Amitabh Bachchan slams Slumdog Millionaire

Wow' date=' I cannot believe what I'm reading. I can understand the debate about whether it is a British film or an Indian film, but all the other BS in this thread is mindblowing.[/quote'] :--D Just because I mention Peddar Road you are miffed at me, admit it :giggle:
Okay so help me understand what is English about it? Any single question that made you sit up and say - Whoa thats how it works in Old Blighty?? Any single scene where you sat up and said - Hey wait a second thats exactly how things are around Piccadilly Circus?? The settings, the content, the locale, the background(of the story) is all Indian. This movie may not have come from Bombay but it has the Indian stamp all over it. xx
The movie is evidently british, because if it was made by an Indian filmmaker, H foreign press wouldn't have touched it with a ten-foot pole. There have been other movies made by Indian filmmakers. Ultimately GGs or Oscars is not a metric to guage quality movies. But SM getting the accolades over other movies shows the shallowness of these awards.

Any two bit mofo if want to se the reality of Mumbai slums in 2008, just get down at Mahim or Sion station and walk down to Dharavi. I can personally show at least three such places in Dharavi, where Christian Missionaries have opened their Evangelical preaching centers to distribute bible along with some token money. If any movie maker in 2008, making movies about Indian slum areas or tribal areas deliberately misses the exploitation of poor at the hands of evangelical missionaries, then definately he is not portraying reality! How about remaking Slumdog with a one million rupee question that -- Jesus was born to Mary with options of virgin non virgin. Let Slumdog go to flashback and recall how he was given a copy of bible along with a ten rupess bill by a preacher and told to follow Christ because the god he follows since birth is a satan and will make his condition worse....Now that's when I will call a neutral movies. I am all for criticism and protrayal of Indian society, but it must be even and should include others also. blindly projecting evil Hindus while ignoring evil in their own preaching is hypocrisy.

Okay so help me understand what is English about it? Any single question that made you sit up and say - Whoa thats how it works in Old Blighty?? Any single scene where you sat up and said - Hey wait a second thats exactly how things are around Piccadilly Circus?? The settings, the content, the locale, the background(of the story) is all Indian. This movie may not have come from Bombay but it has the Indian stamp all over it. xx
Lurker, you’re getting me wrong. You’re referring to the Indian aspects of the movie that helped it succeed. I aint denying that. I am just saying it’s a British movie in an Indian setting, that is all.
The movie is evidently british' date=' [b']because if it was made by an Indian filmmaker, H foreign press wouldn't have touched it with a ten-foot pole. There have been other movies made by Indian filmmakers. Ultimately GGs or Oscars is not a metric to guage quality movies. But SM getting the accolades over other movies shows the shallowness of these awards.
I think at best that is mere conjecture CR. No-one can say with any certainty that this is true, or not true for that matter. At best we can only judge if the film was good, and me thinks it was damn good. As for Indian moviemakers well 90% of them do it for money. The other 10% do it as Art cinema. SM kind of appealed to both so it was a cross-over in a sense. Good story. Good acting(Irffan Khan's tiny little smile when Dev Patel that everyone in Juhu knows who stole the cop's cycle is telling). Good music. And overall a good movie about India. I love it.
Any two bit mofo if want to se the reality of Mumbai slums in 2008, just get down at Mahim or Sion station and walk down to Dharavi. I can personally show at least three such places in Dharavi, where Christian Missionaries have opened their Evangelical preaching centers to distribute bible along with some token money. If any movie maker in 2008, making movies about Indian slum areas or tribal areas deliberately misses the exploitation of poor at the hands of evangelical missionaries, then definately he is not portraying reality! How about remaking Slumdog with a one million rupee question that -- Jesus was born to Mary with options of virgin non virgin. Let Slumdog go to flashback and recall how he was given a copy of bible along with a ten rupess bill by a preacher and told to follow Christ because the god he follows since birth is a satan and will make his condition worse....Now that's when I will call a neutral movies. I am all for criticism and protrayal of Indian society, but it must be even and should include others also. blindly projecting evil Hindus while ignoring evil in their own preaching is hypocrisy.
:haha::haha::haha: yehan bhi RSS waala baja. :haha: SM shows Mumbai slums in a very correct light. Mumbai slums are very different to what one normally thinks of when he thinks of slums. Most of the slums have bad surroundings but houses inside are clean and well kept. There is almost always a coloured TV perched atop with people sitting on ground watching. Whoever says Mumbai slums is a sign of extreme poverty has never actually visited one. So where did Shri Ram Statue go rioting?? Auto ke peeche na chupein Jogeshwari waale ji.

Its absolutely pathetic and unacceptably ridiculous that even this thread has been hijacked by the usual right-wing filth that is often thrown around.

:--D Just because I mention Peddar Road you are miffed at me' date=' admit it :giggle:[/quote'] No re. I admire you for the patience you show. I would've given up long ago.
Its absolutely pathetic and unacceptably ridiculous that even this thread has been hijacked by the usual right-wing filth that is often thrown around.
In their defence NONE of them has watched the movie so they can save their face saying they have no clue what they are yapping about! :winky:
Then why are you wasting your time on hollow vessels? Bajane ka mazaa aata hai?
No re. I admire you for the patience you show. I would've given up long ago.
Good good. So Holy baba as a Mumbaikar kaisa laga Slumdog Millionaire? Any favorite Mumbai ka scene?? if you have seen the movie that is.
Then why are you wasting your time on hollow vessels?
Because I liked the movie. Not as in its an Indian movie or anything, although there is great deal of India in that movie. But because it is a nice movie and its about Mumbai. A city that I love and that some of these morons have messed up.
:haha::haha::haha: yehan bhi RSS waala baja. :haha: SM shows Mumbai slums in a very correct light. Mumbai slums are very different to what one normally thinks of when he thinks of slums. Most of the slums have bad surroundings but houses inside are clean and well kept. There is almost always a coloured TV perched atop with people sitting on ground watching. Whoever says Mumbai slums is a sign of extreme poverty has never actually visited one. So where did Shri Ram Statue go rioting?? Auto ke peeche na chupein Jogeshwari waale ji.
aise bol rehaa hai, jaise Mumbai ki jhopadpatti mein hee paidaa huaa tha :hysterical::hysterical: Well I have not lived in any of those ghettos, but certainly have done social works, not through RSS, but through my college's National Service Scheme (NSS). And I know there are Missionaries from Vasai, usually "helping" road children living in illegal temporary slums. The one you are talking are all legal slums with decent property value, soon the occupants will get flats when buildings are constructed by MHADA.
Good good. So Holy baba as a Mumbaikar kaisa laga Slumdog Millionaire? Any favorite Mumbai ka scene?? if you have seen the movie that is.
Movie was good.. nothing great. Timepass film, definitely over-rated. I didnt find it extraordinary. edit - I am watching it again tonight :hysterical:

No, you really have to think... How much of a twisted mind does it take to come into a thread that has been focusing exclusively on the making of a movie and start droning about Christian missionaries and distribution of Bibles.

What are you Cr@pping, I never miss such movies which are made to soothe India haters nerves. Watched it on a mufat ka link.....:hysterical:
aise bol rehaa hai, jaise Mumbai ki jhopadpatti mein hee paidaa huaa tha :hysterical::hysterical:
Wah wah! Yeh hua sahi mudde waali baat. Jawaab nahin bhai aapka agar jikr ho mansik diwaaliyan ka.
Well I have not lived in any of those ghettos, but certainly have done social works, not through RSS, but through my college's National Service Scheme (NSS). And I know there are Missionaries from Vasai, usually "helping" road children living in illegal temporary slums. The one you are talking are all legal slums with decent property value, soon the occupants will get flats when buildings are constructed by MHADA.
And it is these slums that were highlighted. :giggle: Agar movie dekha hota tab na samajh mein aati baat! Koi nahin get ready to have a few dande on your behind at the next traffic light.
What are you Cr@pping, I never miss such movies which are made to soothe India haters nerves. Watched it on a mufat ka link.....:hysterical:
Haan to bhaiyya kahan pe hai Sri Ram statue rioting. Jaraa exact time and moment batao. Chalo chalo sharmao nahin.