he was the world champion in doubles, he won the world badminton championship with Halim Haryanto in 2001, 2002 or 2003 he was given citizenship in the US. He trained with Howard Bach who was born and brought up in the US and who was never even in the top 25 in the world in badminton. 2005 he won the world badminton championships with Bach representing the USA. Not only that, because of his exploits badminton got an audience in the USA beyond the back yard sport it was perceived earlier. From all your posts, one thing stands out - the examples that you use have all obtained US citizenship before playing for hte US. I am fine with that for India, too. In other words, let them obtain citizenship first, and then come play for India. I am afraid that some of these players will use the Indian platform to lauch themselves into the Olympics, and then when they are good enough to represent US, will jump ship. As for Tony Gunawan's success in raising US badminton, let me ask - do Prakash A, Shikha and Neha Uberoi practice in India? Do they play with and help develop other Indian players? If not, it is not a perfect analogy.
Ram Posted December 28, 2008 Posted December 28, 2008 It does mm, I can give you an example from badminton in the US, I compete with badminton professionals in the US regularly, Tony Gunawan was from Indonesia, he was the world champion in doubles, he won the world badminton championship with Halim Haryanto in 2001, 2002 or 2003 he was given citizenship in the US. He trained with Howard Bach who was born and brought up in the US and who was never even in the top 25 in the world in badminton. 2005 he won the world badminton championships with Bach representing the USA. Not only that, because of his exploits badminton got an audience in the USA beyond the back yard sport it was perceived earlier. Good points there. But lets be honest, we cant compare US and India, countries with completely different sporting cultures. Ultimately, for us to do well in sports at a global level, we need a sporting culture and good sports infrastructure.
Deleted_User_1 Posted December 28, 2008 Posted December 28, 2008 do greencard holders also come in this?? kyon ji, india represent karne ka khwab dekh rahen ho kya?
sandtest Posted December 28, 2008 Posted December 28, 2008 Those who hold an Indian passport can represent India. That's the beauty of babudom in India you see. I say, Shikha Uberoi please pay an MEA babu to get Indian passport in jiffy. When millions of illegal Bangladeshis in Assam and West Bengal are distributed FREE passports by haraamis of Communist Parties for increasing their vote count no matter those mofos turn against state later, then why not deserving NRIs who want to play or earn some money by representing India? Be it by hook or crook such folks should get an Indian passport, but again, damn dhimmi Indian media they will not leave NRIs in peace who will actually try to use Indian babudom for the well being of India.:--D
kumble_rocks Posted December 28, 2008 Author Posted December 28, 2008 Those who hold an Indian passport can represent India. That's the beauty of babudom in India you see. I say, Shikha Uberoi please pay an MEA babu to get Indian passport in jiffy. When millions of illegal Bangladeshis in Assam and West Bengal are distributed FREE passports by haraamis of Communist Parties for increasing their vote count no matter those mofos turn against state later, then why not deserving NRIs who want to play or earn some money by representing India? Be it by hook or crook such folks should get an Indian passport, but again, damn dhimmi Indian media they will not leave NRIs in peace who will actually try to use Indian babudom for the well being of India.:--D You have a point.BJP government wanted to grant dual citizenship. Some of the NRI sportsperson would have surely benefited from that. I find it ironic that some posters here are judgmental of NRI's when they themselves can be easily judged for deserting our country for $$$$.
fineleg Posted December 28, 2008 Posted December 28, 2008 You have a point.BJP government wanted to grant dual citizenship. Some of the NRI sportsperson would have surely benefited from that. I find it ironic that some posters here are judgmental of NRI's when they themselves can be easily judged for deserting our country for $$$$. The implementation of dual citizenship has been an eyewash. Thats one of the issues when you talk about all these sportspersons. Otherwise, they could have dual citizenship and then can represent india.
DomainK Posted December 28, 2008 Posted December 28, 2008 I disagree. We are living in a world where race has nothing to do with country. If you are not an Indian citizen, why the hell do you want to represent India and not your home country ? We are talking about a country representation, not an IPL or mohan bagan club team oh..wait a minute..you just want to play for India because you don't stand a chance in your home country. You just want to play, try to win some medals, make some $$$ and go back. I can bet my paycheck that none of these non Indian citizens will be ready to represent India if they are already representing their home country. Sorry..if you cannot vote ..you cannot represent.:hatsoff: :two_thumbs_up:
sandtest Posted December 28, 2008 Posted December 28, 2008 The concept of dual citizenship was a brainchild RSS with a lofty goal of integarting all Indians worldwide to their root and thus uniting global Indic values and ethos with motherland India. But sooner they realized that babus in various government positions in GOI as well as our IAS afsaars are a product of Communist/Marxist Jawaharlal Nehru University, St. Xaviers et al. These babus have so much "deep" inflence of India's marxist education system and NCERT books that they even look at NRIs as some evil symbol of "Capitalists" :giggle: What you or me as citizen can do when we see such logic...at one place India is distributing free passports to millions of illegal Bengladeshis in the name of secularism and at other place preventing deserving NRIs from claiming complete dual citizenship by making some marxist influenced laws! We are the only country where NRIs are denied and illegal Bangladeshis are embraced :hatsoff:
sandtest Posted December 28, 2008 Posted December 28, 2008 Sorry..if you cannot vote ..you cannot represent.:hatsoff: More practical question is --- How difficult is it for Indian government to grant an Indian passport to those NRIs who already have another passport of the country where they earn their bread and butter? No difficulty at all!...It can be done by slight modification in existing laws. But our marxist product babus and IAS afsaars have some other whining. They cry that NRIs want to enjoy best of both worlds, evil "capitalists" they are! Surely, when an illegal Bangladeshi-- a wannabe jehadi sleeper cell can get a passport for free in Assam, then an NRI who wants to hold an Indian passport is more deserving than him.
Kartikey Posted December 28, 2008 Posted December 28, 2008 This is a great move. I only want INDIANS representing our great country not some imbeciles who rather have british or American citizenship rather than an Indian one. Just because they cant get into the American or British teams, they play for India so they can get exposure and some moolah. As for Dual Citizenship, I am glad the Indian Govt doesnt allow it because I only want proper Indians having Indian citizenship not some people who have divided loyalties.
fineleg Posted December 28, 2008 Posted December 28, 2008 ^ amits, You have found your long lost friend! :yay: All Pure Indians Zindabad! :haha: ----- On a more realistic note - nothing wrong with dual citizenship and India should be moving along to enable it for folks.
Kartikey Posted December 28, 2008 Posted December 28, 2008 ^ amits, You have found your long lost friend! :yay: All Pure Indians Zindabad! :haha: ----- On a more realistic note - nothing wrong with dual citizenship and India should be moving along to enable it for folks. Why should people not born in India have Indian citizneship? I bet most of them cant even speak one Indian language. English is not enough, they need to speak atleast one Indian language.
beetle Posted December 28, 2008 Posted December 28, 2008 Completely agree with this move. The tennis scene was almost completely taken over by these non Indians ignoring local talent. The influx of these "not good enough for their own country" players was a short cut out for the sports bodies also and they were getting ready made mediocre talent without putting any effort. Now they will have to invest in the grassroot level .This will also give a chance to the locals who are ignored because the girls and boys with the firangi accent are as usual considered superior and get preference over them.
triam Posted December 28, 2008 Posted December 28, 2008 From all your posts, one thing stands out - the examples that you use have all obtained US citizenship before playing for hte US. I am fine with that for India, too. In other words, let them obtain citizenship first, and then come play for India. I am afraid that some of these players will use the Indian platform to lauch themselves into the Olympics, and then when they are good enough to represent US, will jump ship. As for Tony Gunawan's success in raising US badminton, let me ask - do Prakash A, Shikha and Neha Uberoi practice in India? Do they play with and help develop other Indian players? If not, it is not a perfect analogy. Yes, sorry for not being clear earlier, instead of saying Indian citizens only will represent India, they should have come up with a plan where it is easier to obtain indian citizenhip for world class sportsmen if they so desire. Moreover, Indian citizenship is not a a vaunted object (atleast not yet), so people will not be motivated to actually obtain an indian citizenship by foregoing a US or any european citizenship, so dual citizenship should be made available. Contrary to others, I strongly believe if you get world class performers and our local talent trains with them and plays with them more, we can build our own strong locals. For Tennis, just like MRF somebody should hookup with Nick bolliteri and open an academy where he will be a visiting coach. The bottom line is Indian government has to take this seriously, if they serioiusly aspire to be a super power, sports is another arena where they have to focus on.
fineleg Posted December 28, 2008 Posted December 28, 2008 Yes, sorry for not being clear earlier, instead of saying Indian citizens only will represent India, they should have come up with a plan where it is easier to obtain indian citizenhip for world class sportsmen if they so desire. Moreover, Indian citizenship is not a a vaunted object (atleast not yet), so people will not be motivated to actually obtain an indian citizenship by foregoing a US or any european citizenship, so dual citizenship should be made available. Contrary to others, I strongly believe if you get world class performers and our local talent trains with them and plays with them more, we can build our own strong locals. For Tennis, just like MRF somebody should hookup with Nick bolliteri and open an academy where he will be a visiting coach. The bottom line is Indian government has to take this seriously, if they serioiusly aspire to be a super power, sports is another arena where they have to focus on. Good points, triam. Nicely put.
varun Posted December 28, 2008 Posted December 28, 2008 The bottom line is Indian government has to take this seriously' date=' if they serioiusly aspire to be a super power, sports is another arena where they have to focus on.[/quote'] Would you agree that China is a sports superpower ?
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 28, 2008 Posted December 28, 2008 anyone should be allowed to represent any country if they really mean it
triam Posted December 29, 2008 Posted December 29, 2008 Would you agree that China is a sports superpower ? Yes I would agree, even if I dont agree with their methods
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 29, 2008 Posted December 29, 2008 Completely agree with this move. The tennis scene was almost completely taken over by these non Indians ignoring local talent. The influx of these "not good enough for their own country" players was a short cut out for the sports bodies also and they were getting ready made mediocre talent without putting any effort. Now they will have to invest in the grassroot level .This will also give a chance to the locals who are ignored because the girls and boys with the firangi accent are as usual considered superior and get preference over them. this is nonsense at many levels.. there are n number of olympic sports where India is unrepresented why is not that driving indian govt top invest in those. suddenly few unrepresented sports get attention of some expatriate indians chest-thumping starts......... Fact is these expatriates popularize the sport and have at least driven the debate where people are thinking and hoping against hope may be some local talents may come up seeing the popularity of sports driven solely .. so jingoistic chest-thumping aside fact is there for everyone to see unless some sports gets some trigger from sopmewhere indian machiners sleeps.. if that trigger has to come from outside so be it