Ram Posted January 20, 2009 Posted January 20, 2009 Yup' date=' they will not last long and that is probably a good thing. I mean even if they survive, they will churn out some kind of crappy common minimum program, with each party using their 'veto' on passing any important bills/deals. It will basically result in lots of regional level appeasing, and not much progress of the nation as a whole, and skipping major issues. Also, I would rather not see the day when Lalu or Mayawati get close to PM seat or even home/defence.[/quote'] You think a Congress or a BJP coalition is going to give better governance... No they wont, its all the same crap, only the govts. name will be NDA or UPA or NSA or whatever. The only advantage with having a Cong or BJP coalition is that they have a better chance of lasting 5 years. However, what we dont want is BJP to come to power and guys like Advani go on his rath yatras and other yatras claiming to re-build the Ayodhya temple and whipping communal sentiment. Even if they come to power, there's a slim chance of them doing so. They have realized that if they want to come to power in the center, they have to play mainstream politics and not communal politics. Besides, Ayodhya, as an election issue, is long past its sell-by date.
EnterTheVoid Posted January 20, 2009 Posted January 20, 2009 A little off topic but, Can someone please explain to me why Modi was re - elected when that Tehelka investigation found that gujarat was a state sponsored genocide where Modi gave this thugs three days to kill as many muslims as possible? Am I right in saying the following: Anyone wishing to find out the Pakistan setiment in India only need to look towards Gujarat? Is Gujarat an indication of how much contempt there is for Pakistan within India. I remember watching a documentary where the eye witness heard the rioters saying: "This village is like mini - Pakistan; Finish them all off" Gujarat victims -> Hindus and Muslims -> REST IN PIECE
punjabi_khota Posted January 20, 2009 Posted January 20, 2009 You think a Congress or a BJP coalition is going to give better governance... No they wont, its all the same crap, only the govts. name will be NDA or UPA or NSA or whatever. The only advantage with having a Cong or BJP coalition is that they have a better chance of lasting 5 years. However, what we dont want is BJP to come to power and guys like Advani go on his rath yatras and other yatras claiming to re-build the Ayodhya temple and whipping communal sentiment. Even if they come to power, there's a slim chance of them doing so. They have realized that if they want to come to power in the center, they have to play mainstream politics and not communal politics. Besides, Ayodhya, as an election issue, is long past its sell-by date. As much as BJP was handicapped by Anna-DMK and some other regional partied during the NDA regime, I think they managed to push through their own agenda reasonably well, thanks to some clever PR skills of George Fernadez and co. There was a definite theme and central vision, although they failed to address the aam aadmi (focussing on cities/IT) and that cost them badly. Congress on the other hand had been virtually made impotent due the 'outside' support of CPI/M (power without responsibility), and nuclear deal was passed only after Congress ditched them.
triam Posted January 20, 2009 Posted January 20, 2009 And if you think any other CMs are any better off than her' date=' you are totally misinformed. She was horrible in her tenure b/w 1991-96, but was simply outstanding b/w 2001-2006. It was a shame that her govt. was voted out in 2006.[/quote'] Admitted, I was not in India for her 2001-2006 tenure and I also was not into politics at that time so did not follow much of the news, but her regime from 1991-96 was legendary and I would be hard pressed to find equivalent corruption outside of bihar (laloo) and up(mayawati). My uncles friend was a minister at that time and the stories that came out of my uncle were really outrageous (even after taking into account the exaggeration factor).
Ram Posted January 20, 2009 Posted January 20, 2009 As much as BJP was handicapped by Anna-DMK and some other regional partied during the NDA regime' date=' I think they managed to push through their own agenda reasonably well, thanks to some clever PR skills of George Fernadez and co. There was a definite theme and central vision, although they failed to address the aam aadmi (focussing on cities/IT) and that cost them badly. Congress on the other hand had been virtually made impotent due the 'outside' support of CPI/M (power without responsibility), and nuclear deal was passed only after Congress ditched them.[/quote'] The BJP rule 'seemed' so nice primarily because, a) For the first time after the end of the Narasimha Rao govt, we actually had a stable govt that lasted its full term. Remember, b/w 96 and 99, we had three PMs come and go. b) The time b/w 99-2003 also coincided with the IT boom, which lots of new wealth was coming into the economy. But beyond that, the BJP's tenure was as good or as bad as the current Cong's. If anything, under the Cong rule, we've managed double digit GDP growth, despite double digit inflation. The fact of the matter is, whichever party comes to power, they're constrained by coalition dharma and are crippled beyond measure. Admitted' date=' I was not in India for her 2001-2006 tenure and I also was not into politics at that time so did not follow much of the news, but her regime from 1991-96 was legendary and I would be hard pressed to find equivalent corruption outside of bihar (laloo) and up(mayawati). My uncles friend was a minister at that time and the stories that came out of my uncle were really outrageous (even after taking into account the exaggeration factor).[/quote'] Jayalalithaa was horrendous b/w 91-96, but she was up against forces that she never knew existed. Remember the lavish marraige of her adopted son that he carried out just before the elections? Her strategy was, seeing all this ridiculous preparations and all the money going around, people will be fooled into thinking there's lots of prosperity in the state. What she didnt account for, is the rise of Sun T.V as a private broadcaster. Up until then, Doordarshan was the only noteworthy television channel and normally, all it does is sing the govt. tune. But, JJ massively under-estimated the rise of privately owned cable t.v and its penetration into the normal homes. So, the DMK owned Sun T.V beamed images of govt. corruption and mismanagement directly into people's homes, images people were never used to seeing before. So, everyone went like 'Oh my God, what a terrible govt.'. Consequently, ADMK was absolutely hammered in the state elections in 96. Its not like her govt. was the worst ever one. Karunanidhi's KNOWN assets alone cross 800 crores. Where do you think he got all this money from? But, 2001-2006, JJ was simply outstanding. She bought back monetary discipline, took on the state govt. employees and under her, T.N was the fastest growing state in the whole of the country. Not only did Chennai become the second biggest IT hub after B'lore, it also became the country's biggest auto-hub, with major companies like Hyundai, Daewoo, BMW, Bajaj, Mahindra etc opening either manufacturing or assembly lines there. And everyone thought she'd win the election in 2006. But true to color, the T.N people, once again voted out the incumbent govt.
sandtest Posted January 20, 2009 Posted January 20, 2009 BJP should bring Namo in central government. This doesnot mean Prime Minister is the only post. We know how much authority current joke of a PM has :haha: At the moment India needs Namo more than anybody.....making him Home Minister should be a good start. This will ensure a smooth transformation of Modi to eventual PM positiion.
Guest dada_rocks Posted January 20, 2009 Posted January 20, 2009 I can see too many rupa-frontlines on fire:--D
fineleg Posted January 20, 2009 Posted January 20, 2009 At the moment India needs Namo more than anybody.....making him Home Minister should be a good start. This will ensure a smooth transformation of Modi to eventual PM positiion. NaMo praising has started :hysterical:
kumble_rocks Posted January 20, 2009 Posted January 20, 2009 It is a fact that NAMO is a brilliant administer. It's also a fact that Gujarat riots happened under his watch. If Rajiv Gandhi needs to be held accountable for Sikh riots of '84 , then it is only fair that Modi be held accountable for failure to prevent Gujarat riots. Was he directly involved in the aiding and abetting the riots , I am not sure , nor their is any proof to indicate that he was. It's darn fishy that powerful leader of the state acted so impotently when muslims were massacred . But , I for one am willing to give him a pass for now , after all you are innocent until proven guilty as per our constitution.
Ram Posted January 20, 2009 Posted January 20, 2009 It is a fact that NAMO is a brilliant administer. It's also a fact that Gujarat riots happened under his watch. If Rajiv Gandhi needs to be held accountable for Sikh riots of '84 ' date=' then it is only fair that Modi be held accountable for failure to prevent Gujarat riots. [b']Was he directly involved in the aiding and abetting the riots , I am not sure , nor their is any proof to indicate that he was. It's darn fishy that powerful leader of the state acted so impotently when muslims were massacred . But , I for one am willing to give him a pass for now , after all you are innocent until proven guilty as per our constitution. You MUST read this thread; http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=86618&
Guest dada_rocks Posted January 20, 2009 Posted January 20, 2009 It is a fact that NAMO is a brilliant administer. It's also a fact that Gujarat riots happened under his watch. If Rajiv Gandhi needs to be held accountable for Sikh riots of '84 ' date=' then it is only fair that Modi be held accountable for failure to prevent Gujarat riots. Was he directly involved in the aiding and abetting the riots , I am not sure , nor their is any proof to indicate that he was. It's darn fishy that powerful leader of the state acted so impotently when muslims were massacred . But , I for one am willing to give him a pass for now , after all you are innocent until proven guilty as per our constitution.[/quote'] there is a huge difference Sikh riot (1) 3000 killed not a single bullet fired by police... (2) army sitting next door but was never called (3)Rajeev gandhi supposedly remarked when a tree falls earth shakes (4) nanwati commisison finds Rajeev gandhi not guilty Verdict: Rajeev gandhi messiha and Bharat Ratna post-godhara riot (1) Thousand people killed, out of that 300 died due to police firingagainst rioers. 80% hindus. In history of 66000 riots never werre these many rioters killed so if Modi was sleeping he did a very bad job at that. he shoudl have learnt art fo sleeping from Rajeev gandhi. In fact powerful leader of state for the first time in histoary acted with unprecedented resolve going by sheer number of death in police firing (2) Army was called same day since it was not parked next door it took some time for army toreach (3) NAMo supposedly remakred every action has reaction. (4) Nanawati commission finds NAMo not guilty Verdict: NAMO mass murderer.. Anyone who has no axe to grind will see the stink in this episode.. Ae have people here whose role model is rajeev gandhi but finds namo not acceptable. if these are not jaundiced view god knows whatare Anyway we have done this million times .. waise bhi soye ko jagaya ja sakta hai sone ka bahana karane walon ko nahin jagaya ja sakata hai