Desi Cartman Posted January 19, 2009 Posted January 19, 2009 I always left a debit card at home in India so in case I wanted to send some money , my dad could go to an ATM and withdraw the cash. The debit card expired 6 months ago and now Im trying to find out the cheapest way to send small amount. I have checked below options Times of Money / remit2India : customer service is crap ... I tried calling them but the line is so poor that they cant even hear me. The website is even worse. Western Union : al though I have had a bad experience with them when I was in India but still its hassle free if the amount is not over Rs 50,000 but the fee is $30 which is too much if Im sending A$300. MoneyGram : i have seen few boards of moneygram in India and I can easily find agents in Melbourne. The transfer fee is $15. Have you guys ever used it ? Please suggest what other options are there ?
Sachinism Posted January 19, 2009 Posted January 19, 2009 Send money to me, I'll get it to there for you disclaimer: there = my pocket
Ram Posted January 19, 2009 Posted January 19, 2009 I've seen my room mate use this; http://www.hdfcbank.com/NRI/remittances/default.htm
Desi Cartman Posted January 19, 2009 Author Posted January 19, 2009 I dont send money often (or ever !) now im confused ... HDFC option (from Aus) is same as sending a DD
punjabi_khota Posted January 19, 2009 Posted January 19, 2009 ICICI bank has an excellent service. If your parents have ICICI account, then the service is free. Otherwise, there is nominal charge (to send into some other bank acc). https://m2inet.icicibank.co.in/m2iNet/m2iNetLoginForm.jsp
Ram Posted January 20, 2009 Posted January 20, 2009 I dont send money often (or ever !) now im confused ... HDFC option (from Aus) is same as sending a DD I've seen him transfer directly from his Bank of America checking account to his HDFC account in India. What he told me was that you have you to set-up you US account and thats about it. Dont know if that option is there for Australia too.
Desi Cartman Posted January 20, 2009 Author Posted January 20, 2009 ICICI bank has an excellent service. If your parents have ICICI account, then the service is free. Otherwise, there is nominal charge (to send into some other bank acc). https://m2inet.icicibank.co.in/m2iNet/m2iNetLoginForm.jsp :omg: SRK yahan bhi yaar even they want me to go to the bank and wire the money ... :weights: me thinks I should drive to MoneyGram agent (2mins drive) pay $15 and send $300 ....
punjabi_khota Posted January 20, 2009 Posted January 20, 2009 :omg: SRK yahan bhi yaar even they want me to go to the bank and wire the money ... :weights: me thinks I should drive to MoneyGram agent (2mins drive) pay $15 and send $300 .... ???? Did you use the net express option ? It works here in US..I have done it 2-3 times.
Desi Cartman Posted January 20, 2009 Author Posted January 20, 2009 I've seen him transfer directly from his Bank of America checking account to his HDFC account in India. What he told me was that you have you to set-up you US account and thats about it. Dont know if that option is there for Australia too. yes thats the problem .. since I dont send money often , Im too lazy to set up anything like that . Plus some of these need NRI a/c and a min balance of US$ 1000 at all times .. which is not worth in my case
Desi Cartman Posted January 20, 2009 Author Posted January 20, 2009 ???? Did you use the net express option ? It works here in US..I have done it 2-3 times. yes me checking it now .. PS: yeh sala yahan bhi .. fir se
Desi Cartman Posted January 20, 2009 Author Posted January 20, 2009 damn I clicked on demo and I see SRK dancing http://www.icicibank.com/pfsuser/icicibank/ibank-nri/nrinewversion/flash/demo/m2i_demo.htm
Macj Posted January 20, 2009 Posted January 20, 2009 Hmm i always thought SRK looked like a handsome specimen of Simians.
Desi Cartman Posted January 20, 2009 Author Posted January 20, 2009 btw ICICI is best way to send money ... Thanks Khotay !
Desi Cartman Posted January 20, 2009 Author Posted January 20, 2009 I prefer www.Remit2india.com customer service and website for Aussie users is pathetic. It asks for a Social security number to add funds which we dont have in Aus .. I tried to ring them but they cant hear me .... they are probably using some VOIP to transfer calls and its not working. :weights: Icici on the other hand has a pretty good website al though it has too many pictures of SRK
Gambit Posted January 20, 2009 Posted January 20, 2009 ICICI money2india is the way to go. It's excellent.
Desi Cartman Posted January 20, 2009 Author Posted January 20, 2009 How about hawala?:winky: tried that but aunty uncle dont want any money right now :((